We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Glasgow recently for one night and ended up at at this hotel I have stayed in travel lodge before in the south but wasn't a fan however this hotel was much better and I would have no problem staying there again. The location is great you are close to many shops and restaurants and the train station is within a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LloydTranquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times when visiting Glasgow; the most recent time being on 13/02/2014.

The location is good but that is really all you are paying for. The rooms are as you would expect at this price point; basic, very tired and not particularly clean. If everything works in the room then that will be a bonus. Having said that, staff try their best and are both attentive and helpful.

I have stayed in two of the Premier Inns in Glasgow on recent trips (sometimes offered at the same price and at worst only about £10 more expensive per night).

I have to say that, even if it's going to cost a little more, it really is worth it to stretch to the Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Book a Premier Inn instead. Lenny Henry is no mug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ga2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great location. Reasonable value. Clean and comfortable. Only issues were room v hot and stuffy. Lack of lighting in bathroom and really dodgy shower- adjustment from bath to shower didn't work well . That said, would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Copy of comments sent to Travelodge. My wife and I stayed in your Glasgow Central Travelodge last night 3/July/2014 room 203 and I have to say we got the worst nights sleep we have ever had in any hotel room due to the noise. I realise that we were staying in a city centre location, but as our room was at the front and looks onto the street we did expect some noise. It started about 2am with loud voices on the street, then same at 3am. Then at about 5-45am a delivery truck, delivering to Travelodge parked right outside & below our room leaving his noisy engine running for about 15/20 mins. Just as we were managing to get some sleep workmen, who were working at the building across the street started dismantling scaffold at 8am and were really noisy. I realise that Travelodge can't control this but on top of the constant traffic noise from 6am onwards it all made for our worst night sleep ever - sorry but we won't be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank derfUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review derfUk. We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, it is also not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience however we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel by insulating the walls and providing double glazed windows. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I booked two nights at the hotel along with my wife,brother and sister in law to do a spot of sightseeing around the city,and this proved to be an excellent choice. well situated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very bad experience. Noises all around the room for 3 nights stay at glasgow central. Drunk people were banging on the floor, doors and all around very loud through out the night over the weekend which completely ruined the stay. It was hot during the night and noone seem to be bothered about it. Worst location noise every where and very small room. Totally disappointed with the stay. Last time used. Never coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Shahrukh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review Shahrukh M. We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At all our hotels we request that all customers respect reasonable noise levels with consideration to our other guests. We will also have a night porter patrolling the hotel at night to ensure the safety of others and in order to prevent any disruptions to your stay. We do also expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago very good hotel in a great location, the hotel was clean and has the new Travelodge look the room was clean but a little on the small side I've stayed in a few Travelodges and this was by far the smallest!

The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glasgow Central

Address: 5-11 Hill Street, Glasgow G3 6RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £46 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Glasgow Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glasgow Central Hotel Glasgow
Travel Lodge Glasgow
Glasgow Travelodge
Glasgow Travel Lodge
Travelodge Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing