We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great City Centre Hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Had a one night stay at Grasshoppers in December 2012. Arrived late afternoon, check in was swift and then we were shown to our room where we received fresh coffee and mince pies. Room was very nice and clean, had tv with all channels, movies, sport etc...although we didnt have time to watch tv.. Our one night stay was rather rushed as we were xmas shopping then heading out for a meal and few drinks, wish I had had more time to relax in this lovely hotel. Its position is ideal for eating out/shopping etc. In the morning we had breakfast and it was really wonderful. Freshly cooked bacon, sausage, egg etc, plus cereals, toast, yoghurts etc. Will certainly stay again when in Glasgow I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Central Station are very nice, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank throughthegrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    304
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
137
521
93
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent ,uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed here in November for work and chose it for its location to where i was working and with that i had little expectations due to where it is situated which is next to Central station , but oh was i wrong.This hotel on the 6th floor of an office block is like a secret hideaway.You acknowlege the surly guard at the base of the lifts who asks you what do you want and when you reply that you are staying at the hotel he suddenly is all smiles and points to the lifts .Once inside the lift (with staff from all the other offices) you think you are in the wrong place and then the lift door opens and bing! you are transported to a chic little hotel all on one floor.
After checking in you are asked if you would like some freshly ground coffee for your stay so you can have it whenever you like,its little touches like that which make a hotel seem more like a stay in a friends house.All the other reviews have spoken about the decor , the modern fittings and the food which is of course superb! But i liked the fact that the staff believe in their hotel and want to share their experience with you.All the rooms have one wall decorated with vintage wallpaper and after so many enquiries from visitors about sourcing said wallpaper they have even produced a sample book so you can buy .
This hotel ticks all the right boxes for me but it will not be everyones cup of tea, and yes i did stay in the room near reception and overlooking the canopy but alas i did not hear any noise from either so i found the room perfect.
Next time i am staying with my wife when we visit in the new year so i will report back and let you know how it is from a couples perspective.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saint1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Previous reviewers wax lyrical about this hotel and whilst it has some good points I can't really understand this mass enthusiasm. We only stayed here for one night and the room allocated to us was tiny, stained with water damage and seemed to be for the use of the disabled, although I can't imagine how anyone with a wheelchair could negotiate the very limited space. The ensuite bathroom had a wet room type shower which was good but the toilet and sink were so close together that going to the loo meant sitting sideways! Very odd.

The staff have been much praised in this hotel and with some justification. They are very friendly and helpful. We were "guided in" by the receptionist by phone as we couldn't find the place due to the scaffolding in front of the building and at breakfast and checkout everyone was lovely.

Breakfast was selfservice and had all the usual stuff which was very nice although, I didn't have the cooked breakfast, my husband did and he rated it highly.

This hotel gets lots of things right (but the room did feel a bit like a Swedish prison cell) but its billing as something quite luxurious is way off beam. It is functional and friendly. Which for one night was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank figlet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed here for one night, in order to attend a wedding. Upon arriving the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room I had been allocated was very nice, with a large comfortable bed, nice decoration, and an interesting view of the canopy of Glasgow Central Station. There were only two negative aspects to my stay, both concerning noise: when I returned to the hotel, I realised that the nice view of Central Station was a bit of a curse, since the noise of announcements and trains travelled straight through the roof of the station, and the bedroom window. The comfortable bed helped me sleep through that, but the banging noises the next morning (coming from the communal room next door, I think) were impossible to sleep through and, even if they had been, the noises coming from the reception area were loud and impossible to ignore.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Union Street (to avoid noise from Central Station), and as far from recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at Grasshoppers twice in the last month and cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms are modern and funky with comfortable bed, feather pillows and crisp linen. High spec shower room, desk, tv and skybox etc.....everything you need basically. The real creme de la creme lies in the kitchen though. Never have I been so welcomed and nurtured by hotel staff! The wonderful cook makes home made meals, bringing them out to guests, checking they have everything they need. The food was cooked to perfection and served with a glass of wine. Priceless service.....the breakfast buffet was shades above any buffet I've had before. Scrambled eggs cooked as they should be, with sausage, bacon and tomato, fresh juices, cereal and yogurt. Go. You won't regret it.....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I have been a guest at this hotel 3 times.On each occasion I have found the hotel one of the friendliest I have ever stayed in.
The decor is contemporary and very clean.
The beds are so comfortable and the facilities are good.
The food is excellant with a good choice for breakfast.
I have been made to feel like one of the family and met people from all over the world here.I have just returned and can,t wait until my next trip to Glasgow to return to GrassHoppers hotel.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff....excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. it is very central - right next to the busy shopping area and station. It was beautifully decorated with a seriously comfortable bed and lovely artwork everywhere. In an old building with huge windows and character. Breakfast was healthy and wholesome with lovely bread and a cooked breakfast option. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: we stayed on the station side - there was no train or station noise but apparently the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fratersmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
722 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,135 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing