We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and even better real ales!”
Review of Cafe Source

Cafe Source
Ranked #162 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cafe Source is located beneath the magnificently restored 18th Century St. Andrew’s Church in the Merchant City, Cafe Source offers a relaxed and informal dining experience for those wanting to sample some gutsy “real” Scottish fare. Traditional favourites such as Haggis, Stovies and the ever popular Cullen Skink figure on the menu, however you will also find a wide range of contemporary dishes. Pre-Theatre and Dinner Menus are also available offering excellent value for money. Specials change on a daily basis and with an extensive choice of Malt Whisky, fine wines, Scottish beers and lagers you will surely find Café Source a truly relaxing place to enjoy a taste of Scotland. 10 Mins from Central Station. 2 Mins from Glasgow Cross/Glasgow Green.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent food and even better real ales!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Really enjoyed my meal at Cafe Source, washed down with some excellent real ale. The bonus was that it was followed by a gig upstairs at St Andrew's In the Square.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    137
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellshill
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good filling food”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Another excelent visit to Cafe Source. Had the Pre-Theatre menu 3 course for £15. The standard of produce is excellent in this restaurant. The staff are very attentive and they don't charge for water on the table. I would recomed the creme brulee it was excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesleyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant experience in Glasgow? YES!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

As a family, we have been visiting Cafe Source (and St Andrews in the Square) for a few years, and it's high time I did a review for this absolute gem of a place.

The service has ALWAYS been friendly, courteous, and attentive but never over-bearing. This was the case the very first time we visited, and I can safely say that the friendliness has never been conditional on being a regular, as you may find in some other places.

The food served up (including the food provided by Cafe Source on the occasion of our wedding last year - WOW - what a wonderful day that was, but another story...) has always been of the utmost quality. Their menu has a wide ranging appeal, and as well as having my favourite dishes, anything that I've tried for the first time has always added a pleasurable facet onto my accumulative experience.

I think that it's safe to say that, whether you're in a group or going for a special meal as a couple, you will have discovered a new special place with Cafe Source.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“High standards being maintained”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I gave this restaurant a good review last year and having visited it again last night I am happy to confirm that the standards have been maintained. On this occasions my wife and I booked the dinner offer through 5pm. The menu is varied and there should be something for everyone there. I started with the Cullen Skink again and it was lovely. My wife had the smoked salmon and she loved it.

She then had the braised ox cheeks dish, which was again very enjoyable. I had the excellent hake wrapped in bacon followed by the cheese board (too much!). My wife had the creme brulee, which gain was very nice.

This deal was £22.50 each with a bottle of house wine to share and great value for money at that price. Once again the service was friendly and attentive without being overdone. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, Moray, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely meal out”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Visited here for the first time on Sat 7 July having booked a table for 7.30pm. There was 5 in our party and we were shown to a booth which gave the meal some intimacy. Our waitress quickly produced menus, informing us of that night's specials,and took our drinks order.The waitress was very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The food was well cooked, delicious and nicely presented. A lovely evening and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete-the-Heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Source also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing