We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel xx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel xx”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 2nights on the indulgence package which was 2nights in a suite (room 512) breakfast each morning and a 3course dinner 1night.

After a 5min walk from Glasgow Central station we were greeted warmly check in only took 5mins if that our bags were then taken up to the room for us.

Our room was just lovely on the 5th floor a corner suite fantastic views over the rooftops huge bed a little firm for our liking but still slept soundly massive TV lots of space in the room. Room has iron/ironing board which is great as your clothes are creased by the time you get to your destination my only gripe is the iron is not steam so takes ages to iron your clothes. Free mini bar includes water(fizzy) can diet coke can lemonade small vodka & whiskey chocolates 1 bag of plain crisps 2cans lager half bottle of champagne small bottle of white wine. There is also a free safe which we didn't use hairdryer radio avenda toiletries. The bathroom a little on the small side no bath but shower is lovely huge shower head.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast they only put out scrambled eggs but you can order different if you wish we had no problems at all with breakfast really enjoyed it on both mornings.

Dinner was in the hotel restaurant which has now changed to Marco Pierre whites steakhouse chicken was abit dry but otherwise ok AMAZING sticky toffee pudding the best I've ever had the only thing that was abit off putting was all the pictures of Marco Pierre there wasn't a wall without his picture was a little strange I'm talking huge pictures but we still enjoyed our experience. a special thanks to Richard who went out of his way to make our evening special my husband & I are both deaf and he really helped to make sure we understood everything made us feel very relaxed and welcome.

All in all we had a wonderful stay will definatly be back was a great break away from kids & work.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Richard was especially delighted with his ‘mention.’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    649
    146
    30
    13
See reviews for
304
1,099
79
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A short walk from Glasgow Centre Station and the main shopping areas.

The staff are exceptional, very friendly, nothing is too much trouble

Room was lovely, very clean and well appointed. Very comfortable bed. I do miss a bath but I not believe any of the Indigo's have bath. Luckily the shower was superb.

We have a fab meal in the restaurant, totally delicious. Proper freshly cooked chips, not a frozen veg in site

Breakfast on the other hand was quite disappointing. The Indigo in Newcastle does all the food specially to order and has a great range which include pancakes. By comparison this was quite poor. A standard buffet selection which you would find at most 3* hotels. You wouldn't have believed you were sitting the same restaurant as the night before.

However though, despite breakfast we had a great stay and would definitely return. Though until they improve the breakfast experience we will go to the cafe rouge instead in the morning

Room Tip: higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezwylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate all the comments that we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here during the Commonwealth Games. A very good central hotel only a few minutes to the sites of Glasgow. We enjoyed our stay here very much even though it was quite expensive (all the hotels in Glasgow put their prices up during the Games.) A trendy boutique hotel which has a small gym in the basement. Our room had all that was required for a comfortable stay despite the fact that the wardrobe was miniscule but there was a great shower and our room was extremely quiet (faced to rear of hotel)! They mention that the mini bar is free - don't get excited - free water, crisps, chocolate bars and pop is all that is included. Enjoyable breakfast with a good choice. All very comfortable but a little corporate. Our biggest problem was the internet - quite useless. Despite the numerous complaints to reception we did not have the problem resolved. Although they do not have a car park there is a good safe multi storey (with hotel discount next door).This may sound like a negative review but we did enjoy our stay very much and would happily stay here again in the future. Clean, comfortable, friendly, central and a good place to stay but please get a better internet connection before our next visit!

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear of the hotel and on higher floors are probably quieter but no view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate all the comments that we receive. We are currently upgrading the wifi coverage in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A nice modern boutique hotel located very conveniently to the main railway station.... There were 10 of us and the restaurant was able to accommodate us at short notice....Everyone enjoyed our food....the two most favorite items were the fish and chips and the hamburger { which was a bit of a surprise as we are from Canada}

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxyr849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for the great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms at this hotel are really beautiful. Very friendly staff, ready to help with everything.
Great central location at a good value.
The only slight let down was breakfast.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for the great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a great little in a good position for town, or west end. Modern, bright and great artwork throughout. Champagne bar a discount on Friday evenings!
Would definitely recommend if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcropolisLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are especially grateful for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Commonwealth Games for one night.

Building - beautiful, restored old electricity building with lovely feature rooms and lots of interesting original works of art - famous Scots such as Gordon Brown and lots of others, in the dining room, plus a spectacular wall frieze painting of lots of famous Scottish people.

Atmosphere - friendly, welcoming, unstuffy. I would especially rave about Colm on Reception who came out onto the street to help us with our cases. He was amazing, so helpful, and helped us get around Glasgow and find the best deals and the ways to cut queueing for trains and buses.

Rooms - our room was small - like a lot of city hotels, but absolutely gorgeous. The decoration was stylish and sophisticated. We had everything we needed in there including lovely smellies in the bathroom. We had free water, coke and local cakes and biscuits including special chocolate for the Games! There is a safe and coffee and tea making stuff.

The hotel is brilliant because each floor of the hotel had a different theme for decoration and works of art. We were on the industrial heritage floor so the paintings were of old Glasgow. Absolutely fantastic.

Breakfast - flexible. I had a nice bowl of porridge, hubby had full Scottish breakfast. There are three pricing options so you can do continental, full Scottish or both, which means you can have as much or as little as you wish. Tea is a bit weak - that's the same as all the Holiday Inn chain hotels in our experience. You can leave it to brew til it's cold and still it won't taste of tea! But that's a minor quibble.

Amenities - there's a great lounge, very comfy, and a beautiful dining room. Toilets are downstairs and spotlessly clean.

Things to do - Glasgow is a great city, I loved it. Great for shopping, art and museums. We did the Kelvingrove Art Gallery - make sure you see the Dali, it's stunning. They also have a Spitfire plane in there which is well worth seeing.

All in all we had a great stay and really enjoyed the hotel. Special thanks to Colm. :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There's no real view to get excited about but it's really close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piedwarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. COlm was especially delighted with his ‘mention.’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
658 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,074 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Property: Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing