We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly!”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is probably its excellent staff! They were really nice and helped us with any difficulties. Our room was clean and cosy. The hotel is close to a beautiful park and you can reach the city centre from a near bus stop.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors probably have better view. If you are on lower floor, you see a wall and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlaraNem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    188
    89
    46
    19
See reviews for
96
178
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Quad room booked for one night, plenty of room, cosy and warm. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly, almost like staying with a friend!! Defiantely use this hotel again! Well worth the money and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliforrao8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Four girls in a quad room, on a xmas night out. Had a great overnight stay.
Staff are so friendly, guy on reception is a hoot, and nothing was a bother to him.
Good location for most areas, would return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19aquarius51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is ideal for staying at when going to SECC or Hydro, I stayed with my 8 yr old daughter as a birthday treat, the hotel went out of their way and surprised her with a birthday cake and card on arrival, she was delighted. The room was clean, cosy and the bed very comfy, We had room 12 and yes there was a bit of noise from the road but only to be expected. The breakfast was very good and I really enjoyed the atomosphere. The man on reception was very helpful and friendly, just tried to book for next June but sold out:-(

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad the birthday girl enjoyed her cake, hope we will see you again, sorry about next June, if you keep in touch there may be cancellations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Was slightly disappointed with the hotel. Old-fashioned, and the decor is not very attractive on the inside. The doors of the rooms make it feel more like a prison (big, grey, unattractive things). The staff were fine and pleasant, but it was just a bit of a letdown. Good location, but it dire need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are sorry you felt disappointed with your stay with us, as you moved around the hotel perhaps you noticed that the reception area and corridors had been refurbished, however the room you were allocated is one of 8 rooms still to be done, this has been an ongoing process since purchasing the hotel 3 years ago. The design for the hotel and colour schemes were commissioned from an award winning Scottish Interior Designer, the colour of the doors is actually called Mushroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our room was clean, spacious and well decorated. Staff were friendly and pleasant and breakfast was lovely. We were upgraded to a triple room free of charge which was a fantastic surprise. The pillows were really quite flat which was a shame but since we were given 3 each it wasn't a massive problem. Although breakfast was lovely, it would have been nice to still have access to the drinks while we were eating as the water/juice was removed from the room when we were still enjoying our food.

We had a lovely stay and will definitely be back,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleyBump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good value in my view, and that comes from a man whose home town motto in latin translates as "You didn't pay retail, did you?"
Make sure you get the cheaper rate for the full breakfast by booking on line from the hotel. Slept the sleep of the just downstairs and the room managed to avoid that bunker basement feel. Also enjoyed George and his backchat at breakfast. Kelvingrove Museum and the Hunterian a short walk away, and the Willow tea room approximately 25 minutes. Enjoyed Glasgow as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
913 reviews
Albion Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
251 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing