We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

If not in the spot in Glasgow it may have been higher rated. The rooms were fine. Showers leaked. Had limited mine bar. Book breakfast included as nothing nearby was open. The hotel staff was a bit short about where to park and what to do with luggage but ended up OK

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to post your brief and positive review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a very nicely done hotel, convenient to downtown Glasgow. The rooms are comfortable, with nice, new showers. The staff is also friendly and helpful. The breakfast was disappointing, though. I wouldn't recommend it - coffee was pretty bad, and when I asked for a cappuccino, it was not very good either. The food was not much better. So get a coffee and breakfast somewhere else (we really liked Laurie's which was about a block away), but come back to the hotel Indigo for cocktails! They have a nice bar and good drinks - I really liked the Vesper martini!

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Wanderer2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We were disappointed that you did not enjoy our coffee, it is the same blend we have used since opening the hotel and we have had little or no poor feedback on this. We will monitor this closely. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very nice hotel, good staff, and decent breakfast. The 'free' minibar is a nice touch, the cost of refilling it is obviously featured in your room price which is definitely at the premium end of the range but that's fine. Free wifi in the hotel, difficult to get a signal in our room though, less important as we were on a leisure trip but if I had been there on business I would have been looking for a room change.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Well worth the money I paid for our night's stay, good welcome at reception, not overwhelming just done what was required and directed as to our room with a smile, the room itself was very clean, large, big comfy bed, large fridge. Had asked for a quite room and it was just that. View was not much to write home about (back of office block) but was not their to peer "oot the windy" pleasantly surprised at the décor very modern and different to the normal bland "browny/beige décor often found in hotel rooms. Shower room - good quality shower with plenty power.
the bar and restaurant was well laid out (reception-bar-restaurant all connected which created a nice busy feel to this area) Breakfast - was a bit disappointed that it was not a buffet style breakfast, (yip don't get called humpty for nothing) but once it was served up it was more than suffice, ish service was good and friendly even though we skidded in at 10.15 (finished at 10.30) all in all a good visit and would stay at Indigo again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel is not only sweet in design and feel but the staff are just excellent, they are keen to help and make you feel like a valued customer. great place to stay here. Now let us just talk hotel restaurants ( I know) as normally they are quite bland, but at the indigo the food was fresh and tonight had a blue steak and it was cooked to perfection. will definitely be coming next time in town, don't miss this hotel you be a fool. thanks all, be safe

Room Tip: just use the hotel as staff make it, rooms were great. use the gym as some good kit there, towels an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive and appreciate your time and effort to recommend the hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel indigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel was chosen for us by Great Rail Journeys for a night before a trip further north and we decided to increase this by two more. First room we were offered was dark, long and stuffy with nowhere to put our two cases except on the floor. Asked if we could move and this was speedily arranged by a helpful chap at check-in. Next room brighter and a bit wider and certainly furnished in a modern and contemporary style as was the first. Still nowhere to put the cases though, so we utilised the coffee table and footstool. Although there is a wardrobe this is narrow and there were three small drawers so we left everything in the cases. The hotel operates a policy of encouraging guests to re-use their towels (nothing wrong with this at all as we do not wash our towels at home each day) but there was no where to hang the towels after use. No towel rail, nothing!! So we draped them after use over the corners of the mirror that was in the hallway (and there they were again when we came back in later in the day!!). This is poor and when I mentioned this to the Duty Manager she confirmed that I was not the first to highlight this. Apparently a design fault with the bathroom (s) that had not been rectified. She did offer to quickly have fresh towels sent up to the room but this seemed to defeat the object of encouraging re-use so we declined.

Our second (and first) room on the first floor overlooked the Admiral bar across the street. Try at all costs to not get a room ending 14 up to 19 as the noise from drinkers who enjoy a cigarette on the pavement easily got through the double-glazing well into the night.

The breakfast - the subject of previous negative comments - was fine apart from one young chap who could have been new or not enjoying his job in the restaurant. All the other staff we came into contact with were good ambassadors for the hotel.

Not for us again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Admiral Bar on the street outside (probably end in 14 up to 19) are best avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive and appreciate your time and effort to give us such constructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Visited Glasgow for a long weekend followed by some business, and had a pleasurable stay at the Hotel Indigo near Jacobs Engineering office. The hotel looks great inside and has been renovated / redecorated to a high standard. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and was very nice, and with attentive staff. Some colleagues did not have the breakfast included with their rooms, and for them it seemed overpriced. The wifi was free, as was anything in the fridge (yes really, drinks, candy,...)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackSara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive and appreciate your time and effort to recommend the hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel indigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
968 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £74 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing