We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant value and service”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Eastbourne, Sussex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellant value and service”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

A family run business, which gave 100+% service, very friendly, helpful, informative. made very welcome, home from home. included some additional services like Internet connection etc at no extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenReevves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    187
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
96
176
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We recently spent three nights at the Kelvingrove Hotel, chosen after reading the many reviews on Trip Advisor. Our room was spacious and clean; the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Sandy was a wealth of information as far as transportation and dining. Very easy to get to by bus and located within walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidihoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I was at the Kelvingrove by myself for 3nights and with my small tour group(8) for 1 night. It is a totally delightful place to stay. The staff welcome you as part of the family throughout your visit. The entire house is nicely appointed and exceedingly neat and clean. The included breakfast is served in a bright cheery dining room.
The hotel is well-located for sight-seeing in Glasgow.
I highly recommend it as a marvelous place to stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Overall we had a pleasant experience during our one night stay at the Kelvingrove. We had a car, and finding street parking outside the hotel was easy and convenient (we got a 2GBP parking pass from reception that covered us for the few hours of paid parking). The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly - I'd say the people are the hotel's best feature.

We had to go up and down a few flights of stairs to get to our room (just be aware of this if you have lots of luggage), and the room itself was quite small, but had high ceilings. The bathroom was tiny and the towels were a bit thin, and there was a VERY loud noise every time you turned on the water/flushed the toilet. Our room faced the street so traffic was a bit loud in the morning. The furniture in the room felt a bit cheap, but overall the room was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was nice - middle of the road compared to the rest of the breakfasts that we had on our trip in Scotland. There was a computer in the lobby where you could access the internet free of charge.

This is a good hotel with great staff and a family feel but the rooms themselves are fairly average.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snadersnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The hotel probably gets a higher than deserved rating because there's a note next to the computer in the lobby (free internet access) prompting you to write a Trip Advisor review. The gentleman behind the front desk at night is indeed unfriendly. The bathrooms vary in size--some are quite small--and the sound of water being pumped to faucets and toilets is noticeable. All that said, I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler seeking value. The majority of the staff is exceptionally--and genuinely--friendly and helpful, and the West End of Glasgow is probably the most charming area of town. There's bus service to the city center across the street and a taxi ride anywhere was never more than 5 GBP. Our stay at the Kelvingrove got our tour of Scotland off to fantastic start--so much so that we returned there at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljgeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed five nights at the Kelvingrove Hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The location was ideal as we were visiting our son who was a student at the University of Glasgow. The room was comfortable and breakfast enjoyable. I enjoyed the option of having breakfast in our room.

For me what made this hotel exceptional was the staff; namely the ladies (3 generations) who run the hotel. They were so kind and helpful and I especially enjoyed the young granddaughter. On my 4th day I broke my foot. They assisted in getting me to the hospital and then were so kind to ensure I was comfortable and cared for.

Wonderful stay, wonderful people.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelliattheboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, CA, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Usually if a hotel is average I often don't even write a review. There is nothing particularily wrong with this hotel, but since the only reason I booked it was its #1 rating on tripadvisor, I thought I'd better review it to bring in some balance!!! The only thing above average was the pleasant breakfast staff. Otherwise the lobby is small and plain, the room was small and not particularily charming, and the nighttime staff was not exceptionally friendly. It was also impossible to get wi-fi in the rooms on the bottom floor. Our room had very very noisy pipes so that anytime you used the water (sink, shower, tub, toilet), there was this loud groaning noise. Overall I'd say a very AVERAGE, unremarkable stay, other than the fact we kept asking each other how it could be rated #1 in all of Glasgow!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vashya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing