We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was organising a stay in glasgow for a couple of nights for a concert, as I have stayed in a couple of novotel hotels before, I was quite looking forward to it! On arrival the reception area was lovely clean and modern as I expected, however that's as impressed as I was for the rest of the stay!! I had requested a twin room, we were given a double room, that was fine it was my sister and I sharing so I let that one go. The room may have been clean which is very important, but I would never classify the room as four star, premier inn rooms are much nicer, and I think in should've booked into one instead!! The rooms were needing updated, the paint work was old and patchy looking, the bed was uncomfortable and squeaky, all the furniture was outdated and the sofa looked grimy!! The bath needed to be resealed in one corner, it was all mouldy, and the small shower head sat at an angle toward the screen, meaning it was not usable!! The toilet smelled of urine, and was to be honest just horrible, it felt like you were sitting on an airplane toilet without the sink!!! On the first morning the chambermaid came knocking at the door, obviously we were still in the room and told her this, generally they come back......no, our room was in the same state we left it,I did complain, and the towels were replaced and the bed made, the bathroom had not been touched other than the towels being replaced as stated!
The breakfast was okay, the staff were all very pleasant!!
I won't be returning to this hotel, When I book four star that's what I expect, and that is definately not what I was paying for!!! To top it off, the receptionist on our departure didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff as well as breakfast and we take good note of your feedback regarding our rooms and we will look into what we can do in order to enhance our customer’s experience in this area.
We would be pleased to welcome you back in a near future for your next trip to Glasgow.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    641
    354
    76
    30
See reviews for
286
548
95
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at the Novotel for a weekend break. The room were clean and tidy and it was not very far from Glasgow Central Station. The Hotel is nicely located with just a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of Glasgow. Charing Cross train station is only a 4 minutes walk from the hotel with direct services to Edinburgh. It is a slightly simpler hotel compared to other Novotel's I have stayed at but overall it was clean room. The breakfast was great with enough variety for a 4 star hotel and the staff were friendly and allowed us a late check out at no extra cost.

Would stay again if you would like to stay central but not in heart of the centre so you are avoiding the hustle and bustle. Taxi's to the centre are also not very expensive

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel as the traffic at the front can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind comments and compliments following your stay at our hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much at Novotel Glasgow Centre giving us the maximum score of 5 stars and I look really forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to Glasgow.
My kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Can't really fault this hotel. Great location, polite and friendly staff (who remembered that I was a return visitor, free wifi, lovely room (bright and airy), great shower (and nice to have a separate toilet)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for giving us this great 5 stars score.
This is very much appreciated and as I am already, our whole team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our property.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on wednesday 18th june . Room was clean and tidy and on the second floor. 2 lifts serviced all floors and arrived quickly . staff on desk were very helpful and free wi-fi is available. Room was well appointed with plenty room and comfy seats. Parking was in an underground parking garage at a cost of £8. Slightly off the main shopping area and not handy for shows at SECC Etc. Taxi cost around £5. to SSEC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again to the Novotel Glasgow Centre for any of your future stays.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Property: Novotel Glasgow Centre
Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing