We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Hawick, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I needed to be close to Strathclyde University and this was about as close as you could get. (But very handy for town centre too - very easy just off M8 junction 15). Lovely wee pub and restaurant in the ground floor with friendly and efficient service from Lisa who did reception, bar and waitress all by herself so she deserves a special mention. Not the best room quality in the world but I booked for location and I definitely got that and free parking for a very good price in city centre - a real bargain. Nice cooked breakfast too. A good secret I should maybe keep to myself??

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    76
    38
    24
    39
See reviews for
38
114
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a voucher for Sundays lunch was disappointed that it was served in the bar. Starters were brilliant, mains were mediocre, my Balmoral Chicken was dried up and tasteless, 4 green beans and not a whole roast potato 3 wee bits, hubby had steak pie said 5/10 puff pastry looked like bought in already shaped frozen. Think we shared the roast potato between us if we were lucky. Was going to order dessert but after the mains didn't want to chance it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlionking1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

used our itison voucher yesterday for sunday lunch and enjoyed the most delicious steak pie and chips i have had in a long time. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was very nice. After lunch we crossed over and had a long walk round the Necropolis. It was a beautiful day the the views were outstanding. Definately somewhere we will visit again for lunch and continue our walk round the other side of the cemetery.

Room Tip: lovely food and great location so handy to beautiful area of Glasgow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had a meal here as we had a voucher from a well known supermarket, first off the staff (one guy behind the bar) was top notch, great service from that guy, the food was average fare though.

I had a burger and chips, was decent to be honest as far as burgers go (pretty hard to mess up that order though!), others with me thought it was 5/10 fare though, they had different dishes on the menu, This would be a good spot to pop into if you are on a night out and want a bite to eat before hitting the town later, not so much if you are after a romantic nite out with your gf!

I would rate this as average, nothing to get excited about but no need to say you should avoid it either! So-so, if you're passing and are hungry drop in, but don't go out of your way for it. Staff A+, burgers B+ cant comment on anything else!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is one of those hotels that you love for lots of reasons: it's not a chain hotel; it's old with some quirky architectural features, like a spiral staircase and turrets; its bar has a warm atmosphere and is lively at night; the staff is friendly and helpful with lots of smiles.

It also needs some attention to detail. Breakfast is advertised as being served from 8-10 and no one showed up until 9:00. The parchment lamp shade was flaking into an early death.

We had room 7 which has great views of the Necropolis and the Cathedral, but it's 64 steps up from the bar - no elevator. I would still recommend it, as the food we had at dinner was excellent and when we showed our disappointment at the unavailability of the sticky toffee pudding they dried our tears with a complimentary alternative. Go for the character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Friendly, helpful staff on arrival. Room was nice, had everything we needed except an iron. Odd little bits could have been cleaner. Beds comfortable, good.
Service for evening meal was good even when we had to return food as it was cold ( the first time we have ever done this in any restaurant). Otherwise the food was very good.
Breakfast service was a disaster. No staff, food not available, cleaner tried to help, no person to whom we could direct complaints.
Dreadful.
Staff all helpful, friendly, trying to provide good service.
Good location. Nice building. Could be made into a wonderful hotel!
Dislikes:
Breakfast; no service, food. No manager in evidence. No way of contacting any manager. Cannot find out who is responsible for this hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs so ask for help with baggage if you need it. If you have mobility issues don't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Have just spent the weekend in Glasgow while leaving our daughter off at uni.Picked this hotel because it was very close to Strathclyde uni with car parking which is hard to get for free. What a find! Excellent location within 15 mins walkiung distance of city centre. The hotel itself is individual,our room was very cosy, and clean although the bathroom could do with a bit of work. Location is quiet enough to get a good nights sleep with good quality curtains to keep out the light. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming and the breakfast was
very good, plenty of choice. The bar was lovely with very nice staff. I would recommend anyone to try the Cathedral House Hotel. It was a very pleasant change from the usual large hotels we stay in which don't have a lot of personality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#87 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Property: Cathedral House Hotel
Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing