We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal service and bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Phenomenal service and bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I loved almost everything about it! There were cozy beds, a good t.v, a bar with almost any drink you could imagine, a very sizable bathroom, a great location, and a free minibar. The only negative was that we had a pretty small room. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, and especially for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    633
    142
    28
    13
See reviews for
292
1,060
74
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Staff friendly and efficient , rooms well decorated in boutique style, our room came with free minibar, dressing gowns, slippers and aveda bath products.
The only fault of this hotel was the breakfast which was very poor. Selection on buffet table was very limited and poorly displayed cooked breakfast was not much better. This was a real let down and not to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Parking is in a new multi story car park next to the hotel ,voucher from hotel gives you discount on the £15 a day fee.(@11.50for 24hrs)

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel Indigo was the perfect little hotel in Glasgow. The location was just a few blocks from Glasgow Central train station - very easy to find. The rooms were beautifully decorated and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. The cocktails in the bar were not too shabby either!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenh150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Beautifully laid out and proportioned room. Well decorated in a style sympathetic to the city itself. A short walk from Glasgow central railway station and also the metro. Good service. Only let down was failed WiFi.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TomZunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 4 days in a King Bed Deluxe room and the hotel experience essentially had two halves

What was excellent.

The room was very modern and well presented, the comfort, the cleanliness of the room was great, all up the accommodation was near perfect, great sleep, very quite. Highly recommend.

BUT
the breakfast was like a 3 star accommodation, same basic stuff each day, very basic, yes there was a choice but what was there is not what you expect in a high rating hotel. In addition the service there was poor to average ie
ran out of bacon in the warmer, took 8 minutes to get more bacon,
ran out of bread 5 minutes to bring more bread,
ran out of large plates, ran out of small plates, ran out of croissants, the list goes on.

The internet, and the worst part that the internet issues have been reported for some time on TripAdvisor. When i read the reviews prior to making my booking I figured that the reviews were exaggerated. When I checked in I enquired with the reception person is the internet OK as I have read poor reviews, he said "yes been fixed just fine now' in hind sight was just not true.

The internet was appalling, if you stay there do not expect internet service. Even in the lobby the internet is patchy at best. When I enquired with the reception, she said, call the service provider!!!

There is no parking out the front as it is double yellow lines, Yes the reception folks helped when we arrived, but on departure the dude in concierge just watched as we struggled out the door with two large suitcases and 4 pieces of hand luggage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night at the end of the Commonwealth Games. First the good bits, the reception desk staff were very courteous and friendly, as were the room cleaning staff we passed in the corridor. The room had a superking bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed. The room was a standard size and layout. There was chocolate and complimentary beers.

The room cost us £400 PER Night. What really let the hotel down was breakfast. There was a very limited hot buffet. For example, you could only have scrambled eggs. If you wanted poached egg on toast for example this would be an additional £4.95! Something I heard a number of diners comment on and something I have never encountered in any other hotel in the world. For this price I would have expected a member of kitchen staff to be out front cooking omlettes to order. Or I would have expected the cooked breakfast order to be taken whilst we helped ourselves to fruit and cereal.

On the first morning I had to find a member of staff to highlight all the remaining plates were filthy, brown sauce was dripping down the side of the stack of plates. Whilst this was undoubtedly done by a customer, it should have been noticed and attended to by a member of staff. On the second eve we waited in vain for our coffee order to arrive and had to get up to search out a member of staff to see where it was.

The web site states that there are 660 parking spaces, It then goes on to say there is a public car park with a 25% discount next door. From this we inferred that the hotel had its own 660 space car park, but if it was full you could use the public one. Alas no, you have to pay £15.50 a day (then get a 25 discount). A 100% discount should be given.

Maybe these penny pinching aspects are the norm in Scotland, or maybe they just seem so when you have already paid £400 a night for a room. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beaupoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are always grateful for all the feedback we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a trip to commonwealth games courtesy of Ford Uk. Only pity is we only had 1 night in this gorgeous hotel, will certainly return. Felix in reception was very helpful & had many suggestions of places to visit & how best to get there. Room was superb, shower stunning wanted to take it home. Decor throughout was opulent & restful. Breakfast was well cooked & service in restaurant, reception & bar could not be faulted. Already checking room availability for birthday in January for a special treat. Thank you ihg for having a beautiful hotel staffed by helpful welcoming people.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwennys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during the Commonwealth Games. Felix was especially pleased to receive a mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Property: Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing