We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I have evr stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 April 2010

inadequate food and poor quality
dirty clothes left in drawers when we arrived YUK
scrambled eggs were inedible

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grunnie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,342 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed here for a 2 night break paid for with Tesco Vouchers. Room spacious and clean, staff very helpful, breakfast good, location good. A good time was had by all!
oh also there is an underground carpark at the hotel which is very secure and only costs £5 per exit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We travelled to Glasgow on a cheap minibreak, mostly funded by Tesco clubcard points! We were looking for a weekend of good food, good drink, and some culture, and the Novotel allowed us to do this. I travel with business quite frequently, so knew what to expect from this chain hotel; clean room, good shower, comfy beds and substantial buffet breakfast. This branch of the chain met all of our expectations. A few people on here seem to be complaining about the location of the hotel, and I'm really not sure why! It's just off Sauchiehall Street, and nothing is more than twenty minutes walk away. We visited the Willow Tea Rooms, the cathedral and Necropolis, the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, GOMA, the Glasgow Film Theatre, and sampled a large chunk of the nightlife. If this sounds like the kind of break you want, then you really can't go wrong with the Novotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

i thought this hotel was lovely and clean great sleep and good breakfast for 69 pounds for two people great value loved it . went to a show in the evening but went back to have drinks in the bar was very good..........................

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank firstperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in a executive room . The room was modern and it had a very useful fitness centre. I found the staff really helpful and friendly. It was also great value at 70 pounds a night. The drawback was that it was a little out of town which was hard to navigate with bags and the horrible icy conditions at the time and quite hard to find. Very few locals had any idea where it was. The local pubs are not that good but there did seem to be alot of restaurants near by. The fridge broke down on the last night we were there and since it was glass fronted, it blinked into our room all night but I'm sure there was not that much that can be done at 2am in the morning anyway. All in all it is a great hotel for the price if you don't mind a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shed_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Was going to an event within the area and me and my two friends booked a room for 3. The staff were very nice and gave a nice welcome, we had a lovely room which consisted of a king size bed and the sofa was made into a bed for us after we left for our night out, which was good as it gave us plenty of room to get ready. Never used the gym but there was a lovely small one on floor we where on with a great view of the city.

We paid just £81 for the night and it was worth every penny, would defo go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceyg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I arrived in the morning and I was given a room straightaway, this is very rare and welcomed. The room was modern and clean, there was'nt a swimming pool but there is a gym with a sauna.
The hotel is quietly situated just enough away from the city nightspots but an easy walk to the city centre or Queen Street Station.
I tried to book a room 12 months later but none were available, so stayed at The Thistle hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam-Chance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,544 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing