We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #65 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had an overnight stay at this hotel while visiting my daughter in the West End of Glasgow so good location for me. Concierge was welcoming and helpful. My room was in the basement but was bright enough. The corridor did smell of damp and I felt sheets, towels etc could have been cleaner. Comfortable enough but lacks the amenities of a larger chain hotel. No complaints about breakfast, got exactly what I asked for. Only paid £51 for the night so I suppose I got what I paid for!

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

With regard to your comments regarding the bed linen and towels, our laundry is done by one of the most established companies in the business, we have no problem with the cleanliness of the linen etc, if you had felt that it was not up to standard you would have been more than welcome to speak to the Duty Manager about it. We do not claim to provide anything other than bed and breakfast, we do provide free Wifi throughout the hotel and complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits. I am not sure what amenities you would have liked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for one night towards the end of the Commonwealth Games and was thoroughly surprised at actually being able to get a room the week before our stay. The price of the room was £119 for the night, however this was a triple room and we had booked late, the location however was fanastic as we needed to be near The Hydro and subsequent train station.

The hotel layout is a little confusing, as we had to go downstairs and then up a different set of stairs to get to our room, but this wasn't a great problem. Our room was a great size however located at the front of the hotel which did mean we experience quite a bit of street noise. The room was equipped with tea, coffee and a selection of biscuits, flat screen TV, and enough lighting and mirrors to keep even the most vain guest giddy with excitement. The ensuite was a little too white, particularly as the floor and fittings were slightly uneven, giving my friend an almost sea-sick feeling, however everything was spotlessly clean. The flush of the toilet was a little growly, which was initally alarming, however you soon get used to it.

Despite a few little quality issues, we had a lovely experience at this hotel and were welcomed warmly by the man front of house. He took keen interest in our stay and engaged in conversation about the Commonwealth Games and what we were interested in, which was a great element of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights towards the end of the Commonwealth Games. We had Room 16 which was downstairs at the front of the hotel. It slept 3 adults comfortably. As the Commonwealth Bowls was being held right by the hotel the road outside the hotel was closed except for very occasional Games vehicles so traffic noise was not an issue at all. It is convenient to get to from the airport. The 747 would normally stop right by the hotel and the bus stop for the return journey is directly opposite (traffic diversions meant a short walk for us). There are a large number of bars, cafes and restaurants within a short distance of the hotel and we walked to the city centre (25mins) although there are buses. The staff are very friendly and helpful, city maps were provided in reception. The cooked breakfast was plentiful. The beds were comfy, bathroom perfectly adequate. Previous comments were made about noisy water pipes etc. Our bathroom was indeed very noisy every time you flushed the toilet or used the sink or shower. However, we never heard noise from any other room. We were right below the breakfast room and heard a minimal amount of chair scraping noise, hardly enough to wake anyone up or be that disruptive. Otherwise the hotel was very quiet with a distinct lack of corridor noise and door banging associated with larger city centre chain hotels. We enjoyed our stay and found it to be an ideal location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JackieA649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights during the Commonwealth Games and felt hotel was good value in comparison to others. Room size was adequate and quiet as at rear of building our friends were not so lucky as their room was at the front and there was a lot of street noise. My only criticism is that the hotel was not as clean as it should be, the bathroom in particular needed a good scrub and one of the pillows was so lumpy and disgusting to touch that the only place for it was the floor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JCBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, however we are puzzled regarding the comments about your friends toom being at the front of the hotel and the street noise, the road outside the hotel was actually closed for the duration of the Games, the only traffic allowed was Games traffic and there was very little of that. We are in the middle of an upgrade programme for our bathrooms which has been suspended since the beginning of the Games, we are just too busy to complete it at the moment, however I can assure you the bathroom would have been clean, some of them are a little tired and this can make them look as if they need cleaned, the upgrade will continue as soon as things quieten down. We take note of your comments regarding the pillows and having checked them out we are replacing as necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Overall a pleasant stay at this hotel. Booked during the commonwealth games so it wasn't cheap and honestly, it wasn't worth what we paid, but it was a decent hotel. On a nice street in the West End with places to eat and drink closely. It's a 25 min walk to the city city and Glasgow Central Station.

The hotel itself could do with some tlc - it's trying to be modern but it's still a bit tatty around the edges especially the bathrooms. The bedroom was spacious and everything worked/was pretty clean but in terms of cleanliness there was room for improvement in the bathroom.

Very quiet overnight in terms of no outside noise or doors banging from guests.

Staff were very friendly and always happy to help if needed. I would return, I just wouldn't pay what we did as it was well over priced due to the commonwealths. I would happily pay half of what we paid which didn't even include breakfast, but you can see why prices were so high as the demand was!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here one night in July 2014, 2 adults and 2 kids. Big, bright, clean room at front of building. The man at the desk was very friendly and helpful, giving clear directions on maps and suggestions for avoiding parking in Edinburgh. We didn't discover until we were all in bed though that our toilet did not flush. By that time we did not want to get up and find someone to help us. We did mention it to the man in the morning. Parking was on the street but not hard to find and free because we left the hotel before 8 AM on a weekday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyra P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had the family room at the front of the hotel which is very spacious. Everything is clean and tidy

The receptionist/manager/cook/waiter should be given a gold medal of his own for being so friendly and cheerful.

The Hotel is next to the Museum and close to bus stops that take you into the centre of Glasgow (about 10 minutes by bus, 20 minute walk).

Room Tip: Room 1 large with Double and a single bed. It is at the front of the hotel and gets most of the sunl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Newbury_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#51 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
595 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
831 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
320 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £50 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing