We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price for Glasgow centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location and price for Glasgow centre”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed at the Novotel for two nights whilst attending a wedding in glasgow.
We paid with tesco vouchers, so it was completely free, however we chose the novotel as it had the best rates / trip advisor review balance and we didn't have many tesco vouchers to use.
The reviews were all correct - great hotel, great location, great value!
This novotel is easy to find, and also it is right near to the nightlife and shops, whilst being on a quiet street so you escape any noise and hubbub from the city goings-on.
Parking is £5 on exit, which is ideal for a city break you can park your car safely and forget about it for the weekend, or, if staying on a sunday as we were, on-street parking is free - practically unheard of in any city i've visited before!
The staff on reception were so friendly and polite and helpful, in fact all of the staff were, we felt very welcomed there. Monday morning we were late to breakfast but they let us sit and eat as they cleared up, and brought us tea and coffee etc without a grumble.
Rooms were clean and basic - as you'd expect from a novotel or similar chain. Our room had a good (if a little leaky) shower, and a bath - unusual and a nice little extra for a hotel such as this.
The other hotel areas were great - a nice bar and restaurant area, sport on TV, an XBox set up for the kids.
Overall i'd highly recommend it for a great value base in glasgow!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    666
    361
    80
    34
See reviews for
302
568
98
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2010

booked a non smoking room,when we entered the room it stank of stale cigarette smoke.To be fair when i spoke to reception they offered to change rooms if possible.I said it would be ok for one night.
We later found an ashtray and an empty pack of Marlboro cigarettes in the wardrobe.
I have stayed in this hotel a few times now but this has tarnished the hotel and i may now have to look at some other stay.
Our clothes hade to be dry cleaned after this stay,it was a mistake on my part not to have insisted on another room

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Glasgow. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel at some point in the future. If you are returning to Glasgow please contact me on jacqui.mcmillan@accor.com and we will ensure you are upgraded to one of our executive rooms. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband and myself were at this hotel with friends, we took them there as an anniversary treat and i must say that we not disappointed. The hotel is very close to town centre, the staff were very nice especially at breakfast, the staff member who was on duty on the Sunday morning was really really nice i would like if the hotel could pass this on to him. (The date is 3rd of October) we will certianly be staying here agian when we next come to Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My first impression of any hotel is the staff who greet me on the reception desk. We were checked in by a girl who was the typical "book read" receptionist who couldn't even raise a smile. Don't get me wrong, she wasn't rude, just not the kind of person I would have on the shop front as it were!

The room was clean and tidy with a good TV and tea making facilties. We didn't have many tea bags so I asked reception for more as there were four of us. It took an hour but a pleasant gentleman came to our room with a more than ample supply.
The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the city centre which was ideal. We left our car in the underground car park, lucky to get a space as it's tiny. It costs £5.00 to leave by a token by the way. We enjoyed our brief stay in Glasgow, checked out and didn't even get a "thank you", "have a nice day" or anything from the two girls on reception.

Forgot to say that we got a good deal through an internet site for the room (no breakfast). I was pleased with what I payed but when I saw the tariff at reception, i thought OMG, the hotels not worth that!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Glasgow Centre. We have noted your comments about the issues with the reception staff which we are addressing. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, N Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed here with colleagues to attend a function at the nearby Hilton Hotel, which was fully booked. We did not have dinner here but if the lunch and breakfast we had are anything to go by then I don't think we would have any worries on that score. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the city centre, unfortunately we weren't staying long enough to make the most of it. The only problem we ran into was that there were a couple of conferences taking place in the hotel when we arrived and were therefore unable to get the two hire cars into the hotel car park because it was full. The staff were able to direct us to a nearby multi-storey car park and the receptionist will swipe your ticket reducing the cost of your parking to half price. I didn't mind this as, on this occasion, it was a hire car, but if travelling with my own car I would have had more peace of mind knowing that it was safely down below in the hotel's own car park. I enjoyed the short stay and would certainly use this hotel again if visiting Glasgow

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHFromCranley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I am normally a big fan of Novotel because their rooms are normally quiet. The double glazing here is not quite good enough to keep out the traffic noise. Also, as there is no air conditioning, the room becomes too hot with the window closed. I would recommend City Inn as an alternative in Glasgow. It is further out, so less convenient for sight seeing. However, their rooms have air conditioning and free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isandina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Glasgow. Thank you for your comments, we can assure you the matter is being looked in to and will
be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Great hotel, fantastic staff. The shower was amazing and the bathroom very up to date. Plenty of space for my partner and i.

Was unusual having the toilet separate but nothing major.

Breakfast in bed was amazing and cheap only £3 extra.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,379 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Property: Novotel Glasgow Centre
Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing