We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

very clean - a bit on the compact side but big enough for the 2 of us, bed was comfy and although we didnt make the breakfast it smelled amazing, it was good that the room had sky hd with full sports and movies and there wasnt alot of noise from the station below at all. would deff use again and we had no problems getting back in after our night out. :)

Room Tip: we were put in room 604 that was right across from the kitchen so was quite noisy with people going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

The smell of the fresh soda bread was like perfume when you entered the dining room for breakfast. On meeting the staff for the first time from the manager down you felt that you
knew them for the last twenty years. The food quality was good and sourced locally. They
went out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMF1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night wish it was more ,First impression was the very freindly staff could not have been more helpfull,Room was spotless and very bright,Power shower was awesome some nice touches in the room,Breakfast in the morning with staff again catering to our every need and food was freshly cooked also a great choice to eat,Will def stay here again night time we are out and about in Glasgow,,Thanks Guys,G&S Williams..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here in December, got this for only £45 through a voucher website. Was annoyed at first as was supposed to be a reduction from £95 to £45 but according to hotel website our room was only £75 per night, anyway not the hotels fault. The room was very small but nice decor, spotlessly clean and had everything you need. Read on the hotel website that your supposed to get treats in the room, we didnt get anything unless you count a bottle of sparkling water! Breakfast was very tasty, although the tables are so close together my husband could hardly breathe or eat as his chair was so close to the table! Any staff we saw were all lovely and helpful, and the location couldnt be bettered.
We did have a good stay, just a few small points that the hotel should look into to make it perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed on business and was booked here through my work. I was quite surprised at the address because I knew the office block as a suite of offices above Glasgow Central station. What a surprise; a friendly welcome by each member of staff, an enjoyable and intimate meal in the evening in the central restaurant (The Kitchen) and a lovely breakfast there as well. Complimentary decent speed wifi was a bonus, and full Sky Movies and Sports would have been great if I had have had time to use room to it's full potential.
I found the hotel quiet even though it's above a railway staton. Unlike other hotels I've stayed at around this area, I didn't hear any of the normal overnight party animals as they lurched around the station area.
Possibly it should be a boutique hotel, but certainly I will suggest that you should try this hotel when you visit Glasgow. And Glasgow visit you must. I had to work, but I must go back in my own time.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower numbered room which is away from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel has so much going for it! The location, right above Glasgow central station (on floor 6) is excellent for a city break. The rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely decorated in a modern minimalist style. Breakfast was great with lovely wholemeal bakery bread. BUT... and it's a big BUT ....it is VERY noisy at night. We stayed on a Saturday night and the noise of traffic and drunken revellers from the street below was appalling and went on into the early hours. This was despite requesting a quiet room - you need to be specific and ask for one overlooking the station rather than the street. The main problem was that the room was uncomfortably hot despite the cold weather and we had to sleep with the window open. There were 2 huge radiators, one of which was impossible to turn down, and massive heating pipes running through the room. Sadly, I wouldn't stay there again, despite getting a really cheap deal....

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the station not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TiaMaria01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

In many ways this was a generous review and we thank you for that. We accept that your stay was affected by the heat of your room and in turn by having to have the window open which made the street noise an issue.

We have now resolved the heating problem in the room you referred to. Any street noise with the windows closed is minimal.

I note you say you would not stay again but I'd appreciate it if you called me to discuss the points you raise and I can convince you otherwise!

Sean McGivern
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Never made a trip advisor review but felt I had to in this instance.
Stayed 5 nights, couldn’t better the location, very satisfied.
Hotel staff fantastic and met the owner who works mid week himself!!
Impeccably clean, modern, comfortable, 100% Egyptian cotton bedding and the philosophy of “Home from Home” couldn’t be any truer.
Will be booking every time I return to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Paul,

many thanks for your kind comments. "home from home" is the exact ambience we are striving for. We hope to see you again soon!

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,319 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
872 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,070 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing