We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but rather away from the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Hotel bedroom was lovely, modern, good decor and furnishing with a great bathroom. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Hotel is a bit far from the centre and not in an area which invites walking out alone after dark if you are a lone female traveller, so I ate in the hotel. My ceasar salad was the smallest I have seen, in the biggest bowl and expensive. Only salad on the menu! Not great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz1Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value all all the feed back that we get and are pleased that you did like the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel upon arriving from an international flight from Canada. After a long day of sight-seeing, we checked into the Hotel Indigo. It is a really funky hotel with a retro vibe. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and serene surroundings for a great sleep. We opted for the dinner/breakfast combination which was very convenient and an excellent deal. There were four of us, and we all had something different on the menu and all enjoyed our meals. We had great service from all of the hotel staff. We didn't spend much time in the neighbourhood, so can't speak to the location, but this hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbperegrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you found all our staff to be helpful, and accommodating. We hope that we have the opportunity of welcomiong you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I spent a week there in august and all was great!I got a room for disabled people as I'm in a wheelchair and all is adapted !A big room,a big bathroom with a shower.Very clean and new,very quiet!The bar is very cozy and modern.Breakfast is very good in a beautiful place.
Concerning the staff i would say they were very helpful and friendly...I had a problem because my bed was too high for me ,then I asked to put just 2 mastresses on the floor .They did it very quickly and offered me a drink while waiting.I felt very at ease and in secure on my own for a week there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catthefroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for the great review. I am delighted that you found our team to be accommodating and we are delighted that you felt relaxed during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Arriving following overnight flights from the Middle East, we were allowed to check in at 0900. Our room as requested was on the top floor. The room was small but well arranged, very clean, and quiet! The bed was super comfortable and the bedding is high quality. French Press coffee makers in the room! Very friendly and efficient staff. Parking is in the multistory across from the hotel and you get a coupon for a 50 percent discount off the daily rate.

Good location for shopping and sightseeing. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here 29th September. Well what can I say !! Firstly the staff couldn't do enough for us, the rooms were beautiful the meal was fantastic, the drinks a wee bit pricey but hey ho, the surroundings kinda made up for that very chic indeed !!!! I must say that a special thanks has to go to Lynda who served us dinner, drinks and breakfast a wee gem you've got there, very pleasant and a great sense of humour. Made our stay all the more memorable. So a great big thanks to Lynda xxx your a star. As Arnie said Ill be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vally1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for the great review, we have passed on your praise to Linda, who was deligtherd with her mention. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Wow - what different experiences. The only reason this hotel hasn't got one star from me is because they helped us cancel our stay. Possibly the most miserable hotel experience I have ever had, and that is saying something. Despite requesting a quiet room when booking, the first room we were shown to had an adjoining door and was near the lift; a lot of noise from both the room next door and the lift. We were moved with little fuss to another room, right next to the extraction vent from the kitchen, so when we opened the window to let some air into the stuffy room, cooking smells wafted in. Strong ones. I imagine the bathroom is okay, but really it was so badly lit, it is hard to say.

The room housed two double beds, but at a price - no room to move round them easily, only one bedside table in the middle and a tv that was fixed to the wall but doesn't swivel, so we had to share a bed to watch it. There was no luggage rack provided and nowhere to hang coats or towels. The wardrobe provided four coat hangers. Four! Pathetic. On asking for a folding suitcase rack we were given just one, as the hotel doesn't have many as they 'make it look untidy'. Right... The fridge yielded one packet of crisps, one chocolate bar, two cans of drink and some sparkling water. We tossed a coin for the snacks...The beds were so bizarrely high that I actually hurt myself getting in, having had surgery not that long ago. This is the main reason we left after one night; that, and the beds were like rock. The breakfast was a joke, with my husband's scrambled egg and smoked salmon turning up on a stone cold plate, with about two mouthfuls of food on it. I had a cooked breakfast minus the meat items, and left most of it as it was overcooked and swimming in grease. There was also a very limited choice at the buffet, similar to that found in budget hotels. Which this is not.

In fairness, there were some good points, particularly Colm, the receptionist. The towels were big and fluffy, the curtains did a good job of keeping light out, the breakfast service was efficient, our smelly room was quiet and it was immaculately clean. Plus we got a refund on the nights we didn't stay for. Maybe we were unfortunate, but we have stayed in many hotels in Glasgow, and this did not live up to its billing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sootysmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review we do appreciate the feedback. I would advise that all Hotel Indigo's have high beds, it is seen as a feature of the brand. I am pleased that you did appreciate the refund for then additional nights as you had purchased on a non-refundable rate. So even if you did not like the brand or the hotel we did try our best to keep you pleased

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We only stayed for one night in this hotel but we were impressed by the decor (all artwork depicting various aspects of Glasgow) and the friendliness of the staff. We were given a very warm welcome by reception staff who could not do enough for us. Our room and all public areas seen were very clean. We decided to eat rather late but were still welcomed in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. The bed must be the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in !!!! Breakfast service was a little slow, - we had ordered omlettes, which were made to order. Well worth waiting for.

All in all, an enjoyable stay - comfortable surroundings, pleasant staff and very convenient for central Glasgow. We would definitely return

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, at the back - very quiet, we didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for the super review we do appreciate your time in writing your feedback and the team get a great lift from the positive reviews. We hope to see you back again at Hotel Indigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,133 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
5,468 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £78 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing