We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in April 2014. The hostel is in a lovely old building right on the edge of Kelvingrove Park with great views across the park and the city. (It was especially good because it was warm and sunny when I stayed). The staff and the other guests were very helpful and friendly. There is plenty to see and do within a few minutes’ walk of the hostel. It’s also easy to walk right into the centre of town, although I did take a taxi to come back at night because I wasn’t totally happy to walk back alone.
The thing I liked least was that the toilets and showers were en-suite. I’m sure this sounds good to some people, but it doesn’t work well in a hostel setting with shared rooms. I was the first to wake of six so obviously I didn’t want to disturb them all by having a shower in the room. I had to search the hostel until I found the shower for disabled people 3 floors down. It was good shower though!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Alice M

thanks so much for your great feedback, we really appreciate it. We think Glasgow Youth Hostel is a magnificent building also and the views and location are one of the best in Glasgow.

All the bedrooms at Glasgow Youth Hostel are ensuite and we are just about completed in upgrading 80% of the shower rooms to make them even better.

I totally understand your comments in regards to sharing in a dorm and not wanting to wake other guests. We are trying hard to please everyone and when we have done a refurbishment at other sites such as Lochranza on Arran and at Oban Youth Hostels we did also put a communal shower on a floor alongside the en-suites. So we are listening to our guests and when we can, funds allowing we do.

Glasgow Youth Hostel does have many private rooms so maybe next time you can try one of these.

Thanks again so much for your review, we really do appreciate it.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed for one night in a dorm and was very happy with how clean and tidy the place was. The building itself has a good 'feel' to it, the lounge is large and comfy, and on the whole it's a nice place to be. It's a short walk to the city, but its location gives it some fantastic views.

As youth hostels and budget travels go, it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the Glasgow Youth Hostel for 2 nights in January and really enjoyed our stay. We were after somewhere a bit cheaper than your average bed and breakfast. We booked a double room with en-suite it ended up being about half the price of a bed and breakfast.
We arrived before our room was ready so we have 2 hours or so to waste. We decided to walk down to the Kelvingrove Museum, which is at the bottom of the park the hostel overlooks. The park is really nice, great for walking or running around, which we did a few times. The museum is one of my all time favourites and is both a museum and art gallery, and a great place to learn about Scottish history as well as lots more.
Our room at the hostel was nothing fancy, however the bedroom was fairly big, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and functional. We were on the second floor so the stairs were a struggle with our luggage, but it was good exercise.
The staff were always friendly and helpful, and there was also heaps of information at reception- city guides and maps etc. The hostel offered cooked meals throughout the day which seemed well priced and there was also a kitchen available which we used for breakfast.
One negative was that they didn't have free wifi.
The location is one of the main reasons I recommend this hostel, other than being close to Kelvingrove Museum it is also close to the University, the 'west end' and a short walk into the city center (although I recommend catching a taxi or bus to the hostel when first arriving).
If you're on a budget and want a nice place to stay then this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Oz_Traveller-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A surprisingly pleasant week in this nice area of Glasgow. Cheap parking, comfortable large double room and pleasant staff.
I'm not fond of budget hotels but on a budget this place gave good service.
My only negatives were the ridiculous charges for internet usage - WiFi really should be as much as the service as a bed and shower these days.


All in all the place gave us a warm dry place to stay for a week with pleasant staff.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ianread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I booked a room at the Glasgow Youth Hostel last minute as we were coming through to Glasgow for Hogmanay, we were not looking for anything special just somewhere to lay our head and as the reviews on here were good I decided to go ahead and book.

The hostel is about a 20minute walk from Charing Cross Station and is in a nice area. The hostel is basic inside with a reception area, communal lounge and a self catering kitchen. We got our key cards and made our way up to our room, unfortunately it took three attempts to open the room door, my partner sure burned a few calories running up and down the stairs until someone came up to help.

The room itself was very basic but I wasn't expecting anything else. The interior of the room is very worn and dated, there are random pictures placed in strange places but I think this is just to cover up holes in the walls or chipped paint. A lick of paint would do it wonders.The shower room and the bathroom were both clean, as was the bedroom however we found a wasp on the window cill that insinuates that the room hadn't been given a thorough clean in quite a few months considering it was the end of December and the last time I saw one was August! The beds and the pillows were very comfortable so I was looking forward to a good nights sleep after arriving back at the hostel later that night.

Unfortunately I got the worst sleep possible, I was woken from 4.30 right through till check out. The walls are paper thin so you can here everyone coming up the stairs and anyone having a normal conversation in the room next door sounds like they are in the same room. There was a constant drip coming from the shower room that didn't help either. If I had managed to get a decent sleep I would have gave 3* however it seemed impossible with the noise. If you are having a night out in town and just want somewhere to sleep for a reasonable price then I would say stay here, I may return in future if need be.

I'll just make sure I have a good drink in me so I can sleep straight through till morning x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xscottish-galx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hostel was better then I thought it would be. Beautiful property located in a quiet suburb next to a lovely park. However as a solo female I found it quite eerie at night coming from the city centre. Close to supermarket and about 20/25 minute walk from main bus station

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel isn't central, it is about a 20 - 30 minute walk to central Glasgow. The suburb its in is lovely though with a great big park outside and the views at night are great.

I normally enjoy a hostel vibe but this was drab. The place is clean enough but the rooms are extremely hot. Waking up in the middle of winter sweating hot... which is saying something from an Australian. Also the toilets and showers in the rooms were unpleasant to say the least.

Staff weren't rude but weren't overly helpful either. Wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sairrjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
828 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
826 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#26 of 51 in Glasgow
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range: £18 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing