We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveller rating
862
323
64
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
323
64
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesunion streetcup cakesglass rooffresh milkcentral stationground coffeecaledonian chambersoffice buildingceiling fanhome made ice creamsky boxarran aromaticssitting roomstation rooflittle touchestop floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,077 - 1,082 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Caledonian Chambers at Glasgow Central Station has the facade of an oyster - a bit gnarled and with what might seem an unappetising ground floor entrance/lobby. But rise up to the 6th floor and you will find a pearl of a place. Grasshoppers Hotel is stylish, beautifully appointed, and wonderful value for money. The staff care about you. They want to help make your stay a memorable one - where attention to detail is the norm. You'd like a cafetiere of fresh coffee in your room, with fresh milk? No problem, and free of charge. You'd like a guided tour of the superlative artworks lining the walls? Their pleasure. You'd lke top quality bedding and towels? All standard. The food - both dinner and breakfast.- is delicious and marvellously uncomplicated. No overblown sauces or pretentious claims - these are good quality ingredients sensitively prepared and delivered.
The only thing wrong with our stay was that we were there for just one night.
Thank you, Grasshoppers. We'll be back!
Marion Hill
Milton Keynes

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights to attend a course. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The homely touches were lovely. Flasks of milk, cakes: all free of charge. The hotel is new, trendy and very clean. It is bang in the centre of everything, and 2 minutes from the train station, but despite this was very quiet. The breakfasts were delicious. Ask for the porridge. Made especially to order with cream, honey, berries etc. Gorgeous. And the homecooked evening meal was delicious. We had Salmon en Croute. None of your frozen rubbish! The cooks were so nice, and came out and had a good craic with us. And only £10 for 2 courses. We were very impressed, and are looking forward to our next visit to renew acquaintance with this gem of a hotel.
Bernie & Sharon, Workington

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We needed quick access to the train station the next morning, and Grasshoppers was the perfect choice. Sean at reception welcomed us with sincere kindness and friendliness when we arrived (the hotel was just a short walk from the airport bus), and showed us to our tidy ship-shape room. Space is cleverly used to maximize every inch, so though not a large room, it was functional and ideal for our needs. We appreciated the stylish minimalist decor and the original artwork lining the corridors. Comfy bed, fluffy towels, in-room kettle, a great shower, Sky TV, free wifi, and the generous self-serve breakfast all added up to a delightful one-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The 5 star rating is not to imply that this is the equivalent of Glasgow's luxury hotels such as One Devonshire Gardens or Blythswood Square but to recognise the value for money offered. It's on the 6th floor of the Glasgow Central Railway Station building so very convenient for train travellers. Like most station locations the surrounding area is not great for bars and restaurants but there's plenty of excellent choices in the West End, 5 minutes away by taxi

What you won't get: Doorman, huge foyer, spa, gym, bar, restaurant

What you will get: Warm friendly welcome, excellent service, beautifully cooked breakfast (better than the Hilton), spotless bedrooms, cotton bedding/duvets, good bathroom/ shower

Our bill for 2 nights was £210 so we probably saved £50-100 on the 4 and 5 star alternatives in Glasgow-money which was spent in the above mentioned bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speriamo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hidden on the 6th floor of the building this hotel is really a place to be at . Excellent location (even if you are close to Central Station there is no noize) Comfortable rooms with all facilities, coffee tea and mineral water to welcome you in the room.
If you get to have dinner in the "Kitchen" you will appreciate very nice home made food with fresh products.
The staff is brilliant and very helpfull . We had to leave very early in the morning and got a nice breakfast prepared for me.
We will go back and send friends

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews