We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good room and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel located very ideally in Glasgow. Hotel is very close to the train station, the stop for the hop on hop off bus and many great restaurants. Rooms were a good size, bathrooms were well layer out and the entire hotel was sparkling clean. I would definitely go back and would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your wonderful review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    633
    142
    28
    13
See reviews for
292
1,060
74
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

First thing that blew me away was the decors! Lovely touch with the famous scots/celebrities portraits. Room is small but tastefully decorated. The bed was so comfy!! Not much noise from streets below either considering the central location! Room was very clean! Love the little touches. Good quality breakfast too. It was perfect for the short city break!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short city break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, BC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was very pleased at how central the Indigo is. Front desk staff were pleasant as was the barman. I had booked online and everything went easily at check in.
Our room was comfortable and modern, every convenience was there. They have the room lights running off your room card - good thing my companion was up on that or I'd have been in the dark for awhile!
Very clean, comfortable beds -thank goodness after a long international & delayed flight.
I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: There'a lift, so any floor is easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalMission_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is very conveniently situated, close to the first stop on the airport bus after leaving the M8, also not far from the railway stations and shops. Staff are in the main professional and polite (though the receptionist who made a joke at my expense should perhaps have thought before he spoke).

I was pleasantly surprised that street noise over the weekend was low; fortunately the hotel is in a relatively quiet business area. Also the bed was comfortable and the generous arrival and departure times were welcome.

BUT the first big let-down here was the buffet breakfast. There was a very limited choice of hot food - no fried eggs, mushrooms or baked beans, and what they did have (in some very cheap-looking containers) was totally unappetising. There was an equally poor choice of cold food, and it's all in a very cramped corner of the dining room. Surprisingly on the Sunday morning we were given a breakfast menu, so we proceeded to choose from it but were then told that they would do the fried eggs and bring them to the table while we had to get everything else from the (still unappetising) buffet! Of all the places we stayed at in our tour of Scotland, this was the only one with poor breakfasts.

The second let-down was the wifi. Incredibly frustrating, as you get 5 minutes if you're lucky before it goes down, then by switching your device off and on again you may get another 5 minutes. For a big hotel chain this is just not on.

Finally, the 'free mini-bar'. My wife and I had a 'superior' room which advertises alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks (but fails to give any details in advance). The alcoholic drinks were actually just two small cans of lager and one 18.5 cl bottle of wine (the first night, red wine, and totally chilled through being in the cooler!). With the two cans of soft drink, one packet of crisps and two wafer bars I would estimate the total value of what you get to be well under £5. I'm sure that in the past Indigo hotels have provided more: this is just penny-pinching and derisory for the extra you pay.

Oh and the air conditioning left a lot to be desired. Either blowing like the wind on your face or not on at all.

With some fine-tuning this could be a really good hotel. Unfortunately it's not at the moment.

Room Tip: Probably higher up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear cltc,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you like our hotel location and level of staff service. I am disappointed to read that you found the food selection, internet service and room air conditioner less than satisfactory. Please rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope if you get back to the area, you will consider staying at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Reception staff were quick to help with our cases. Our room was ready even though we were very early. They made helpful suggestion on were to go and what to see in the city. The room was bright and clean. Bathroom well equiped. Complimentary mini bar with soft drinks and chocolate biscuits. Centrally situation and bus to airport stops outside hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine_736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your wonderful review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Plus points are good location, friendly and efficient staff, pleasant public areas and rooms that are what you expect for the money. Like all hotels, improvements would be made in the rooms for relatively little capital expenditure if their designers had to live in them for a week. But we were not dissatisfied overall and would not rule out a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
228 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow this room was elegant. In room the fridge were FREE ( !!) waters, chocolate bars, and chips. So impressed. I've been to hotels where they booby-trapped their fridges so if you even MOVE anything around, they automatically charge you a mini-bar usage fee!

The staff was helpful and friendly and they kept a bowl of fruit on top of the check-in counter for guests. This hotel is about 3 blocks to the Central Railway station and there were coffee shops and eateries right there. Buchanan Street was also a right there with MANY more shops. I didn't realize how close we were to everything until we started walking around.

The only complaint was that the shower did not drain well, but otherwise was fantastic with great water pressure. The hotel was stocked with Aveda products. The bed was SO comfortable and the pillows were great. The coffee/tea set up was nice too!

When we arrived at the airport, we went right to the information desk in the terminal just to confirm where to pick up the 500 Glasgow Shuttle to the city center. Indeed, it was right out front. I believe you can buy the tickets for this bus at the info desk as well as on the bus. It took about 15 minutes to get into town. You need to get off at the Bothwell St./ (Central Station) stop. The first stop JUST says Bothwell St. on the sign at the bus stand and we SHOULD have gotten off here. Instead, I focused on the Central Station part of it and got off at the next stop and then we had to walk BACK to the hotel. Get yourself a good map and it will be clearer ---I didn't even have a map...poor planning on my part.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Oh, and there is a Café Nero down the street RIGHT across from the train station --- as you can see from my picture. It was easy and affordable to have breakfast there. We had lunch across that street at Bella Italia - they had lunch deals for 9pounds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Property: Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing