We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, ideally situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, ideally situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed with my elderly mother and was very impressed by the lovely decor, room was spotlessy clean and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    187
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
96
175
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Great little hotel with a great location. I did my research and booked through Venere and found it to be slightly cheaper than other sites.
Staff were very friendly and found me a fantastic little Mongolian restaurant in the city centreserving all kinds of fresh meats

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinep036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Although I've used this hotel previously and have enjoyed my stay, on this occasion, there was no hot water in the bathroom, which made getting washed pretty much impossible. We telephoned reception for assistance, and got no answer. We then eventually managed to approach one of the kitchen staff for help and were simply told that "it's an old building and to run the hot tap for 20 minutes and to try again". This didn't work and we eventually just had to forget it and check out, getting back on the train home sans shower and disgruntled (I'm just glad we weren't also hungover). On leaving, we discovered that we were not the only guests to have this problem that morning and were advised to contact the owner by post with our concerns. Additionally, on this occasion, the TV in the room was broken and as our room was opposite the dining room, it was very noisy (don't bother setting your alarm, you'll be awoken bright and early by breakfast being set up). Three weeks later and we're still without any sort of reply, explanation, acknowledgement or apology... Sure, the building is old and that the staff at the desk were trying, but in 2011 would expect to be able to check into a hotel and actually be able to take a shower, and if that's not possible, perhaps a more appropriate use should be found for the building. Very disappointed as I liked this place for location and staff have always been friendly and helpful, but will not be staying again. Also very disappointed by the lack of reply from Mr. McQuade.

I like the idea of supporting smaller hotels and B&Bs but for £60, could have stayed in the more central Holiday Inn Express and have had decent facilities in working order.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire25Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
On the morning of Sunday 5th March we had a problem with the hot water in 20%of the hotel bedrooms, which must have occurred during the night. It was reported to reception at approximately 9.00am and a call was placed to our heating engineer at 9.15am. The engineer arrived at approximately 12 noon and the fault was repaired by 1.00pm.
Mr McQuade was on holiday at the time, as soon as he returned he sent a letter of apology and a cheque as a goodwill gesture, this was posted to the reviewer on Friday 25th March.
This was a completely unforseen occurrence and was dealt with in a timely manner from time of reporting until time of repair. We can assure any future guests that all faults will be dealt with similarly.

J MacIntyre
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The Kelvingrove is a good place to stay if you're looking for a no-frills hotel in a good location for the West End of Glasgow, close to the City Centre and the SECC. Our room was pleasant enough, comfortable if a little basic and with small, slightly awkward bathroom. All of the rooms are at basement level which meant we experienced some noise from the street during the night. There was also quite a lot of noise from inside the hotel, not because fellow guests were rowdy but rather because the walls are thin and every floorboard creaked!

The breakfast was good and the staff were welcoming and friendly. Not the place to go if you're looking for luxury but it certainly fits the bill if you're after a cheap stay in a handy location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Its such a shame this hotel has changed. It was never perfect before but had a certain charm about it and was good value for money but since its been taken over by the McQuade group it isn't the same anymore.

OK they have invested in refurbishing the breakfast area and reception and these are very modern now but the standard of the bedrooms seems to be going downhill. The room we stayed in was cold as the radiators needed bleeding. The chap on reception was very helpful and sorted it out quickly but even after this had been done it never felt that warm. Likewise the shower was lukewarm. We have stayed in this room before on previous visits and it was always perfectly fine. Luckily we were only staying for 2 nights.

We were told that reception only manned until 10pm and after that "if there was a problem the person in room 15 would be able to help". Although I am sure the hotel is very secure as they provide all guests with their own key to access the building after 10pm, we found it a bit disconcerting that there was no night porter on duty.

The breakfast offering isn't great. You get a choice of cereals and juices plus a hot breakfast but the portions were small. You also have to help yourself to coffee and tea.

This hotel has really gone down in our estimation which is a real shame and we'll be looking for somewhere else to stay next time we visit Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules111_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I booked this hotel for myself and 6 other members of my family, all we were looking for was a bed for the night and a shower in the morning.

3 out of the 4 rooms never received hot water (although the duty manager boosted the pressure on several occasions), even after waiting an hour no hot water! Not even warm to wash your face! The only reason 1 room received hot water was because they were up at 6am! So if you are an early bird, you maybe okay!

The rooms are not in the best repair neither, paint on the carpet, dirty bathroom floor, hair in the shower tray............ etc!

The hotel is very noisy at the front from traffic and if you have the joy of being close to the kitchen, there is no need to set your alarm clock......... You will be kindly woken up at 730 when prep starts for breakfast! The staff like to shout to each other what they are doing, I could tell you exactly where the fresh orange would be before I entered for breakfast.

I am not a fussy person but I would never recommend this hotel. You will be asked to pay up front, I would suggest you wait until you are checking out. I now have to write to the owner to request a refund!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Got stuck in Glasgow with snow and couldn't get home. Phoned a very friendly lady who said she had rooms available because of weather cancellations.Nice room very clean and quiet at back of hotel. Warm and cosy on a very cold night.Lovely receptionist was serving breakfast to many stranded travellers in the morning. Would definitely stay again if I got stuck at work.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing