We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost ticked all the boxes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Almost ticked all the boxes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a great hotel in a very central location. Easy walk to all the main Glasgow attractions. Check in was fast, easy and efficient with very helpful reception staff. Our room was on the 1st floor and had minimal street noise which is always a bonus in a busy city! Beautifully decorated and included a free mini bar ( the Tunnocks caramel wafers were a great touch!).
However, the restaurant really left us puzzled. We had both a late lunch and breakfast both of which were a real disappointment. The service was good, friendly and attentive it was the quality and quantity of the food that was the issue. Do not misunderstand we were not looking for huge portions but seriously.....The cheese plate at Seven Pounds with four oatcakes the size of a 2 pound coin and forgettable cheese was the worst! It's a shame as everything else was top notch. I would still recommend the hotel, we will definitely be back......We just wont eat there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ascotsgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and we will certainly look at the cheese portion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    625
    141
    27
    12
See reviews for
283
1,051
72
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for one night at the weekend. The reception staff were friendly and the check-in was very efficient. The decor of the hotel is lovely - very bright pinks and greens. We stayed on the 5th floor, which had a green theme. The room was lovely and the free minibar was a nice touch. The hotel gym is small, but has all the main equipment I would expect for a hotel gym. I get the impression it's not used too often and I had it all to myslef on the Sunday morning. The location is less than a 5 minutes walk to central station, so is very close to all the shops and bars. Next time I stay in Glasgow, I would come back to Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotland1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you back at the earliest opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Excellent place! We couldn't really complain about anything! Room was bright and beautiful, huge comfortable bed and a nice bathroom.
The place is close to town, staff was helpful motivated and helpful.
Also there were free snacks in fridge refilled daily!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y4hoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

location very good when carrying cases from central station it was an easy walk in a nice area.
hotel reception very nice and first impressions where very good lobby, bar area at night is very nice. rooms are bright a little small but clean and large bathroom. snacks in fridge a fab idea but yes more tea and coffee needed. i asked for bathrobes and they were delivered straight away no charge. a good nights sleep on both nights.
breakfast........oh dear me what a disaster. such a let down, total chaos on the Saturday and Sunday morning.01/03/204 and 02/03/14 young lads serving, orders wrong, juice like water all the buffett run out. on the Sunday morning the manager was clearly out of her depth and was rude and off hand. very very poor standards, service and food. on Sunday we waited over half an hour for our full breakfast. when it came it was awful. cheap poor quality food cooked with no care. we left it in the end as we had to catch a train. big big let down how hard is it to do weekend breakfasts for guests you are a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madtrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your very candid feedback, retraining has taken place to avoid any recurrence of the experience you faced on weekend breakfast. We do appreciate all the feedback that we receive and act accordingly to correct any shortfalls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Thanks for an excellent overnight stay( deluxe room). The style , decor and theme of the hotel is pretty much perfect as is the location in the city centre. Staff are friendly and there is a nice atmosphere.The extra for the higher spec room was well worth it. The breakfast and dinner were well cooked and presented. As a couple we feel that dinner menu at the Indigo could be improved as far as choice and imagination is concerned. We think this is a common observation for city hotels so it is a view rather than a criticism. It is as if there is assumption that the majority of guests will head elsewhere for their evening meal. Would certainly go back and at last , hotel pens with black ink. Finally what about a small bench seat across the recess next to the window ? Finally Finally do resent the 10p a minute for booking line ( online would not allow booking too close to intended stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is our sixth stay here and got it free with IHG rewards. Once again, lovely welcome, upgraded room, everything works - wifi good, free drinks in fridge, coffee and caramel wafers in room, comfy bed, super toiletries, fluffy towels, good shower, housekeeping good, bar nice ambiance, staff friendly. I love it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to welcome back our regular guests. We hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent had an overnight stay in this Hotel. It was a last minute decsion to stay here and we did not regret it. Being almost in Glasgow City centre it was only a short walk to all the night life Glasgow has to offer, but far enough away to be nice and quiet.

We had an executive room on the 5th floor. Room was maybe not the larest we have stayed in but it hit the mark in all other respects. Nice big comfy bed, large screen TV and a nicely decorated bathroom with a big walk in shower.

Complimentary soft drinks / water / crisps and caramel wafers added to the enjoyment !

Room also had a DAB radio / IPOD docking station. Only con was the aircon, even when switched off at the control panel it still made a whirring noise, if you are a light sleeper then this could be very annoying.

Bar area is quite small and can be difficult to get a seat when the hotel is busy. Bar was ok apart from the small selection of 'boutique' beers available on draft, not to my taste unfortunately but they did have the ususal selection of bottled beer (Sol, Peroni etc).

Cooked breakfast was good but I'd advise getting down there before 9 o'clock as after that it did get very busy, prior to that no problems.

Parking in the adjacent Q Park was fine, hotel gets 25% discosunt so an over night stay (24hrs) was just over £11, get a 25% off voucher from the hotel reception to get the best parking rates.

All in all very enjoyable and we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackGlagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and are very grateful for the feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our neighbourhood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Property: Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing