We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasgow Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hostel is clean, quiet and the staff is decently friendly and helpful. They have a big kitchen and eating area with cooking and eating utensils which is nice.

Everyone sort of does their own thing...this isn't really a community oriented hostel. The toilet/sink area is separate from the shower which is good. We had a six bed room and the bathroom was inside the suite so that was nice. The walk is not too far from the main streets of Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    69
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
14
23
66
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The staff, specially tthe manager does not care for your comgort. They let a group of 15 teenagers and 3 or 4 aniimators hold a meeting in the dining room during dinner.
The member of the staff even contributed to the disturbance by asking the kid's name.
Ther was no room in the kitachen, no sponges, no rest. The service lacked of professionalism, no soap for the laundry, you cold see the look in the receptionist's eye (bored) when a customer seemed too long before me. When I complain to the manager about the dining room, he told me off. All this with a smile and kindness. This, is the onky bad thing about Glasgow. I will never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Here's a place you can get to know others coming over to visit the city of Glasgow. The place is very central, close to the University of Glasgow and also the city centre. With respect to the rooms, they are small and this is a shared accomodation, so not much can be expected from it. But they are clean and the staff is frendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AneeshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannescot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked a double room for a Friday night and we were very impressed with our room - it was on the top floor of the hostel and it had it's own bathroom and shower area. We also had a great view over Kelvingrove Park and the Clyde. The room was clean, secure and when we experienced difficulties with noise during the night, staff came up quickly and sorted it out.
The hostel was in a good location for Byres Road and we loved discovering Ashton Lane off Byres Road - a little surprise in the middle of Glasgow! The sightseeing bus for Glasgow stops on Byres Road so the yha is in a good location for getting to a stop easily if you fancy doing the tour.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeretBear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Very nice hostel!
Not expensive, clean, and calm, and good staff.
A bit far from the center, but a cab will only cost you 4p so do not hesitate.
Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angyquerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I paid for a single room with ensuite bathroom - which I think should include towels and possibly toiletries. For the price I paid for the room I was very disappointed that I had to pay extra for towels, toiletries and the breakfast. The room I stayed in smelt of smoke and was little more than a cell.The breakfast was overpriced and inadequate. I paid £4.95 for a tiny stale croissant even though they advertised more choice..Very noisy rooms and very basic beds.The staff were obviously not trained in talking to people or explaining anything clearly to the guests about the hostel. Next time I visit Glasgow I will be staying at the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Close to Glasgow's vibrating West End, on the top of a wee hill. Hard to climb up with the luggage, but worth it! Can recommend the breakfast (u have to pay for it).

Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MeikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
915 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
290 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#21 of 49 in Glasgow
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Property: Glasgow Youth Hostel
Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing