We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel, excellent staff”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Dubai
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel, excellent staff”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Loved this small hotel - nice clean rooms with lovely flowers outside, hearty breakfast, convenient location (right next to the hop-on hop-off bus stop) and very friendly staff. We especially loved the overll white look of the rooms. There is ample paid parking just outside - but you can get discounted paking tickets from the reception. Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    188
    89
    46
    19
See reviews for
96
178
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

An excellent hotel- no faults really. Had a nice stay- nice clean rooms, good substantial breakfast, excellent transport links, great staff, fast internet- didn't want for anything.
I didn't take my car, so I'm not sure there's parking- didn't look like it.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamurudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

The hotel provides excellent service from the start till the end. The rooms given to us are very spacious and nice, with the windows looking out at a small garden. We were given rooms 6 and 9, which are more like a triple room, though we only paid and reserved for twin rooms. The rooms are very clean. Beds are comfortable. The location is more than 20 minutes walk to the city center. The breakfast is basic. There is a free computer and internet at the lobby for guests use.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We booked into at the Kelvingrove Hotel for two nights in July because of the excellent ratings received on this site and, unfortunately, I felt a little let down. I knew it was a little further out from the centre but thought that the rooms/ambience etc would make up for that. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was not that great - quite small and the decor was in need of updating/redoing. Plumbing was horrendously noisy - you wouldn't want to flush the toilet in the middle of the night! Being on a main road meant that having the window open was rather noisy and people were able to see into our room as they walked past.
Breakfast is served in a small room (half a dozen tables) which for a hotel with over 20 rooms is not ideal. On the second morning we and several other guests had to wait a little while for a table. I can't fault the service though - staff all very friendly and attentive over breakfast, although I did feel this might have had something to do with them wanting the table. Staff friendly on reception and if staying nearby after checking out (i.e. going to the Kelvingrove museum) we were allowed to go back to have a cup of tea/use the toilets prior to picking up luggage. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the city centre, although has excellent bus links into the city and out to the airport. All in all, I think the hotel is over-priced for what it is = £90 for a room of this standard is just too much when all is said and done. Expectations were just too high.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Excellent service and friendly staff. Good value for money. Excellent and substantial breakfast provided. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable friendly and relaxing accomodation close to glasgow city centre. (Room 16/23; 22/7/09)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The hotel is ok but expencive, we got there to be given a room with wet carpets! when i asked a member of staff about this she said it would be dry in an hour! not a chance gave me some rubish about hotel polocy to wash carpets monthly Ha more like a spillage occured!!! rooms are small though tidy, queing for breakfast as the room is tiny, breakfast was good, night porter great bloke who will help with any request. There has to be better hotels at £45 pp a night, felt let down by this hotel but its near the center and handy for a tour bus, stop only yards from the door.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weardalelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This is an unusual hotel in that most of the rooms are "below stairs". It is a small family run hotel with a well deserved reputation. The staff are brilliant and very helpful. The receptionist gave us many top tips on how to get the mostout of a short stay in Glasgow. Breakfast is excellent and the staff are very attentive, but not in an overpowering way. Nothing seems to be too much bother to them. The hotel is near the Kelvingrove museums, so good for a day there, but it is a fair walk on a hot day from teh centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_JGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
913 reviews
Albion Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
251 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing