We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very friendly, central location”
Review of City Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Apartments
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staff very friendly, central location”
Reviewed 10 December 2013






My partner and I stayed in the City Apartments for 3 nights. We found them to be handy for the underground ( Kelvinbridge ) so meant exploring the city very easy. The apartments were spotless, nice and warm and welcoming. We had a 2 person studio which at £50 per night was a terrific rate. ( we realise we got this price as it was a 3 night stay )
Also used the hotel next door ( The Albion ) for breakfast at £8 per person. Breakfast was made fresh to order and very tasty, served quickly with a smile!
We will recommend this hotel and apartments to friends & family for short stays in Glasgow.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieranG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The apartment was poor,not very nicely decorated. The lights were also really dim and some wouldn't even come on. The bedroom light kept flickering which was quite creepy. The staff were not very friendly and didnt seem approachable.Stayed in a few apartments in manchester before and this has to be the worst one. Expect very loud noise aswell!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Having checked our records we can find no trace of this guest, it does not read as if it is our apartments, there are actually 3 sets of apartments in Glasgow called City Apartments, it may be that the guest has confused ours with the one they did actually stay in.
We receive nothing but compliments regarding our staff, and our maintenance schedule is such that flickering lights would have been attended to immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Recently spent a week here, had originally only booked for 2 nights but had to extend as the reason for my visit was to see an elderly relative and unfortunately she was taken ill and was in hospital for a couple of days. The staff could not do enough for me and rearranged all their bookings so that I could stay on in the same apartment. Although the decor is not as modern as some may like it is very comfortable with everything you would need to cater for yourself. However I usually find that it is the staff that make these small hotels, you could have the most luxurious room ever but if the staff is not up to scratch it can ruin your stay. I have to say this place has it spot on, they are friendly,helpful but also unobtrusive, just perfect. Would definitely stay again next time I come to Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for commending our staff for their helpfulness during your stay, hopefully you will continue to stay with us when in Glasgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed with my wife in one of the apartments for the weekend, from start to finish a lovely experience. A warm welcome was waiting for us and we were shown through to a lovely apt, although there were just the two of us to fit in with other bookings we had been upgraded to a four person, this just made the weekend as we had lots of space and a lovely seating area to relax in. The kitchen had all that we needed to cook a simple meal and to make breakfast, although we could have booked to have it in the hotel next door if we had wished.
All in all very satisfactory and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our apartments, it is nice to be appreciated. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were staying next door in the sister hotel but most our party was in the apartments and they were great especially if you need that extra space to get kids ready which we never had in a hotel. Apartments has everything. Small kitchen, perfect for cooking for a small party. Would struggle if catering for more that 5 though. Ask for a rear apartments as front ones can get a bit niosy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

On the recommendation of a friend who is a regular guest of the McQuade Group and also a Tripadvisor Reviewer I chose to stay at these charming apartments in the west end of Glasgow.
The area is quiet but with plenty to do close at hand, including easy access to the city centre.
Staff could not have been more welcoming, the apartment was lovely and clean, the free wifi was great ( so many times I have been charged for it). As I will be coming to Glasgow regularly for work for some time I will follow the lead of my friend and stay at a McQuade Apartment or Hotel if the apts are all booked up, sometimes recommendations sound great but fall flat, not this one however and I would be delighted to see either Ant or Donald on my next visit. Their customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff who were on duty during your visit, as you say recommendations can on occasion not be as good as receommended, we are glad we came up to your expectations and appreciate your returning custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As a regular guest of the McQuade Group the City Apts was the only one I had not stayed at, now that I have I am glad to say that I can still recommend this group to anyone. The usual warm welcome, shown to a very nice large apt in the next door building. The apartment was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped with everything I needed. The underground station was so near I left the car at the apts, taking advantage of the parking vouchers available from reception (£4 for the day). I much prefer these small family run establishments where they take the time to get to know their guest's, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jintyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
As you remarked we are a family run business and we do appreciate all our guests but we do like to build a rapport with our regular's of which we have many, so thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
251 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#70 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
289 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartments

Property: City Apartments
Address: 401 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These stylish 4 star apartments are set in the leafy West End of the city, both bus and underground are nearby, Glasgow University is a 10 minute walk, and the cosmopolitan Byres Road area is one stop on the underground or a 15 min walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing