We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel.”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 March 2012

this hotel is so lovely. the woman at the front desk, diane, is a total asset to the place. she was very friendly and made sure i felt welcome. showed me right to my room where the heating was already on.

my room [no. 10] was quite nice. probably the best bed i've slept in so far on my month long trip round the uk. had a heated towel rack which was nice.

the kelvingrove park is a block behind the hotel and around a 20 minute walk from the main shopping area of sauchiehall st. there are buses that run past the hotel too.

my one gripe is that the floor's are a bit squeaky as the building's old. for some reason each night at around midnight someone moved about on the room above me and made their floor/my ceiling squeak and groan. this was problem was solved by using ear plugs. never travel without them if you're a sensitive sleeper.

i loved my stay over all and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent 2 nights (booked in 10/02/2012 and left 12/02/2012).

Greeted by an efficient and pleasant Gentleman at reception.

The room, no 24, was small (we had booked late on the 8th so got the last available room) and clean but requires a bit of TLC. Shower and toilet was clean. The shower cubicle was a bit small but I am used to a double shower cubicle at home.

The bed was comfortable with our sleep only being disturbed by some idiots who felt they could talk to each other at the tops of their voices at 3:30 am on the way back from some pub (not the fault of the hotel just the village idiots).

Tea & coffeee facilities good although the kettle is small.

Breakfast was a mix of juice, tea/coffee, cereal and a cooked breakfast and was good.

A 20 minute walk from the city centre and close to the SECC which is why we were there.

We would quite happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frosty_Bas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My girlfriend booked this hotel for one night as we were spending the day in Glasgow visiting the kelvingrove museum to see Salvador dalis Christ of saint John on the cross, and seeing snow patrol at the secc in the evening. The room we were given was next to the kitchen and there was a fair bit noise from this. When the gentleman on reception showed us to our room he turned the radiator on as we entered the room. The room was freezing. We went out and returned at night expecting the room to now be warm however the heating had went off and the room was still freezing. The bathroom had a heated towel rail that was not working, and despite double glazing there was a draught from the window, it was so cold it was painful to sit on the toilet. This is disappointing because previouse reviews on here have mentioned the heating issues. How hard is it to turn on the heating when you are expecting guests! In all other respects this hotel is very good, room was clean and comfortable breakfast was lovely. There was conciderable noise from outside with people drinking in a bin storage area and a low flying helicopter with search lights circling for about an hour but this is in no way the hotels fault. Overall a lovely little hotel, but let's itself down by not taking onboard the minor points mentioned on previous reports. Next time we will probably choose another hotel, if they had read the previous reports and bothered to put the heating on, they would have had loyal repeated business from us.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcfairness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay at the Kelvingrove....Very pleased it was just one night!!!
Good points: Central location,lovely reception area and average breakfast.
Bad points: Room requiring some TLC, mould in the shower,dirty carpet,freezing and paying prior to seeing the room.
Would have also liked to be asked as we left our thoughts but they couldnt even say goodbye! Having stayed in a number of 4 stars this did not make the grade, for one night at a bargain price this is a good hotel but if you are looking for more you will be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back ours was at the front and it was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAZIBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Arrived to find door locked with no one at reception to let us in. Waited at least five minutes in freezing coldThere was no welcome, and we were asked to pay before seeing the room. We paid [ big mistake].Too late to try and find other accomodation. We arrived during freezing wet weather[December] The room had no heating on our arrival, it took about an hour to heat up. We went out to the theatre leaving the radiator on for our return to find it had been turned off. MISSERABLE, the door to the ensuite was filthy with hand marks around handle area. We found the staff made no attempt to speak even about the weather. On leaving we were not asked about our stay and what we thought. Spoilt our weekend as we paid for 4star and got poor service in every sense.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I'm writing this before checking out ...just so i don't forget to write about this excellent hotel. I stayed for one night in this hotel to watch the magnificent Coldplay at the SECC. This hotel is clean, efficient, close to takeaways and restaurants. It's a great place to stay if you are going for a concert at the SECC as it is only 10 minutes walk and there is no need for the extra cost of taxis to and from SECC( plus after the concert the queue for taxi will be very long anyway so whats the point)....If all u need is a place to rest after watching a concert in SECC, i fully recommend this....perhaps the checkout time could be extended to 12pm but thats not a problem...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam5un9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

When we arrived at The Kelvingrove, the receptionist had our reservation sitting in front of her. She was extraordinarily efficient in checking us in, then she came out from behind her counter and showed us to our room. She pointed out the hotel's amenities and advised us as to when breakfast would be served. Our room was tidy, the bathroom was clean and the linens on the bed were crisp.

Breakfast was way above average. I had sausage, black pudding, juice, toast and coffee every morning. I also ate some of my wife's sausage as well. Couldn't get enough.

Back to our receptionist, we had arranged to take a bus tour to Loch Lomond. She arranged shuttle service from the Kelvingrove to our bus with the bus company. Upon departure, she advised us as to what time we needed to leave the hotel to catch our flight and had a taxi waiting for us the morning of our departure. There's nothing like great customer service.

The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum was impressive. We enjoyed our trip to Loch Lomond, but the highlight for me was a visit to The Mackintosh House. His body of work will remind you of Frank Lloyd Wright, although Rennie Mackintosh predates Frank Lloyd Wright by many years. As a wise man once said, "We'll be back in the future."

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandersen0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
361 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
321 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
611 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £42 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing