We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, location, room, staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Grasshoppers is just outside the Union St entrance to Glasgow Central (train) Station. It occupies the 6th floor of an office building. The decor is contemporary, the rooms have high ceilings. Beds are great and the bath has a nice size shower. Price is reasonable, staff friendly and helpful. We even had a great dinner one night (well-priced and delicious) and breakfast has lots of variety and is also good.
If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back of the hotel; the front rooms can get some noise from the punters at a club down the street. Suggestions for the hotel: luggage racks and hair dryers in the rooms; and some way to cool down the breakfast/dinner area.
We, overall, thought is was great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaphsDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
There are newer reviews for Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

987 - 993 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

We recently spent a night at this beautiful, stylish hotel and were very impressed! We didn't check in until 10.30pm after a flight from Nice, but were given a very warm welcome by the manager and staff member. they brought us a thermos of fresh milk for our tea, and even brought us cakes.
The room itself was a good size, the style is lovely, and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom.
after a great night's sleep (very quiet) we tried out the breakfast and again were suitably impressed. The manager's wife and the staff member on duty showed guests where everything was, and made us feel really at home. food was lovely too.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and it was a delightful stay.
A real hidden gem of a hotel, value for money and we look forward to staying there many more times.

Room Tip: our room was at the back of the hotel and although once or twice we heard the station below, it was...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent four nights at Grasshoppers recently and loved every minute. So convenient for Central Station and a very warm welcome awaiting. After an excellent night's sleep, a wonderful breakfast awaits - great fresh bread. The evening meal we had was superb - real home cooking and lots of it! Although the hotel is right in the centre of the city - our room - overlooking the station roof was very quiet. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A friendly, peaceful and stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow, so near all the fabulous things that city has to offer. The hospitality of all the staff is genuine and impressive. Good mixture of customers: business people, couples and families and the kitchen arrangement allows you to strike up conversations with other guests if you want to or just to feel part of a comfortable atmosphere. Grasshoppers Hotel gets the balance just right between a cosy B and B experience and a chic city centre hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank JazzTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Grasshoppers in the heart of Glasgow manages to combine sleek design (think Grohe showers, MissPrint designer wallpaper) with genuine warmth and lovely wee touches (Arran Aromatics toiletries, fluffy towels, cafetieres in the room). There are none of those very disappointing UHT milk pots on the tea tray! Instead, shortly after our arrival we were brought fresh milk in a flask and a tray of cakes - a tube of Smarties had already been left for my daughter (polished off later while snuggled in the very comfy beds, watching Sky Movies!). We ate twice in The Kitchen, the dining area adjacent to the actual kitchen from where Margo emerges with a huge smile and deliciously home-cooked meals - the fish pie was 'soul food' at its best (vegetarian options available too!). Breakfast is served here, lovely fresh bread with an excellent choice and really good coffee. Sean and his team at Grasshoppers are attentive to the needs of their guests - we met a French couple who had stayed before and an English lady who planned to book again. We, too, look forward to returning to Grasshoppers - a unique yet surprisingly affordable boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This b and b is perfectly located adjacent to glasgow station but there was no noise from the trains. The rooms are modern and clean - not huge but average size for a city centre location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely using good quality ingredients, especially the fantastic fresh bread. Wasn't able to have dinner but what i saw of other guests' meals looked good. There are a few nice, simple touches that make a big difference when you are away on business. A tube of smarties in the room, proper ground coffee and, my favourite, fresh milk (not the awful stuff in pots) and mugs! Bed and pillows very comfortable.
In summary, a great little hotel in the most convenient city centre location. Perfect for a city break or weary business traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

If I was only rating the hotel staff, the Grasshoppers would get 5 stars. They were welcoming and helpful.

The room size and lack amenities are the reason for the average rating. There are no closets as there isn't sufficient space. There is no place for more than two pieces of luggage. The bed is a double but seemed a bit small. If you are small and are travelling light, this is a fine place to stay, especially if you are a fan of Ikea type of furnishings.

The place was clean and quiet and the breakfast was fine (get there early). I did like the shower.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank woodylimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,329 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,200 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing