We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star? No star for this place!”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My mum and I were on a one night stop to Glasgow. We picked the Kelvingrove as it looked like a nice place. But I was so disappointed!:( We arrived late, at around 9:50 after having been called by the Hotel to tell us that they close front of house at 10 (that part was useful). The en-suite bathroom was terrible! It was unclean and when you flushed the toilet the blue dye liquid from the toilet appeared in the shower cubicle. Also when you turned the tap or flushed the toilet a horrid loud noise was made like a horn.
The next morning we had to be out early from the hotel. Wanting to leave no later than 7:50. I went for a shower but the water was frozen. We went to reception to explain and were rudely told to wait ten more minutes. So we did but as on tight schedule it was really pushing it. We both tried the shower again but still the water was freezing. We ended up having to heat the kettle and mix with water in the sink to clean ourselves. This was not at all like what we had envisaged. The lady on duty said that there was no hot water as too many people were using it. However we had been trying for at least an hour and in a city I personally feel a hotel should be supplied a system that allows everyone to have a shower whenever.
Upon leaving the hotel we met a man that was saying everyone had been complaining about no water.
We also booked in for breakfast however were told that we were not entitled to it.
Overall the most disappointing stay I have had sadly.:(

Room Tip: Don't stay here...all I can say!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

I am sorry your stay at the Kelvingrove was not as good as you had expected, please accept our apologies.
However we do feel that your remarks about "NO STAR" are inappropriate and unneccessary and quite hurtful as all our staff do an excellent job in looking after our hotels. All our establishments are regularly checked by professional hotel inspectors (Visit Scotland,RAC etc) and they are very satisfied with our grading. This is your personal opinion and not the opinion of the majority of guest's, inspectors etc.
Unfortunately there was a problem with boiler that morning and for a period of time there was no hot water, this was an unforeseen event which we could not have anticipated.
The room you were allocated was an upgrade from the twin you had booked and we upgraded you to a triple room at no extra cost. The booking you made was for Room Only and that is what you were charged for, the manager explained to you on check in that it was Room Only which meant no breakfast, if you had wished to add breakfast there would have been an extra charge (£8 per head)
We have tested several of the toilets by putting a new Bloo into them, and none of them have come back into the shower, we have been using these for quite some time and this is the first instance of this happening, so am at a loss to explain it.
With regard to the hote water, we have identified the problem and new boilers have been ordered and are being installed on the 29th May, we would normally offer any guest affected in this way a 10% reduction on their next stay, which they would claim at time of booking quoting reference HW9441. However as you quite clearly stated your intention of never staying with us again this will not apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Kelvingrove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived and got a room with an uncomfortable squeaky bed and tiny shower. One of us spilled a glass of water on the carpet and when cleaning it up, the towel we used was then absolutely covered in dirt (shows how clean the carpet was).. We were on a ground floor room next to the kitchen and at 7:30am on a Sunday morning we heard loud talking and banging coming from the kitchen/reception area. It felt like we had opted to stay in someones home rather than a nice hotel. To top it all off, there was no hot water in the room at all the next morning so we could not take a shower before going to our event. We asked for a discount/refund for the room after having not been able to take a shower (IN A HOTEL) and we were told that we would have to write a LETTER to the manager, rather than call or email, in order to get a refund. Unbelievable. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmasters93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at the Kelvingrove. This is the first complaint we have had about the bed in Rm3, Mr McQuade Snr (Chairman) has tested the bed himself, his approximate weight is around the 19 stone mark, he found no problems with the bed at all.
Our carpets are shampooed on a weekly basis, and Rm3 was done at the beginning of the week, however as the room had been in constant use all week, during what was some appalling weather and with people being in the room in outdoor footwear obviously the carpet will not stay pristine.
All our staff are aware that when the ground floor rooms are occupied then they do need to be quiet in the morning, obviously there will be some movement as breakfast is prepared, but they should keep their voices down at all times and make as little noise as possible. They have now been reminded of this for future reference.
With regard to the problem with the hot water, we have now identified a problem with the boilers and new boilers have been ordered and will be installed on the 29th May, normally we would offer any guest affected in this way a 10% reduction on their next stay, which they could claim at time of booking by quoting reference HW9441. However as it is obvious that you will not be staying with us again this will not apply.
You seem very dissatisfied with the response from our Manager regarding our complaints procedure, he was only following company policy. We have had the same procedure in place for the last 20 years, it was specifically set up this way to avoid complaints not being shown to Management. The address you were asked to write to is for the office of the Chairman of the Group, he opens all his mail personally to make sure he see all complaints, compliments etc. Had you written to him you would have received a reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We chose this hotel as it was a short distance from Yorkhill Children's Hospital where our wee boy was to undergo an operation. We were greeted by a really pleasant and helpful gentleman on reception who carried our bag and showed us to our room on arrival. We had a family room which was really spacious, saniflo system was quite noisy on using the shower and toilet. We never had breakfast as had to be in hospital for 7.30am, all in all great stay, lovely hotel and great staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here at the weekend as an anniversary treat, we were met with a refreshingly warm welcome, check in was efficient and then we were shown to our room. we had a room on the lower ground floor, which was bright and looked freshly decorated and above all was clean.

The free WiFi was a nice touch as most places we have stayed at make some kind of charge for this service.

Reception staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable of the local area pointing us in the direction of places to get a good meal which was helpful as we have not long moved to Glasgow.

Being in the west end of the city the hotel is very well located for some of the main attractions and is an ideal base for exploring the city.

We would stay here again and recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IronIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

good welcome excellent room and friendly service, good size bed and room.our room was quite cleaned and also had a little garden just outside of room's window .Hotel is in great location for historic buildings, transport links, shopping, restaurants etc. Breakfast was so tasty and served efficiently. we had a great stay in this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jassisingh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Great location ,clean and tidy and the breakfast was fab served with a smile , ideal for the S.E.C.C and only a few hundred yards into the city centre ,getting back late from our night out to chill in front of there 32inch plazma t.v .all in had a great stay .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed whilst visiting family for Easter and the hotel was a great choice. It was a great location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and had everything you needed, with a great Scottish breakfast in the morning. My gran had slight trouble with the stairs but staff always offers to help with bags etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpirr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
210 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
592 reviews
Albion Hotel
#49 of 93 in Glasgow
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
817 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#47 of 93 in Glasgow
306 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing