We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Typical Novotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Novotel Glasgow Central is everything you would expect from a Novotel - nothing more and nothing less. Whilst not right in the heart of the action, the location is fine, about a ten minute walk from the main train station.

Rooms were comfortable without being luxurious - arrived late and left early so cant really comment on the staff, other than the check in guy was friendly. Overall a good place to put the head down after a long day of work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again to the Novotel Glasgow Centre for any of your future stays.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    666
    360
    80
    34
See reviews for
302
567
98
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great room great service def stay again
It was spacious light lovely queenside bed and full amenities
And loved having a fridge safe and coffee machine aswell
Would recommend this hotel to anyone it made our weekend trip to glasgow

Room Tip: Room was amazing spacious and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mitch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for all this very kind words and for giving us this excellent 5 stars score.
This is very much appreciated and as I am already, our whole team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our property.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have Stayed here lots of times both for business and leisure and I have yet to be disappointed. The staff are always welcoming and extremely helpful with even the slightest things. The area around is great with plenty of choice of pubs and restaurants. It is only a 10 minute at most walk to the main shopping centre etc. or you have the theatre just down the road. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be back there very soon.

Room Tip: The 5th and 6th Floor are classed at Supreme rooms and have there own coffee making machine, Ipod Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor and for your loyalty towards our property.
We are pleased to hear that you had always pleasant stays with us and hope to welcome you soon again to the Novotel Glasgow Centre for any of your future stays.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Novotel in 2012 for 2 nights and did not enjoy our stay due to lots of different circumstances. I wrote a review on it at the time, and contacted the hotel. They offered us a complimentary night's stay when we next visited Glasgow.
I got in touch with the Novotel to say we were attending a wedding (2 and a half years after our original visit!) and could we take up the offer of a free stay; this was immediately confirmed without question. At the very last minute, my 18-year old daughter decided to come with us, and the Novotel made up a sofa bed in the room for her and she got complimentary breakfast as well. The French lady in Reception was wonderfully efficient; we were delighted with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. We ordered a leisurely breakfast in our room and got a phone call to say it was on the way - very useful indeed. The only bad thing about our stay was absolutely nothing to do with the hotel, but all to do with young boys revving their cars up and down the streets outside the hotel until about 2 am. The lady in Reception confirmed that the police know about this but the boys are apparently doing nothing illegal. The Novotel is in an excellent location and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street where the boy racers entertained us until 2 am. Avoid this if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for coming back to us and experiencing our hotel in the way it usually is and feels. What a great pleasure it is for all of us here at the Novotel Glasgow Centre to see what you have so much enjoyed your second stay with us liking every little bit of it. I am so glad for this excellent 5* rating and we have been able to show you that your first experience was a regrettable one off situation.
It was our pleasure to look after you and we will be pleased to welcome you back to our property for any of you future stays in Glasgow.
My kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely two night stay here last weekend. Room was lovely and clean. I loved the shower! Staff were all friendly and helpful. Special mention to Colin at breakfast who remembered my husbands love of maple syrup and brought extra the second morning without us having to ask. Great customer service. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Banana2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments following your stay at our property.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much at Novotel Glasgow Centre giving us the maximum score of 5 stars and I look really forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to Glasgow.
Kind regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

One-night stopover for a weekend concert, check-in quick and smooth (booked on loyalty card), room spacious and clean (standard double room with sofa bed). Overlooked street to the side of the hotel, which at the weekend, has very little traffic, either vehicular or pedestrian. This area seems to be primarily a business district, so weekends and weekday evenings will be quiet. The only disturbance was a couple of Saturday night 'boy racers' driving around the streets ....

Good buffet breakfast, with a decent choice of hot and cold items.

No maintenance issues, nothing to complain about. A fuss-free trip.

For reference, within a 5-10 minute walk from Queen Street rail station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formbyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for giving us this great 5 stars score.
This is very much appreciated and as I am already, our whole team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our property.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend 17th & 18th April this year. The Hotel looks really modern from the outside and clean, the reception area also looks nice. one thing that put us off was the very bad smell as soon as you walked through the main doors, not sure if this was a gas leak but the smell was there for the 2 nights that we stayed, it smelt a bit like sewage.. so we didn't want to have breakfast downstairs because of it. We were offered an upgrade to a superior room for not alot extra so we decided to go for it. The room however wasn't anything special, looked more like a standard room to me. But it was ok for what we needed. I would stay here again maybe for a short break as hotel right in city centre but not any longer than that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your experience following your stay at our property.
I am pleased that you have overall enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
2,043 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,357 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Property: Novotel Glasgow Centre
Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing