We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite return to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A definite return to this hotel”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here on Saturday for one night, for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who offered to carry our luggage up the three flights of stairs. We were in room 3 and it was clean and had everything we needed from a comfy bed to tea and coffee making facilities. Also a good view of the Cathedral and Necropolis which we visited in the morning. The breakfast was served at a reasonable time, between 8am and 10am. We ordered the full scottish breakfast which was tasty and very good value for money considering the size and quality. Oh and the check in and out was also a winner being very speedy. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickwick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    78
    40
    26
    40
See reviews for
38
118
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We had been on a ghost walk here last year and thought the building was so beautiful we would defo be back to stay over. We arrived and put our bags in had a drink and something to eat in the bar downstairs (which was really nice , with lots on the plate) and had a walk around the necropolis directly across from the hotel . When we came back we were told that they had moved our stuff to a bigger room ,room 4 which is called cathedral room . We thought that this was really kind of them as we hadn't asked for an upgrade. We went out for the night and came back for last orders bar staff were really friendly. Went to bed and was woken up at 5 in the morning with a loud bang on the bedside table and the sound of kids giggling

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maureen8965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Treat yourself to one of the best authentic Glasgow pubs I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. The food was absolutely delicious and fresh (I had the smoked salmon ciabatta with cream cheese and fresh dill yum!) the surroundings bright and airy even for a pub and the service was over the top fantastic! Our sever pulled tables together for us and smiled all the time making it a great overall experience. If you are on the city tour stop off at stop number 2, take in the beauty of the Cathedral then enjoy lunch across the street. Highly recommended! Will definitely go back!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adorenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Having promised myself that I would return to this lovely little hotel in Glasgow I booked my room in advance to ensure a reservation.

On arrival I was greeted with friendly staff and my case taken up to my room for me. A few faces had changed but the welcome was as I expected , very friendly and sincere. My room (ensuite as they all areI think) was spotless as expected, very confortable and the view was superb.

In the bar area I noticed that they now do posh dining on the top area of the bar, tables beautifully laid out for fine dining. As I was yet again on my own I staid in the bar area on the second floor and ate a fantastic fillet steak sandwich, fish and chips and lastly macaroni cheese with garlic bread....not all on the same night. The cost was the same regardless where you choose to eat.

Breakfasts here are first class, bacon ,egg, sausage, mushroom, tomato and tattie scone toast, butter and jam plus unlimited tea coffee and a choice of juices however I was a little disapointed that haggis had been taken off the menu, maybe they were out of season in Scotland at that time. But porridge with cream was obviously still a firm favourite with other guests

To the managers and staff of this lovely hotel you have made one traveller very happy and cant wait to return, late september but will book in advance.

What a treasure to find.

Room Tip: One with a view of Glasgow Catherdral, beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayniewaynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed two nights at the Cathedral and wished my stay had been longer. This hotel has character and history. The original spiral stone staircase to my Room #5 was lovely. The Glasgow city sightseeing bus stop is right across the street, as well as Necropolis and the Cathedral. My window overlooked Cathedral Square and was a nice, quiet setting. The staff was very helpful, carrying my bags to my room, etc. special thanks to Clancy for the breakfasts, tea and arranging my cab.
I walked easily to George square, but was far enough away from the city centre to avoid the noise at night.
Perfect hotel....highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianorcadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I had a few days to enjoy Glasgow for a business trip and I wanted to stay at a unique hotel that showcased Glaswegian architecture. If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel that is away from the hub-bub of downtown, stay here. There are quirky nuances about the hotel. This adventurous traveler didn’t mind that there is no elevator (only 4 floors, I was top floor). I rather enjoyed the exercise. The staff was so helpful and great. I would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7. Top floor, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squanto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed here one weekday night and was very impressed. It is small, characterful and in a very quiet location directly opposite Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis. I had booked a single room but was given an enormous double room, with a great prospect of the Cathedral (and all the cherry blossom in full bloom) through its three big windows, a big flat-screen TV and a chaise lounge for good measure. It had decent bedside lamps so I could even read in bed, bliss. It was clean, comfortable and I had a nice breakfast in the morning. For this I paid £45 including breakfast, by virtue of having booked through laterooms.com (whom I had never used before).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
129 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Merchant City
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#86 of 95 in Glasgow
447 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Property: Cathedral House Hotel
Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing