We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is one of the nicest, strangest hotels i have stayed in. We both really enjoyed our night here and the breakfast was first class.

This place isn't a premier inn or an Apex and thankfully it doesn't try to be. It is quirky and different. we stayed in a superior room for the night and had a very comfy night. The only downside was we never got a turret room!!!

Unfortunately we had things planned so we never got to sample the evening menu but if the breakfast is anything like it then i am sure it is great.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you can, it's not that much extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    77
    39
    24
    40
See reviews for
38
115
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Went to this hotel as part of a ghost tour and dinner deal from Groupon. Arrived in the bar which was very warm and cosy considering how cold it was outside. Bar staff were great and welcoming. Ghost tour was very good (conducted by Trevor Rooney) then back to the hotel for the meal. We sat at a table with another two couples, who were great company. The food was well cooked, presented and served. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. My better half reckons that the sticky toffee pudding was the best she has tasted.All in all, a really enjoyable evening. We will be back for sure. Only problem I have is..... do I risk not getting a seat next time by giving a glowing report. Honesty prevails. Well worth a visit

Room Tip: We only ate in the restaurant, so can't comment. However they set very high standards with their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoval102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

went on ghost walk had a fab time it was a freezing cold Glasgow night but still had a fab time our guide Trevor was great !! It was very interesting and although i have been born and bred in Glasgow i didnt even know about Necropolis !! If u havent been up there and you are into ghost stories and gravestones then get booked onto one of the walks...The Cathedral house hotel is a lovely wee cosy place and the food is to die for our meal was delicious...All in all had a fab time....Thanks to Trevor Roonie and all the staff at The Cathedral House Hotel xxx :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparclean2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

tour great back to the hotel for what was meant to be a candle lit dinner for 2 but it was a table of 6 strangers 50 mins for starter , it was bland soup and had no crusty roll when we got it the soup was cold , then i got what was like spaghetti out a tin and chicken burnt on one side well over cooked and cold then had the cheek to charge 2 quid a can of cola if it was me that had to pay for that crap wel what can i say.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I'd never eaten at this hotel before nor ever been on a ghost tour so I was looking forward to both. I was not disappointed. I had taken advantage of a deal voucher to sample the tour and dining experiences. The tour was first class with the guide being extremely interesting and amusing. The hour passed so quickly. The avid tourists all trecked back to the hotel for dinner and the wait was well worth it. Good portions, hot and well served. Even bought a sweet!! Outstanding value for money, deal aside. All in all, a great night and I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in October 2011. I had requested a room with a view of the Necropolis, which they gave me. My emails were all answered promptly when I was making inquiries before my trip. .

I had room number 7, which is also occupied by the resident ghost, Jimmy. We never met ( just as well ! ). The room did have a nice view of the Necropolis ( see photo ).

The staff was very friendly. The room was modern, nice flat screen tv, very clean. The breakfast ( which came with the room ) was great. I did not eat dinner there but did have a few tasty beers at the bar one night.

The hotel is located in the old part of Glasgow, a 3 minute walk from the Cathederal, the Necropolis, Provand's Lordship and the St. Mungo Museum of Religious Art and Life.

The Merchant City district ( restaurants and bars galore ) is a 15 minute walk. The walk back is uphill so you can walk of some of your dinner ! There is a subway and bus stop within 4 minutes walk of the hotel.

The hotel is a beautiful 19th century building- do note that there is no elevator so you'll have to climb 2 or 3 floors of stairs.

Again, I loved this hotel and would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Visited the hotel as the start point for a Ghost walk tour and then venue for a meal as part of a Groupon deal.

The bar was very busy with people for the walking tour but no problem bring served although they had no Pernod available and the mixers lacked some sparkle but the service was quick and cheery.

After the tour, dinner was served in the upstairs dining room. The service again was good and the food was of very good quality although bigger portions would have been nice but remember this was part of a groupon deal so portions may well be bigger at other times.

Couldn't fault the staff and it's a cracking wee historical place. Unable to comment on bedrooms etc as only here for a meal.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatnchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Property: Cathedral House Hotel
Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing