We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear!!!
One of the poorest experiences we've ever had.
Order wrong, one meal arrived after all other diners had finished. Side order arrived after main course finished and water eventually arrived after second reminder. Food REALLY poor.
I totally agree with Chesney 71 ' Avoid at all costs'
Not worth a visit.
PLENTY of better places in Glasgow to eat for same price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bringmefood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

No idea whether this hotel was good or not, was slightly concerned having seen the reviews on this site but , having bought an Amazon Local deal and booked at least 2 months in advance, we arrived find they had no record of our booking. We went through from Edinburgh for my husband's birthday and were told there was no record of our booking, and we were the second double booking that day. Ruined our day as we had luggage, which the receptionist kindly stored for us, but we spent an hour of the day trekking backwards and forwards to deposit and collect this. Amazon refunded immediately but still a total disappointment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank HEJS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Recently stayed here on an Amazon Local voucher for dinner, bed and breakfast. I must say we thought it excellent value for money (£59.00 for 2 people). We stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the cathedral and necroplis, which was wonderfully lit at night. The bed was large and very comfy and all the linen was white and pristine. The only problem we had with the room was the shower, which was on a pump, and kept getting hot and cold. It would have become annoying had we stayed more than one night.

Dinner was a choice from the menu, and was quite basic unless you paid a supplement for steak or lamb shank. It was presented nicely and everything was hot on arrival. Breakfast was very good with cereal, juice and fruit available, and we were served a full cooked breakfast, but not asked what we wanted. It was hot and nicely cooked.

The staff were all very pleasant and courteous and the hotel is a lovely building in a great situation for the town centre and all its amenities. All in all, it was great value for the money we paid and we would definately stay again if we got the same deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank truelydeeplymadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bought a voucher for one night stay and two course meal in the restaurant . However , we were told that the kitchen closed early on a Sunday but on our arrival we didn't expect to be offered limited choice of which was not on their advertised Sunday menu .
The food was satisfactory only .
The building is beautiful but the room were satisfactory only . We would never pay the normal nightly stay cost and will never go back even though the location is central .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked through Groupon for 'Sunday lunch'.... The whole experience was a disaster from the off. Went with the family as a treat for the Grandparents. On arrival, was surprised to find that there was no menu. Our 'options' (2 of each course), were quickly read to us and not what had been advertised via Groupon. There was no roast beef, despite there being a photograph of this on the voucher and it being listed in the original advert. The staff had to enquire what was available for children. Macaroni cheese or chicken goujons, (2 with 6 chips), to be followed with ice cream. Starters, bruschetta or soup were served promptly. I wish I could say the same for the main courses. Having arrived at 3pm, we didn't get the main courses till 4.20. The staff were apologetic, but not that attentive. The roast potatoes were very warm, but everything else was lukewarm and overall the food very basic. We were not asked if we wanted coffee or desert. The table was eventually, half cleared. I think they needed more glasses at the bar. When the staff finally came back to clear the remainder of the dishes, we asked for the children's aforementioned ice cream. Much to our surprise, we were informed that the chef finished his shift at 5pm & the kitchen was closed!!! To add insult to injury, we had been charged an extra £9 for drinks we didn't order. A complete rip off. If this was an attempt to encourage new custom, they have failed miserably at every turn. If had 'Nil Points' been an option, I would certainly have used it. Avoid this restaurant at all costs. We live in Glasgow, where the choice & quality of restaurants is generally of a high standard. If you are planning a visit, eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chesney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I can't believe the change in this place, really gone down hill rapidly. I don't really know where to start to be honest. Visit this place quite regularly for drinks and for food however recently unless you have paid for a voucher you can't order food! According to the staff that were on duty that night, unless you have booked with a voucher then the kitchen won't serve you food. The service wasn't the best (and that was only for drinks). Everything was such a hassle and the staff just couldn't be bothered. Certainly gone down hill, nobody seemed to be in charge and it showed. Unless they perk up their ideas we will Definately won't be back. Total shambles.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank supernurse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We went here on a Wowcher deal, 2 courses for 2 people for £12, you only get what you pay for. The staff were exceptionally nice which was the only exceptional thing in the place. Starters were passable, main courses were no where near warm enough, the food was barely heated and the plates were stone cold. When we were finished the lovely waitress asked how our food was, l had to say that it was cold by the time l had finished. We were given complementary tea and coffee in way of a sorry. The staff did their best and l felt very sorry for them having to work in this below average establishment. l would be a little embarashed if this hotel is used by tourist, its not a good example of the very best Glasgow has to offer. We won't be going back, it needs some serious improvement.

Room Tip: To be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosecraig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,177 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £70 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing