We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glasgow Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My sister and I spent 6 weeks travelling in England and Scotland and this was by far our favorite, most comfortable stay. It's in a beautiful location right on the park (so it's super quiet) and close to the museum, a yoga studio, and some great restaurants (definitely walk down to Stravaigin on Gibson if you want one of the most delicious meals of your life) and coffee shops. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is delicious and generous with a very clean kitchen, should you choose to take advantage of either. The lounge is large and comfortable. The wi-fi is great (but maybe use your own device if you can as their computers freeze here and there). It's a bit of a maze but a lovely place to get lost. We were able to upgrade to a private twin room ensuite for excellent value. It was the comfiest bed I've ever slept in and the room was tidied everyday when we went out. Would highly recommend and definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent place to go if you are on a tight budget. This was my second stay at the hostel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The place is very conveniently located around some of the pubs that I like and you can walk to the University. The staff as always was friendly and eager to help. Surely worth every penny spent there.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room where you are not sharing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AneeshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting Glasgow for a concert. I thought it great value. I had a single room (although it had 2 beds) with an en suite. The decor of the room was a little dated but for the price it is amazing value. I feared the mattress may have seen its best but it was actually fine to sleep on and my back normally suffers on a bad bed. Not the case here. There was a little noise with people coming and going at night as it was a Saturday but it was not a big problem. Two major pluses are the staff who were incredibly helpful and friendly, and the location in a big old house in a beautiful part of Glasgow. I was able to walk easily from central station, although it was a fair stroll it was easy to follow and took me only 30 minutes really. I wanted somewhere cheap, convenient and a good nights sleep and that is what I got. The extra friendly staff and great location were an unexpected bonus.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I put 15 Japanese students in here in November 2013. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The location is right on Kelvingrove Park, a quiet location perfect for accessing both the West End and the city centre. Staff were kind and helpful. The place was clean and well-maintained. We spent three trouble-free nights and have no complaints.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great location overlooking the park in a lovely big rambling building a 15 minute walk from the town centre and a cheap taxi ride from the station. Super friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in a women's dorm and then a private twin and both were great, with en suite bathroom. Private is worth the extra cost if you are travelling with a friend.

One drawback was that it got hot in the rooms and as the windows only open a few inches, there was little that could be done to let the night air in. This would only be a problem in hot weather. Also, no lifts, so be prepared to carry suitcases up the stairs.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The twin private rooms are exceptionally nice for a hostel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWBBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Not for anyone who is infit or has a disability with stairs. Rooms are on 3 different levels and no lift. The kitchen is downstairs in a basement with very bad ventilation & hardly any bench space for preparing food if more than 2 people in kitchen, also a fire trap. Our private room stunk so bad, the beds are old and uncomfortable, its not so cheap. If you're on the 1st or 2nd floor you have a long climb up and down the stairs just to make a cuppa. Forget it if you're on the 3 rd floor. The reviews here are misleading. The only good thing i can say about this hostel is the staff, who couldnt be more helpfull, they were great. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere clean!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bindee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A comfortable hostel & secure storage for my bike. The staff were helpful & friendly and the building itself is grand and opulent. The dorm I was in wasn't overcrowded like some of the Independent hostels I've stayed in, it also had an en-suite shower and toilet. The cooked breakfast was excellent and substantial but slightly overpriced. The hostel is in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
816 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
775 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range: £22 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing