We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

I went to the Kelvingrove recently and stayed with my wife and two teenage children. The rooms that we had were fine, and given the type of hotel it was and the cost, were perfectly adequate. Our childrens' room was on the ground floor at the front, near the kitchen, and they though that was slightly noisy. We were in a double in the basement, which was very quiet. The breakfasts were good, and certainly as good, if not better, than many breakfasts that I have had in far more expensive big chain business type hotels.
The best thing about the hotel was the very welcoming staff and how attentive and friendly they were throughout our stay. The hotel is a reasonably priced b & b in a good location and I would certainly recommend it to anyone, as long as they are not expecting the lastest decor or very extensive amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bladesman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    186
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
95
175
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my wife. Staff very friendly, attentive and helpful.
Room on ground floor towards the back of the hotel was quite small but spotless. It was well maintained with fresh decor, no noise from outside or from other guests. Comfy bed and good bathroom (again spotless)
Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of items and all hot food being freshly cooked to order, staff very cheerful and courteous. Our stay was very relaxed and comfortable
All in all the sort of hotel you would be happy to come back to time and time again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Traveling with my 80-year-old mother and sister, we were very satisfied with our stay at the Kelvingrove. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, good breakfast, nice room with lots of extra amenities (actually almost self-catering, though we didn't expect that or use it!). The building maintenance was not quite what it could be, but all in all a pleasant place to stay in an excellent location!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank museum_dame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have just spent a wonderful two nights at the Kelvingrove! Fantastic, friendly staff - who were really prepared to go the extra mile. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TribalDancerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife and I were staying in glasgow for a concert at the SECC. This hotel is on Sauchiehall Street and is about 10-15 mins leisurely walk from SECC.
The Hotel is Very well situated and is a quiet, family run hotel set in a atreet near several other hotels.Reception was quick, friendly and very informal. Our room was below ground level but was still light. Very clean. well decorated and peaceful.
A good nights sleep in large comfy bed.
Excellent service at breakfast with a wide choice of food both hot and cold. Full breakfast is especially good.
Checkout was swift and painless.
All in all a very pleasant experience.
Will go back next time we stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

This was the first place (of 12) we stayed at during our 4 week visit to Scotland, staying from Sept 29 - Oct 2. We were increcibly impressed with its first appearance. It was very appealing from the outside with a nice sized entranceway. We were greeted promptly from the front desk from some of the nicest people ever! When we had originally booked, we had asked for a quiet room. We were led to room 19, which was in a very quiet part of the hotel; however, the room overlooked a common courtyard for buildings behind, and it was not appealing looking (nothing the hotel could do about it), and at night, when the University students in the building behind us got a liitle rowdy, it was very loud (again, nothing the hotel could control). These did not dissuade us from enjoying the establishment though. It was very nicely situated, close to many sights, and if not close enough, the bus system is close by (we were given step by step bus routes from Chris at the front desk). The room itself was what we expected - a good enough size for what we needed....a comfortable bed, a desk, a wardrobe, a chair, some end tables, and enough room to move about. The bathroom was sufficiently sized with small shower, a enough room for what we needed, with a towl warmer. The breakfast was a typical scottish breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatos, beans, potato scones, toast, and continental items - cereals, fruit, juice and coffee/tea), it was good, prompt. Night life was within walking distance....great pubs near by (try Ben Nevis - recommended by hotel staff member Sandy), and amazing restaurants very close by. What made us love this place wasn't its location or the comfortable bed, but the amazing customer service....truly top notch. Everyone was willing to jump through hoops to ensure that our stay was fantastic, and it was! Overall, we gave this hotel an 8.5/10.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KissJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We only stayed one night (16th Oct) but from arrival to departure we received the highest levels of service and nothing seemed any trouble for the staff. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, the bed was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious.
When booking we had requested a ground floor room as my husband has mobility problems and on arrival we were offered a choice of two rooms, a larger one at the front of the hotel and a smaller (room 2) at the back. We chose room 2. It was smaller but not uncomfortably so and the en-suite shower-room was spacious.
The Kelvingrove Hotel has clearly decided it will concentate on giving people attentive personal service, a comfortable nights sleep and an excellent breakfast. That is exactly what we, and I'm sure many people, want.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#58 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing