We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Cafe

Courtyard Cafe
Ranked #643 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with great, friendly service! Lentil soup home cooked and delicious as was the raspberry coconut sponge cake and the raspberry lemonade. Nice coffee too! Love this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clachan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Cream tea was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited in April 2014 with friends. We all ordered cream teas. The tea itself was good, however the scones, jam and cream were disappointing. The cream, served in a small ramekin, was obviously squirty cream from a can (it's normal to serve clotted cream). There was only one scone per person, which was under risen and over baked, and therefore rock hard with charred sultanas and flat as a pancake. I also (greedily) had a slice of chocolate cake which was delicious. The service was friendly and good, and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Arrogant and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Visited for a coffee and a tea. Were told to close to closing time. Then told a tea would be OK but it would have to be "to go". I agree the drive is very pleasant and the food may be ok, but I didn't drive to Fintry to be told to take a cup of tea in the car with me. I do not recommend this establishment. It is not disabled friendly. If you enjoy farmyard and manure smells with your food and unpleasant and unwelcoming staff then this is the place for you. I never accept that someone is having a bad day if they are this is not the business for them. Do not waste your time trying this place I am sure there are much better places locally although we didn't find one this time and decided to just go home. Unfortunately I had to give this café 1 star as in my opinion for ignorance and arrogance it should be minus 5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent cafe in stunning surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We visit regularly and the standard of food and service is always very high. There is a lovely, relaxed ambience. The staff are extremely pleasant and efficient. Food freshly prepared, homemade and delicious. The drive to Knockraich farm is beautiful with stunning views of the Fintry hills from the farm. Well worth a visit. I must urge you to take home some Katie Rogers home made yoghurt. It's natural and delicious with a fresh fruit compote, entirely different from the mass produced, synthetic tasting yuk you buy in the supermarkets. This stuff is exceptional, my favourites are gooseberry and (absolute fave) rhubarb. Try some and you'll be hooked.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb location, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We come here regularly and are never disappointed with the quality and value of the food served. Home-made soups, pate, cakes and ice cream are brilliant. The café is part of a working farm where the family are fully involved in the farm and café and make their own award-winning ice cream on the farm too. The farm is at the base of the Campsie Fells and the scenery on the journey can be spectacular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyMBamburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Barrhead, East Renfrewshire
 
Clarkston, East Renfrewshire
 

Been to Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing