We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average guest house with a few problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
St Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average guest house with a few problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Scottish Exhibition Centre (SECC) - it is an easy fifteen minute walk. Good location generally - many restaurants in the area and Kelvingrove museum is a short walk away. 747 bus to the airport stops outside (this is a regular bus, not an express).

Check-in was fine and our luggage was carried to the room. They ask for full payment when you arrive, which may say something about how confident they are that you will complete your stay. Room was small - just space for double bed, single wardrobe and single chest of drawers. Tiny washbasin - the type you usually see in a cloakroom. TV only picked up BBC reliably. Free wi-fi didn't work in the bedroom but OK in Reception.

On the first night we were kept awake until midnight by people in another room talking and laughing, then woken up at 5.30am by guests leaving early. Neither group was really making excessive noise, just that the walls are thin.

Breakast is only served from 7-9am Monday to Friday (8-10 Sunday), so don't expect a lie in. Don't arrive much after 8.45 or you may be asked if you still want a hot breakfast. The breakfast room is small and a consequence of the short serving time is that it can get crowded at around 8.30am - you may be asked to share your breakfast table with other guests. On the plus side service was friendly and portions were generous.

Perhaps because the hotel was crowded there was often no hot water in the bathroom at around 8am (maybe we were at the end of the pipe). OK at other times though.

Good points: Location, proximity to SECC.
Bad points: Cold showers in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    186
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
95
175
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed here for 3 mights. It's conveniently in the West End, which is great for food and bars. The SECC is only 10min walk which was ideal since I was there for a conference.

The hotel was clean, service friendly and breakfast excellent. The double room was cozy and clean.

Unfortunately, my room suffered a plumbing failure with a leaky waste pipe on my final night. The staff did there best to make do and I was offered a partial refund.

It was a bad way to finish a stay that held promise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Make sure this is what you want. The price is reasonable, but the Kelvingrove Hotel
is not a hotel by US standards. To me it is an average Scottish country inn. It has no elevator, no lock box in the room, no chain or deadbolt on the room door, and inadequate internet service. Breakfast is included, but no yogurt, cheese, cold cuts, fresh fruit, or croissants. Eggs, pourrage, coffee, toast, and ham are available. But everything is overcooked. Carpet is old and creased and our room was a bit gloomy. However, the price is relatively low, the rooms are quiet, the bed is ok, and the location is great if you want to access Glasgow University or surrounds. Fifteen minute walk to subway, but bus stops in front. A great restaurant, The Sisters, is one block away. Front desk personnel are helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athensofga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

OK but not as good as its rating, which I can only assume is a result of their offering a monthly prize draw to people who write Tripadvisor reviews! Not the worst place I've stayed at - convenient for tourist sights, friendly staff and a reasonably furnished room. The breakfasts are below average, as was the TV in the room, the wash-handbasin would only drain very slowly and they have that awful Dove cream instead of soap.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Downhill-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Was disappointed with this hotel given the positive reviews I had read. Yes, the reception was pleasant and we had no problems with parking, but our room was in the basement, facing the road, and was pretty noisy even during the night. The room was very small but fresh and clean, as was the bathroom. However, the cistern made a terrible noise filling up, and seemed to do this at random at various points during the night, causing a disrupted sleep. Breakfast was good, promptly served by a pleasant waitress from Kent. Fine for one night, but wouldn't be rushing back. If this is rated 6th out of all the hotels in Glasgow, I can only wonder what therest are like.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We arrived in Glasgow on the train from Edinbugh and didn't want to take a cab for 5 pounds so took the "HOHO" bus with luggage from the train station. Exit train station, turn left, walk to end of block, look for the big red buses. We rode the tour until we spotted the Kelvingrove Museum and then rang the signal bell. If you don't ring the bell the driver won't stop. Short walk back to where we knew the hotel was from Google Maps. Dump off your luggage and then pick up the next HOHO bus when it comes around. Just make sure you don't miss the last bus from town to get back to the hotel. Very convenient.

Val and the gang were great but I understand about the talking and laughing early in the morning from the kitchen and behind the breakfast counter. I might suggest that if they had trays set up ahead of time with the cups, saucers, plates, utensils, etc., they could set a table in one trip rather than three frantic trips back and forth to the counter. It would save the staff time and energy and make the breakfast room more calm and peaceful. If there isn't space for anyone else in the small breakfast room they will set you up in the reception area lounge if there's room.

For an easy dinner there is a nice little local cafe/bar/with TV set to sports on corner two blocks to left as you walk out of hotel. Behind the iron fence down the stairs. They close around 9 I believe.

Catch the bus to the airport at the stand across the road. Very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwagk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed in Kelvingrove Hotel for two nights before walking the West Highland Way. Staff at the reception was very friendly and always helpful. Our room, located in the basement but having a full window towards the garden, was clean but a bit small and in need of a refurbishment. The tapestry looked a bit worn off here and there and the bedside lamps were shaky. There was no WiFi in the room, only in the reception and some of the rooms.

Breakfast was merely average and the breakfast room so small that I guess you would have to wait when it is busy.

For 45£ per night and person we have stayed in much better places.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing