We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, U.A.E.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“City centre gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was recently at this hotel with some golfing colleagues & the general consensus was that it was a great place to stay. The rooms were spacious, bright & modern. The hotel itself is so central that we could walk to most places we wanted to go to. The staff were pleasant, friendly & helpful. The food matched the excellence of our overall experience. Next time I visit Glasgow, I would hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, look for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    633
    142
    28
    13
See reviews for
292
1,060
74
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,244 reviews
291 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just like my last review of this hotel there is much to like......but breakfast still lets it down.

Lovely modern hotel, great room with monsoon shower, some minibar freebies and an uninterrupted sleep. Wifi still hit and miss (to the point that the same devices in the same room did not both get a connection). You can walk to the centre of the City within 5-10 minutes.

But breakfast - having complained of a greasy experience last time around decided to just go "Continental" this time. This resulted in very poor (Sunny D my daughter reckoned) orange juice, generally limited choice of fruits, meats and cereals, and a lack of focus on ensuring the basics of bread and pastries were replenished regularly.

Topped off with the waiter bringing a bill to me to advise that he had tried to charge it to my room but that I had not left a credit card. I told him I had, he disappeared, he came back and apologised. But on the basis I was checking out that morning even if they did not have my credit card details they did know I was staying there and could have avoided leaving such a bad service experience by just trusting their customer to pay on checkout. It wasn't exactly an attempt to charge Louis Cristal champers to my room!

That said staff at check-in and check-out were good; will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive and will certainly review the points that you have raised. Please accept our apologies for the confusion over your breafast billing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The room was nice and the shower was amazing but I do like a bath as well personally. I had requested tea alternatives before the visit and was pleased my room had a good range of alternatives. The free mini bar is a nice touch. The wifi might as well as not exist as it is very poor and drove me mad. It connected for about 5 mins during my whole stay. The staff are all helpful and pleasent. The breakfast was a disappointment. I had the continental and it was very limited and as others say the orange juice is poor. I stayed using points and so it was good value but I wouldn't stay paying the rates they ask. I've stayed in other indigo hotels and been wowed by them so was a bit surprised this one didn't. There was nothing majorly wrong with and there are some good things but I'd only return if I got a real bargain. For the price I'm sure Glasgow has more to offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Location in city center was convenient for all of Glasgow. Many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance. Cleanliness was excellent. Other than the weak Wi-Fi not always maintaining the connection I have no complaints and plan to stay here on my return to Glasgow.

Room Tip: We visited several of the rooms and they all looked good. We also had no problem with noise even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Was it really awful? No. But really, was it a 4 star experience? No. And when there are so many other options, would I go back? Unlikely. I was attracted by the look of the lobby and rooms, the soft furnishings in particular, and the Intercontinental brand. However this is clearly a far cry from the Intercontinental on Hyde Park Corner. While I have since understood that Indigo may be a separate brand targeting a different audience, but at 130 a night, I thought it was certainly not cheap and positioned itself a notch above average, while the experience was probably below average. I booked for 2 nights, and subsequently decided to add a further night before the original booking. This had to be arranged through the central booking system for Intercontinental Hotels rather than with the hotel itself, as a result of which they could not confirm whether it would be possible for me to stay in the same room for all three nights. Given it was two months before my stay, I thought this was odd and not very helpful. Direct contact with the hotel was not possible. Upon check in, I STILL could not be assured that I would be able to stay in the same room (although to be fair, in the end I was). The room (with two queen beds) was nice in itself, but I was disappointed to find there was no bath (given it is a 4 star hotel) and the window looked out onto a wall, meaning the room was extremely dark. In addition, it was impossible to adjust the temperature (the airco could not go lower than an optical 19 degrees (in reality it must have been much warmer) and the electricity would anyway switch off when you leave the room / remove your key card) meaning the temperature which was too high for my liking at night, went up further during the day. Staff at reception tried to be helpful about this but couldn’t really do anything about it as the temperature was apparently regulated centrally too. The sound proofing wasn’t great and the breakfast buffet was disappointing, not at all what you’d expect of a 4 star hotel. The staff was polite, but indifferent, impersonal. Even after 3 nights there wasn’t ever a moment of recognition. So all in all , these are probably minor gripes but my expectations, and the price, of a 4 star hotel are different than those of a 2 star.

Room Tip: make sure you enquire about the view from the window and whether there is a bath - neither are a giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive and will certainly review the points that you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a concert at the nearby SSE Hydro Arena (a 5 minute taxi ride/15 minute walk away).

The hotel itself is centrally located, and a few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station and the major shopping areas & tourist sights.

We stayed on a Saturday night in May, and the local area was very, very quiet - mainly office buildings which were deserted for the weekend. There was one small bar across the street, but it was very low-key and seemed quiet throughout our stay.

First impressions - the reception and bar area of the hotel are beautifully decorated and presented.

The reception and bar staff were very friendly and helpful upon check-in and throughout the stay.

While we didn't dine at the hotel's 'main' restaurant, we did have dinner at the bar before the concert. The food was excellent and I highly recommend the chicken club sandwich - it was huge and delicious! My partner ordered the steak burger, and again, had no complaints.

We stayed in an executive king room. Beautiful furnishings, flat screen TV, air conditioning, complimentary mini bar (that came with snacks and non-alcoholic beverages), very comfortable king-size bed with Egyptian linen, 'rain' shower in the bathroom.... Over-all, the entire room was very clean and comfortable. We really couldn't ask for more.

I will definitely return to the Indigo if I am ever staying over in Glasgow again. And even if I am only visiting the city for the day, I'll be sure to stop by their bar just to get another club sandwich!! :)

Room Tip: Stayed in a King Executive Room on the hotel's south-east corner. Local area populated by office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nice sized room with spacious shower (no bath) and very large screen TV. Deluxe rooms have a minibar with complimentary drinks including white wine and spirits as well as chocolate and crisps. However I was not impressed with the breakfast - very limited continental breakfast selection including poor quality yoghurts and orange juice that tasted like squash (maybe it was?). Very limited hot offering too, no kippers (strange for Scotland). The scrambled egg was tasteless and when I asked for something vegetarian for my friend he was given an omelette with bacon in it! It's a shame because otherwise the hotel is great and the staff generally very friendly and helpful. Great location for Glasgow Central station, you can see the entrance from the hotel - less than five minutes walk away. Not much further to the shops.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms have a better selection of drinks in the minibar but don't bother with breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive and will certainly review the points that you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Property: Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing