We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK but breakfasts & wifi a big let-down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is very conveniently situated, close to the first stop on the airport bus after leaving the M8, also not far from the railway stations and shops. Staff are in the main professional and polite (though the receptionist who made a joke at my expense should perhaps have thought before he spoke).

I was pleasantly surprised that street noise over the weekend was low; fortunately the hotel is in a relatively quiet business area. Also the bed was comfortable and the generous arrival and departure times were welcome.

BUT the first big let-down here was the buffet breakfast. There was a very limited choice of hot food - no fried eggs, mushrooms or baked beans, and what they did have (in some very cheap-looking containers) was totally unappetising. There was an equally poor choice of cold food, and it's all in a very cramped corner of the dining room. Surprisingly on the Sunday morning we were given a breakfast menu, so we proceeded to choose from it but were then told that they would do the fried eggs and bring them to the table while we had to get everything else from the (still unappetising) buffet! Of all the places we stayed at in our tour of Scotland, this was the only one with poor breakfasts.

The second let-down was the wifi. Incredibly frustrating, as you get 5 minutes if you're lucky before it goes down, then by switching your device off and on again you may get another 5 minutes. For a big hotel chain this is just not on.

Finally, the 'free mini-bar'. My wife and I had a 'superior' room which advertises alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks (but fails to give any details in advance). The alcoholic drinks were actually just two small cans of lager and one 18.5 cl bottle of wine (the first night, red wine, and totally chilled through being in the cooler!). With the two cans of soft drink, one packet of crisps and two wafer bars I would estimate the total value of what you get to be well under £5. I'm sure that in the past Indigo hotels have provided more: this is just penny-pinching and derisory for the extra you pay.

Oh and the air conditioning left a lot to be desired. Either blowing like the wind on your face or not on at all.

With some fine-tuning this could be a really good hotel. Unfortunately it's not at the moment.

Room Tip: Probably higher up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear cltc,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you like our hotel location and level of staff service. I am disappointed to read that you found the food selection, internet service and room air conditioner less than satisfactory. Please rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope if you get back to the area, you will consider staying at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 2,346 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Reception staff were quick to help with our cases. Our room was ready even though we were very early. They made helpful suggestion on were to go and what to see in the city. The room was bright and clean. Bathroom well equiped. Complimentary mini bar with soft drinks and chocolate biscuits. Centrally situation and bus to airport stops outside hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine_736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for posting your wonderful review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Plus points are good location, friendly and efficient staff, pleasant public areas and rooms that are what you expect for the money. Like all hotels, improvements would be made in the rooms for relatively little capital expenditure if their designers had to live in them for a week. But we were not dissatisfied overall and would not rule out a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your great review. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow this room was elegant. In room the fridge were FREE ( !!) waters, chocolate bars, and chips. So impressed. I've been to hotels where they booby-trapped their fridges so if you even MOVE anything around, they automatically charge you a mini-bar usage fee!

The staff was helpful and friendly and they kept a bowl of fruit on top of the check-in counter for guests. This hotel is about 3 blocks to the Central Railway station and there were coffee shops and eateries right there. Buchanan Street was also a right there with MANY more shops. I didn't realize how close we were to everything until we started walking around.

The only complaint was that the shower did not drain well, but otherwise was fantastic with great water pressure. The hotel was stocked with Aveda products. The bed was SO comfortable and the pillows were great. The coffee/tea set up was nice too!

When we arrived at the airport, we went right to the information desk in the terminal just to confirm where to pick up the 500 Glasgow Shuttle to the city center. Indeed, it was right out front. I believe you can buy the tickets for this bus at the info desk as well as on the bus. It took about 15 minutes to get into town. You need to get off at the Bothwell St./ (Central Station) stop. The first stop JUST says Bothwell St. on the sign at the bus stand and we SHOULD have gotten off here. Instead, I focused on the Central Station part of it and got off at the next stop and then we had to walk BACK to the hotel. Get yourself a good map and it will be clearer ---I didn't even have a map...poor planning on my part.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Oh, and there is a Café Nero down the street RIGHT across from the train station --- as you can see from my picture. It was easy and affordable to have breakfast there. We had lunch across that street at Bella Italia - they had lunch deals for 9pounds!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your very detailed review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very nice and stylish hotel, although part of a bigger chain it feels different which is a rare sight. Staff very professional and quick, room was large with modern look & feel.

Only stayed for the 1 night, didn't have dinner and stayed out late so this review will be short... Even with the limited exposure however the experience was good and with the location smack in the city centre (very easy to get a cab) I'll definitely consider staying here again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for posting your wonderful review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd pay another visit after previous excellent visit for our anniversary. Glad to say hotel still maintain it's high standard. Lovely room, we'd upgraded this time but that's not to detract from the standard room which is lovely too. Cracking breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely return again, can't fault it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lordminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

It is always a delight to welcome back our guests, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked here for its versatility for getting to Glasgow by both the train and car. Check in was very easy and had a great reception from Colm. Very clean room, fab shower and nice toiletries (Aveda). The complimentary soft drinks, water and caramel wafers were a great touch. Easy to get to restaurants and city bars. Breakfast was mainly self service but plentiful and hot (which is unusual but most welcomed). Parked in Q parks (which was just past the hotel) and reception has a 25% discount card which is useful as parking for 24hrs was c£15 without it. Great hotel so we will be back again when we head back up to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireAliBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Indigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
826 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,987 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,719 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £87 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing