We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really wonderful little hotel with top-level customer service located across from the Glasgow Cathedral and The Necropolis.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 21 October 2012

If you are looking for a unique spot, stay here. A beautiful late 1800s baronial style building with a stone interior spiral staircase. The rooms are stylish and comfortable with amazing views. The bistro-style bar downstairs offers a great selection of wine, beer and spirits. The food is truly fresh and delicious - try the Haggis bites in a whisky sauce! Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room - the oatmeal was the best I have ever had. The staff are dedicated to making your stay memorable. Such a warm and friendly bunch. I highly recommend this hotel. ( No elevator so take note if you have mobility issues)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookwomanmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

We didn't stay at hotel (although kind of wish we did) but did have a great meal in their restaurant. The steak and ale pie was the best all trip and the deep fried haggis was tasty. The bar had nice ambience (classic and lived in not flashy) and out waiter/bar tender was excellent. Great location near Glasgow Cathedral, Provand's Lordship, Necropolis and St. Mungo's Museum which made for an enjoyable (and totally free) day of sightseeing. Would definitely go back if I had the chance

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was in Glasgow for a meeting and decided to avoid the more traditional hotels and stumbled upon the Cathedral House's website and it looked perfect. My e-mail enquiries were answered promptly and everything was arranged as easy as could be. Arrived early on Sunday morning, way before check-in time and was welcomed to Glasgow with a warm smile, a hot cup of coffee and an incredible full Scottish breakfast. Went across the street to take in the morning service at the Glasgow Cathedral with full organ and choir and by the time i got back, my room was ready. I stayed in room number 4, The Cathedral Room, and it was terrific. The restaurant and pub downstairs are not only a great convenience after a long day but the food and drink were really good and It feels more like you've walked into a friend's living room rather than into a hotel's restaurant. Sure, there are steps to walk up to your room which I look on as a chance to get a little free exercise and being right on a major road can provide a little background sound but nothing more than one would expect of any hotel in a major city - especially if you leave the windows open. I would certainly come back to the Cathedral House if I ever find myself back in Glasgow again. Thanks for a great week.

Room Tip: Room #4 and Room #7 are the ones to try and get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbankayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great way to spend an hour. Entertaining, informative, funny & scary. Excellent guide knew lots of interesting facts about Glasgow & the time flew by. Went into the hotel afterwards & enjoyed a drink in the warm. Friendly bar staff & quick service.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Cathedral House is a unique stay. Situated directly across the street from the Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis. Our room looked directly at these two historic sites which added to the feeling of going back in time. Our room was comfortable and quaint. The breakfasts were delicious and presented well. The pub downstairs was an added benefit for a quick meal and glass of wine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My friend and I stayed for an overnight theatre break. Staff were excellant, offering to carry our luggage, friendly welcome, checked us in early. Wee problem with the kettle which was rectified within 2 minutes of phoning reception. Rooms very clean,with wonderful views,fresh milk sent to our room within a few minutes of request.Beds comfy. Thought it might be noisy with sirens being so near the hospital but this was not the case. Car park is small, but we were lucky and got a space, which is a real bonus. No walking distance at all to the centre. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked to order, porridge was gorgeous ! Only minor gripe,but could do with the power point nearer a mirror or a with a mirror near the power point, Considering the price, its great value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doogly5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Spent two nights at the Cathedral House Hotel, can only say it was excellent , lovely big room with very comfortable bed, very good choice of meals in the bar , very nice friendly staff ,lovely viewsof the cathedral , will definatley have a return stay , thanks to everyone .

Room Tip: Room 4 , very nice views and very spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Merchant City
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#83 of 93 in Glasgow
477 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
142 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#84 of 93 in Glasgow
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing