We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how central this hotel was to all the amenities in the city. The hotel is very clean and the double bed was very comfortable. The extra bed was not as good/comfortable but was ok to sleep on for the weekend. The hotel did not have twin beds which would have suited us better.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating from bringing us an iron and ironing board to buckets of ice! (to cool our wine!) nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay here again.
Thanks for making our stay in Glasgow a memorable one!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    181
    112
    50
    25
See reviews for
111
195
43
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This Travelodge room was comfortable and provided what I needed - a clean and comfortable room and facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful - when they could be found at reception. There were building works outside the hotel but reception welcomed me to get in touch if this was troublesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here recently and was blown away by the cleanliness and comfort, not forgetting the extremely helpful and friendly staff.Everything you need for a fantastic price too.Great breakfast.Would highly recommend this place.Nice and quiet area for good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was the forth place my daughter and me stayed at while in the UK. I wasn't expecting much because I only paid £125 for 3 nights and breakfast. The downstairs (lobby, dinning area, and bathroom) is clean and bright.

I was going to pay the extra £10 for early check in, but was told that my room wasn't clean yet. I wonder ir they were taking about a different room, because when I went in my assigned room it wasn't clean. I guess housekeeping tried to clean it, but there was very little they could do. There were several large stains on the rug that looked like they may have tried to clean them but couldn't get them out. The rugs need to be changed. The bed and cot were ok.

There is a TV but no remote control. No phone in the room.

The bathroom made strange sounds and the water pressure in the shower is horrible. While I was taking a shower the water went down very low and the came back to fullness. The temperature doesn't stay constant either.

I thought about asking for a different room, but wondered if any of the other rooms would be better.

Th staff were all very friendly and housekeeping does come by every day.

The breakfast was ok not that good. Full English breakfast buffet. They also had croissants, blue berry muffins, juice, coffee, tea, canned fruit (opened already in a bowl), cereals, and yogurt. You are able to eat as much as you like.

The location is ok about a 15 minute walk to Glasgow Central station and fairly close to food and shops.

I would probably spend the extra money and stay some where else next time.

If your on a buget though, it's not too bad and would do for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latoya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my mate stayed here 31st May and 1st June. Now for £50 per room per night, its a bargain... however I'm not sure its worth the saving.
My mate had room 101 and I had room 103. Upon entering the room, it felt like you had stepped back in time, it looked quite old and a bit lifeless. My room (103) looked onto the street outside, the bins are directly below, which made for a wake up call at 7am! The room was incredibly hot, despite both windows being open. The bathroom has no fan, so the bathroom resembled a steam room once you are finished. The TV reception was incredibly poor, I thought we were all watching digital TV nowadays? The reception on the TV was like extremely poor analogue.
As for room 101, there is only one main light to light up the room so it was very dull. The TV reception was worse than mine! There was one window which looked onto the roof of another building. Outside the room there was a load of rubbish (see attached pictures). Clearly people are smoking and throwing their fag butts and other rubbish out of the windows.
This hotel really lets the Travelodge chain down, I've stayed in a few Travelodge's before and they are all to one pretty decent standard. However this one does not inspire confidence.
Another niggly point, which is completely out of their control - there is building work across the road. So you get woken up at 8am with the sound of hammers chapping bricks! It would have been nice to know this when we checked in!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank defendertd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Looking for a cheap overnight room in Glasgow for a concert Travelodge was cheapest. We arrived mid afternoon to a warm welcome from reception, check in was quick and simple.

The room was easily found,clean, tidy and fresh. On return to the hotel after 12, the bar was still open and had a drink before bed, service was quick and friendly. Food is still available late on if you are hungry.

The bed was super comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

The only downside was that the shower temperature was far too cool despite being cranked up to the max.

Overall though, great value for money, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

business trip - really needed some good sleep but walls so thin and party goers on both sides so didn't sleep til gone 3am!!

ok if you are going for a party but otherwise keep clear...

on the positive the cooked breakfast was pretty good...

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glasgow Central

Property: Travelodge Glasgow Central
Address: 5-11 Hill Street, Glasgow G3 6RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Glasgow Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glasgow Central Hotel Glasgow
Travel Lodge Glasgow
Glasgow Travelodge
Glasgow Travel Lodge
Travelodge Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing