We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Small rooms. Bathrooms that would have been trendy 5 years ago but past their used-by date (the shower curtain obviously hadn't been changed since the hotel opened and stank). Children stay for free but the sofa bed was ridiculously soft, and sagged in the middle.
Breakfast had good selections and the saving grace was the kids play area where they were able to play during dinner whilst we were seated in the elevated bar area.
Oh, there was parking available for 5 pounds an entry!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wavey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Glasgow Centre. We have noted your comments about the issues with the bathroom, which we are addressing. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

Perfect place to stay in Glasgow, just in the center of town. Nice, clean rooms.Very good price when booked in advance online. Only the separet toiletroom was a bit worn down. Very nice breakfast buffet. We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Booked this via lastminute.com and was very impressed indeed. Spotless hotel, although not dead central, easily placed for walking between the city centre and the West End. Everything seemed new and gleaming! Booked a twin room and upon arriving thought they got the request wrong, as we only saw a double bed and a sofa. However , we were then informed this was a sofa bed, and staff immediately came up to convert it to a bed, and make the bedding up! Very impressed, the only disadvantage was this made the room quite cramped then, but not too bad. The breakfast was particularly good - brilliant range, including a relatively healthily cooked Scottish Breakfast, and was impressed by all the alternatives including wholefoods - nuts and grains etc for the more health conscious!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Distant_Cousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Glasgow Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

A decent hotel in Glasgow. Probably our least favorite on the trip but not necessarily bad. Kind of smelled in the hallways and the elevators were really slow. Would have been nice to be a bit closer to some of the attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Thank you so much for completing the survey on your recent stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre. Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Glasgow Centre in the future.

Yours sincerely



Jacqui McMillan
General Manager
Novotel Glasgow Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

stayed here for a night out in glasgow. the hotel is right in the middle of the city -close to a lot of nice restaurants and bars, but not noisey. The hotel has it's own car park but they told us to park on the street as it is free on a weekend, which is fantastic (it was opposite Strathclyde police HQ too so it was nice and safe!). Hotel room was large with double bed and sofa. There was a funny smell in the room -a mix between old smoke and drains. Wasn't so bad that we needed to move though. The other odd things were that the bathroom had speakers in the ceiling so you could hear whatever was on the tv. It seemed like a good idea as you could also plug your ipod into the tv and play music through while you were in the bath, but the volume was ridiculously loud -even when the main tv was practically on silent, it was still blasting in the bathroom. A little annoying, especially when you had to listen to jeremy kyle or some other dodgy morning program while you had a shower! Also, the toilet was a separate room which had one blue ceiling light which was some sort of energy saving bulb, so you had to spend your first five minutes in the complete darkness. Overall was clean and spacious although furniture and carpets could do with renewing. Would def stay again for the price. TIP: go through trip advisor to find the cheapest price then book that way -we saved an extra 10% than if we'd booked with travel republic direct. Breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebz6999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Thank you so much for completing the survey on your recent stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre. Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Glasgow Centre in the future.

Kind regards

Jacqui McMillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Our usual hotel was full so we had to come to this hotel; at first sight it looked very nice and smart and modern. The bedroom we had was for 'special needs', it was very good for this purpose apart from the bath which was very narrow and encumbered by taps on the side wall, and also quite high to get into. The biggest problem for me was, though, the pornographic picture on the wall. I actually took the picture down and replaced it when we left! The receptionist laughed at this and said it was just 'art'' but I DO NOT want to look at naked women at any time., in any place, especially in a hotel that was this expensive. Another thing -we spotted a chef and a friend playing football out back of the hotel, both of them in kitchen uniform. Hygienic? Don't think so. And the breakfast! Eggs were terrible, I'm pretty sure even the chef wouldn't have eaten them.The price of breakfast is astronomical considering the poor quality. Having said all this, the staff we encountered were mostly friendly and helpful although reception could do with some maths training. The final straw was, our preordered newspaper was stolen from outside our door. All this is such a shame because the hotel looks nice and elegant and is immaculate inside and out., and should be able to compete with Hilton and Marriott. But at the moment, it can't. :(

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieH2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback
with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the issues you raised. Please feel free to contact me on 0141 222 9200 or e-mail jacqui.mcmillan@accor.com to discuss this further.

I will be removing the artwork from the room you occupied.

Kind regards,


Jacqui McMillan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed for one night with work, prior to a meeting. Rooms asthetically very nice but the air conditioning didn`t seem to be working. Had an executive room which had a Nespresso machine which I could not manage to get working !

Overall a good hotel which did the job perfectly well - although the area especially arriving in the night via Glasgow central could be seen as a tad rough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you so much for your comments about Novotel Glasgow Centre.Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Glasgow Centre in the future.

Yours sincerely



Jacqui McMillan
General Manager
Novotel Glasgow Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#34 of 93 in Glasgow
3,836 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,055 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 93 in Glasgow
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £51 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing