We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great times had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great times had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We came to Glasgow for our 30th wedding anniversary and weren't disappointed by the place or the hotel. Very clean and perfectly placed for some amazing restaurant which the girl behind reception booked for us. Very knowledgable

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franknsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    186
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
95
175
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We held a family reuninion at this hotel to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. Although the hotel didnt have a function room they put on a great soread in the dining room and were very accommodating. Most of the group stayed at the hotel and we can sing there highest praises. Good size family rooms, clean and vey quiet.

Room Tip: The family rooms are perfectly sized for 2 adults and 2 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here when we went to Secc Glasgow to see Mrs Browns Boys. We arrived at the Hotel to a very warm welcome. Our check-in was a breeze and we were promptly taken down stairs to our room which was at the back of the hotel lovely and cosy which we felt as we walked in.The room was recently decorated with lovely new furniture and very clean, also the bed was very comfortable. We had a tasty cooked breakfast which was to order and very hot, it set us up for the day. The staff are great nothing to much trouble very homely, The location is great for Kelvingrove Art Gallery University and Byers Road the heart of the West End. We will be back the next time we are in Glasgow. We will recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeh751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here as a stopover before heading onto a more rural part of Scotland. We werent too fussed as to what it was going to be like as it was really just a place to get our heads down for a few hours. On a taxi journey to the hotel the driver implied we were heading to some kind of shanty town so we were quite concerned. When we reached the hotel however we were very very pleasantly surprised. The outside was immaculate with fresh hanging shrubs and plants adorning the entrance. We were greeted by a genuine receptionist who informed us that although it was an hour till checking in time we were very welcome to leave our cases there until we returned.

When we returned an hour later out cases had already been taken to our rooms for us. The hotel and our room was truly spotless and there was a lovely smell of cleaning producst throughout. Our room was down a small flight of stairs and had a modern decor and an en suite.We couldnt get our tv to work on arrival but the receptionist came down immediately and rectified the problem for us (it was our error not the hotels).

We could come and go as we pleased and I believe there were 24 hour staff on reception.

Breakfast the next morning was a full cooked and you could help yourself to buffet breakfast while you waited eg breakfast juices, tea, coffee, cereal, some fruit. This was slightly limited though but did the job!

We had a great nights sleep - very confy beds!

The only downside was the view from our room which was a bit dismal - old sofas dumped etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missacorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Spent the night in Glasgow on business and as accommodation goes more than adequate. I stay in Hotels and B&B's frequently and this was a pleasant stay.Friendly staff and good breakfast. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We arrived at the hotel to stay for two nights. the room was fine enough until we used the toilet. Water and excrement came up the shower plug hole. We complained and the staff member said he would upgrade our room the next day, although he couldn't have cared less about our problem and we were made to feel as if we were being an inconvenience. The next morning we went up to get a couple of Tins of juice which turned out were months out of date. we eventually moved room although the smell and noise from the plumbing system was still distinct. in the new room we came across a lot of hairs on bed linen,bathroom floor and shower. I'm just glad we were only using the place for a bed at night

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpatio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Please accept our apologies for the unfortunate incident with the toilet in your room, this could not have been foreseen and as such our Duty Manager did his best in difficult circumstances. As the hotel was full there was no alternative room to move you to, you were directed to a bathroom which is not en suite and is primarily used by the staff, this meant you had a clean shower etc to use, when you went out the Manager went in and scrubbed the shower and toilet to try and alleviate the smell, he assured you that in the morning you would be moved to a larger room.
Unfortunately the standard of cleanliness in the room you were moved to was not our usual standard, in his haste to get you into the room quickly he did not check the room beforehand, for that please once again accept our apologies.
Regarding the out of date cans of juice, we have had problems before with the local supplier who has in the past sold us cans which were already out of date, the staff are aware of this and we have now implemented a procedure by which any bought in the future will have the dates recorded so that we can monitor them properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltspring Is.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed in a 3 bed room with plenty of space to move about. There was no elevator and the plumbing was noisy making a loud roar every time we used the water tap or toilet. However we were in the basement so perhaps the other rooms didn't have this problem. The shower tap needed two strong hands to turn on/off . They serviced a full hot breakfast as well as having a coffee machine and cold cerials and juice. Breakfast was 10 pounds extra. Staff was friendly and helpful . Large flat screne TV in room. Computer for guests in lobby as well as a pay phone. We found the temperature of our room to be fine. Carting our luggage down and up the flight of stairs wasn't pleasant. The hotel is about a15 minutes walk to the city and a 8 minute walk to the Art gallery. A large park is only a block away. There are quite a few restaurants around the area. A local bus can be taken to the airport and stops minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#58 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing