We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not return” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would not return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

we me and my husband arrived we were shown our room, it was at the back so nice and quiet. room was very cold,and the reception said the heating is on. so they moved us to another room.well it was a little bit warmer not much.the bathroom you could not get to the toilet because the shower cubical was that big and the sink was very small.and it was all squashed in. the breakfast was the worst one i have ever had, it took 20mins to get ,no toast came until we had eated our breakfast, not one person in the dining room eat there breakfast, so its telling you something. there are only 2 ladies cooking ,reception, and everything else.so thats why things took so long.i used to go to this hotel years ago, but never ever again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    186
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
95
175
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

My bedroom was cold (colder than corridor outside room), radiator was luke warm (if on at all), duvet was quite thin so even in bed it felt cold. So, between feeling cold and traffic noise from busy main road outside, had a very bad night sleep.

Hotel has no public areas (no lounge or bar) apart from small reception area and breakfast room. Felt more like a B& B or guest house than a hotel. It looks better in websites than it actually is. Won't be going back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is a small bed and breakfast hotel which we chose because of its location and reasonable tariff. It is 10 minutes walk to the Kelvingrove museum and art gallery and 10 minutes by bus/taxi to the centre of Glasgow and there are good eateries in the vicinity. I stayed for 3 nights with my husband and adult son during a very cold spell. Our rooms although not spacious were warm and clean with comfortable beds and well equipped. We had a double room at the back which we chose because it was quieter. The downside was it was not very light. Our son had a larger room at the front which we were advised could be noisy at night but he had no problems. There was free wireless internet connection for our laptops in the reception area. The breakfasts were excellent. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is superb value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyst0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

This hotel is easily reached by bus 747 from the Airport. Just ask the driver to point it to you. Our driver was very helpful!
The location of the hotel is very good. Close to numerous restaurants and just a short drive from all the shops.
Our room was in the basement also but nicely decorated with tea/coffee facilities and some biscuits. The heating was on low but you can turn it up if you feel cold. We did not have any problems with hot water. The toilet made loud noises but as we did not use it at night it did not bother us.
Breakfast was tasty.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Scottish Exhibition Centre (SECC) - it is an easy fifteen minute walk. Good location generally - many restaurants in the area and Kelvingrove museum is a short walk away. 747 bus to the airport stops outside (this is a regular bus, not an express).

Check-in was fine and our luggage was carried to the room. They ask for full payment when you arrive, which may say something about how confident they are that you will complete your stay. Room was small - just space for double bed, single wardrobe and single chest of drawers. Tiny washbasin - the type you usually see in a cloakroom. TV only picked up BBC reliably. Free wi-fi didn't work in the bedroom but OK in Reception.

On the first night we were kept awake until midnight by people in another room talking and laughing, then woken up at 5.30am by guests leaving early. Neither group was really making excessive noise, just that the walls are thin.

Breakast is only served from 7-9am Monday to Friday (8-10 Sunday), so don't expect a lie in. Don't arrive much after 8.45 or you may be asked if you still want a hot breakfast. The breakfast room is small and a consequence of the short serving time is that it can get crowded at around 8.30am - you may be asked to share your breakfast table with other guests. On the plus side service was friendly and portions were generous.

Perhaps because the hotel was crowded there was often no hot water in the bathroom at around 8am (maybe we were at the end of the pipe). OK at other times though.

Good points: Location, proximity to SECC.
Bad points: Cold showers in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed here for 3 mights. It's conveniently in the West End, which is great for food and bars. The SECC is only 10min walk which was ideal since I was there for a conference.

The hotel was clean, service friendly and breakfast excellent. The double room was cozy and clean.

Unfortunately, my room suffered a plumbing failure with a leaky waste pipe on my final night. The staff did there best to make do and I was offered a partial refund.

It was a bad way to finish a stay that held promise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Make sure this is what you want. The price is reasonable, but the Kelvingrove Hotel
is not a hotel by US standards. To me it is an average Scottish country inn. It has no elevator, no lock box in the room, no chain or deadbolt on the room door, and inadequate internet service. Breakfast is included, but no yogurt, cheese, cold cuts, fresh fruit, or croissants. Eggs, pourrage, coffee, toast, and ham are available. But everything is overcooked. Carpet is old and creased and our room was a bit gloomy. However, the price is relatively low, the rooms are quiet, the bed is ok, and the location is great if you want to access Glasgow University or surrounds. Fifteen minute walk to subway, but bus stops in front. A great restaurant, The Sisters, is one block away. Front desk personnel are helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athensofga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Albion Hotel
#64 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing