We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It couldnt be better!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow
Cascais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It couldnt be better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Adorei.. A simpatia do dono foi realmente espectacular, e sem duvida alguma tenciono voltar. 'E um lar quentinho e muito acolhedor.. Perto do centro, it couldnt be better!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RodrigoSBBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    0
    1
    43
See reviews for
2
9
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Salzuflen, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

worst accommodation ever booked, very filthy, disgusting shower rooms, dirty linen, no staff around when needed. sorry, I wouldn't recommend it at all

Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ollip1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

As we registered trays of sherry and port came round with mince meat pies and shortbread ,a special welcoming touch for hogmonay ,The staff had arranged our new years eve dinner {we were 28} with a special discount and the spectacle of enjoying Newyear in Glasgow just got better an better.Glasgow is the only city in Scotland to have both a koreanchurch and restaurant and they and the staff of both the Glasgow backpackers and Rucksacks worked really hard to make our first visit to Scotland a great experience assisting us with tickets,boat trip to the kings of scotland former private island ;-Bute ,loch lomond and Edinburgh.:-such wonder so close to the big city,although we stayed in two other hostels around the highlands and Inverness this one bar the bunked dorms was more like a hotel in its facilities.thanks very much and good new year to korean church and glasgow backpackers.Also thanks for good group discounts everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whereishelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

My friend and me had to stay a night in Glasgow in September 08 on the way. We reserved via phone beds in the cheapest (12bed) dorm, but when we arrived at the appointed time (22 o'clock) the girl at the "reception" (which looked more than a dingy internet cafe) pointed out that there were only more expensive beds left. We refused paying more than appointed, and went through with it (the only good point about the night there), so we were guided through a grubby cellar maze and brought into a mixed eight bed dorm. Our bunk bed was standing in the wrong direction, with the ladder directly at the wall, so I could not use it for reaching my upper bed. There was an extra toilet at the end of the floor, with a non-lockable door, a vestibule with planks leaning at the wall, with a sink as wash-bowl and no working light. There was a door without door leaf to the twin toilet (two toilet bowls without separating wall), but here at least the light worked ...

Never seen such a hostel before. We were able to sleep, but I would not spend my money again for this if it would not be absolute necessary. Especially with the aspect that for the money we should originally have got a night in a 12 bed dorm. We were happy to leave early at the next morning ...

Okay was only the location; even by foot within reasonable reach of the stations we needed on both ways (Central and Buchanan Street). But do yourself a favour and look for another accommodation in Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlespecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the road
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

During my time traveling I have surely seen my fair share of dodgy dives; this one, however, tops the list. Staff appeared to be constantly drunk or stoned, which is admittedly understandable if you consider the surroundings. Sheets were stained, the mattresses infested with bed bugs, the carpets in the restrooms soiled, the kitchen sticky and highly odorous, the showers featured no tiles let alone locks (great if you're a single female traveler) and in the lower ground/ground floor rooms you could catch sight of rats at night. Round it all off with a perpetually intoxicated proprietor with a taste for shouting at his (possibly unpaid) "staff" and an average of two police visits per week - the perfect disaster.

There is no reason to pay £14 for this truly unforgettable "experience" when you can get a spotlessly clean room/bed at the EuroHostel in the center of town. (Unfortunately, I learned it too late.) In fact, the reason why the Globetrotters hasn't been shut down yet by health officials escapes me.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

On the last day of my 2 weeks holiday, which is 16 Sep 2009, i have checked in to this hostel by some reasons.

The door of the room was not able to lock and i need to use a chair to block it to prevent someone come in. No bed sheet and duvet were given to me, and i could find anyone there since 20:00 on that day, so end up i have to sleep on the bed without bed sheet and duvet (i was fall sick when i came back home). Both of us no dare to use the shower room even the water, it was so dirty, so we didn't even take shower or brush our teeth although we had been traveling for the whole day from Skye to Glasgow, it was because we're so scare will get infected by virus or something we don't know.

We checked out from the Hostel at early morning at 06:00 and go to the airport to wait and sleep there although our flight was at 11:00, it was because we don't really feel comfortable staying there, like u will get kill by someone anytime out of sudden.

Do not book or stay in this Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlsonHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I love this place, the staff were great, took my friends and me out to all the cheap drinking places in Glasgow, and they were only a 5min walk away. The bedding was clean and I thought the prices were reasonable, easily the best hostel I've stayed at in Glasgow!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussietripper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cairncross House
#84 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
City Centre
Glasgow Metro Youth Hostel
Glasgow Metro Youth Hostel
#28 of 49 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow

Property: Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow
Address: 56 Berkeley Street | Charing Cross, Glasgow G3 7DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular, excellently located and highly recommended budget accommodation local, with great links, information and facilities. We aim to be the place we would like to book into on our travels. These 3 historical Georgian townhouses give luxury on a budget an entirely new meaning. Wi-fi friendly as well as human sized we do have a certain "je ne sais quoi." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing