We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem”
Review of Shish Mahal

Shish Mahal
Ranked #920 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: US$23 - US$46
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Shish Maha
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had an amazing meal in Shish Mahal last night and I must say it was fantastic. Lamb Tikka to die for. You can also bring your own drink for a corkage fee. The owners son Mohammed made us feel like we had eaten there all our lives, he was so friendly as was his dad and Uncle Jas. He told us it will be going buffet style soon so we will look forward to that. Shame we only just discovered it and its only round the corner. We will be back !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food as always”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Opted for takeaway - ordered over the telephone and collected in allocated time. All our order was there including a freebie. Thoroughly recommend the lamb chop starter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food excellent Must Try”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

2 Adults and 1 child got the 3 course meal £9.95 got 2 different starters and 2 different curries food was quality top marks children menu good portions only 1 small issue decor is a bit dated but the restaurant is clean if you want a good curry this is the place to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great wee gem!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had a lovely meal in this restaurant and the staff were great too. Local and friendly and willing to make it a nice experience. The fool was gorgeous and prices were very reasonable. We had planned to get the 3 courses for £9.95 deal but ended up getting curries from the normal menu as it just looked too good! It still only cost us £15 each and the portions were plentiful. I can't believe that this restaurant is just down the road. Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjb1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nom nom!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the dated decor, this is one of the best curries in Glasgow. We were in the area, and hadn't been here for a while, so decided to give it a go. We weren't disappointed. I had a delicious chicken tikka, and asked for a separate tikka masala sauce. Gorgeous! I NEVER finish anything on my plate, but honestly, I could have licked it clean tonight, I enjoyed it so much! The nan was cooked to perfection, and the accompaniments made it a meal to remember. Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive staff. Could kick myself for neglecting this place for so long... Will be back soon. Definitely!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shish Mahal also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Shish Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing