We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have stayed at this Travelodge quite a few times over the past 10 years as it has a great location for Glasgow City Centre. It's really good value for money if you book early enough. I loved the new makeover of the bedrooms and bathrooms! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Arrived by train at Glasgow Central, hotel was about 20-30mins walk away, no real problems finding it. Reception staff were friendly and tried to oblige us with a "quiet" room which turned out to be above the entrance and hence provided the opportunity to ear-wig on the smokers at all times of the day and night. The windows didn't particularly seal well so we had to make sure plenty of sleeping medicine so as not to be disturbed. The rest of the room was fine, just the usual travelodge, maybe a little bigger than most we have stayed at but at the price (£150 for three nights from Friday) it was good value for money. There was also some good pubs and restaurants close by and was situated only a stones throw from the glamorous Sauchiehall street.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night ask for a room that isn't over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel is very central, in a horrible street. Both times I have stayed there there has been noise from other guests. Room was spotless, shower was poor. Pillows not good.There is no parking at this hotel, there is a multi-storey nearby which is about £12 per day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here loads of time. We pay roughly £25-£30 per night so dont expect much however it has been painted thus looks brighter, flooring in bathrooms changed and the beds are new. Sooo much better. Location cannot be faulted as its in the middle of everything. Easy to book a taxi as there is a phone near reception. Slightly noisy at weekend but expected! Some of the reception staff were new and were lovely. Missing Tv remote but found out from reception that others had been stealing them. Typical that small minority spoil it for all. Machines to get juice at recption but also shops just around the corner. Well done travelodge. Happy customers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn-Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I booked a night at the Glasgow Central TRAVELODGE for my 18 year old daughter and her friend through OLOTEL. I made the booking 2 months in advance and advised them at the time of booking that they would be late arriving ( for which I had an acknowledgement). They arrived at 10 pm, tired in a strange city, only to be told by the receptionist there was no room for them as the hotel was overbooked by 6 rooms. I contacted OLOTEL, who conducted an " investigation" and said TRAVELODGE said that they were a NO SHOW!!! Therefore I can't have a refund. WHAT A SCAM! I am livid. Shame on you TRAVELODGE.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We’re really sorry to learn about the poor experience your daughter had on arrival to our Glasgow Central hotel D L. Regrettably on some occasions we can have an unexpected take up of arrivals and our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such circumstances. We would expect our guests to be relocated as close to the hotel as possible and by reducing impact to the customer we would cover the cost of any travel expenses. We would like to be able to fully investigate this further, please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Used Travelodge several times before. Always find helpful warm welcome, well presented clean room, quiet and the right price. Glasgow Central no exception. Who wants anything else for an away day break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank bobnewrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Met my priorities of comfortable bed, quiet location, near some venues for Celtic Connections festival. Just off Sauciehall Street. Near the Glasgow School of Art for Rennie Mackintosh fans. Room looked recently refurbished. Nice bathroom, kettle with tea and coffee. Staff extremely helpful. Booked some time in advance and it was a great bargain. Did not try the breakfast. Lots of choice nearby to eat. Glasgow people very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SheilaBristol4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glasgow Central

Address: 5-11 Hill Street, Glasgow G3 6RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Glasgow Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glasgow Central Hotel Glasgow
Travel Lodge Glasgow
Glasgow Travel Lodge
Glasgow Travelodge
Travelodge Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing