We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly homely atmosphere. Great staff and location :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I'd picked Grasshoppers after reading good reviews on here and decided it was great for a couple of days break and something different to do during my holidays other than sitting at home!
It was really easy to find (do google maps if your not too sure like I did!) and once in the hotel I was made to feel very welcome and the staff were very helpful and genuine. I had booked a single room but once I got there I had been moved into a double room for the same price which was a nice surprise! I was shown around where breakfast and dinners would be and into my room. The room was lovely, very cosy & homely with great decor.
For me it was a great location as it only took 5/10 minutes to get to Buchanan Street and I also met a friend at Central Station which was just round the corner!

All in all I would most deffo pick this hotel to stay in Glasgow as it's really central to all the shops, transport, restaurants etc and great value for money as well. I will deffo be back! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Chose this hotel having read the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. Very conveniently situated it was a great location from which to explore the city for the first time. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable with all that was needed for a weekend break. The street outside and the ground floor reception area was a little off putting but once on the hotel floor everything was fine.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the hotel is minimalistic but with everything needed for a short break. Bed comfortable and staff excellent. Breakfast in very good in a basic kitchen but was very very clean and very enjoyable. Lovely fleshly baked bread and cupcakes too. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

When I leave a review here I like to look back at what other guests have experienced. As you will see the general consensus is 'Very Good' or 'Excellent' and I can't disagree with that. For those that gave poor reviews I can only say DO YOUR RESEARCH. The main complaints seem to be about the noise, lack of parking, the size and/or facilities in the room, difficulty finding it & the shady entrance. The first two are really quite easy to answer - this is a city centre hotel sandwiched between a main railway station and a busy road so it won't be quiet and on-site or local parking is unlikely. Having said that we were not disturbed by any undue noise on the 2 nights we stayed and we would not have dreamed of bringing the car. The rooms are very clearly described and, while minimal, are perfectly adequate for most. After all a good bed, an excellent shower and a good strong, reliable wi-fi signal are really all anyone needs. I'm not sure how anyone could miss the huge sign outside the hotel (look up?) but have to agree that the first impression of the entrance is disappointing.There are some niggles also about the rooms being too hot or too cold - our room was cool & comfortable and had both a fan & a heater so I can't see that being a problem. The price - in my opinion and in comparison with what else was on offer this was excellent value. Finally it is clear that the owner, the manager & the staff really care and want this hotel to be special - many early complaints are now dealt with.

Where the Grasshopper Hotel wins, over and above the great location and good rooms, is the whole experience. From the initial booking, where we had a small issue that was promptly resolved, it was clear that Grasshopper is trying to do something a little bit different. The cup cakes and fresh milk & coffee delivered to the room on arrival have been mentioned severally before - the meal deal is great too. A warm friendly dining room with a small but excellent menu and short but very good wine list only covers the facts - what I found really encouraging was the friendliness & the standing invitation not to dine alone (which could be ignored of course). The review by HanLH, who was there when we were, sums up the impact on a lone traveller of having a friendly welcome and others also joined in the convivial chat with the owner.

My only regret is that during my working years (I am recently retired) there wasn't anywhere like Grasshopper. Which is a little ironic - battered by many dreadful hotel experiences me & my friend and former work colleague Hugh once dreamed up the ideal place to stay if forced to do so on business. Largely it came down to 'somewhere nice to sleep' and 'something nice to eat' Grasshopper does both of those and wraps it in a warm & friendly atmosphere.

Will I stay again - certainly, would I recommend it - definitely. Hotels like Grasshopper, while I can see they would not appeal to everybody (no hotel can), should be encouraged for putting the customer at the heart of the operation.

Room Tip: Make time to dine & go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank panda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A welcoming hotel full of personal touches including tea, coffee & cupcake on arrival, it's the little things about this hotel that make it so appealing.
In a perfectly convenient location positioned behind Glasgow Central Train station on the 6th floor.
Travelling alone on business, I stayed for one night in this hwould ur I wish I could have stayed longer. What most impressed me was the warmth of the other guests and the hotels owner who was dining in the restaurant when arrived to eat. I was immediately made to feel extremely welcome and was encouraged to join a table with some other hotel guests as I was travelling alone. The restaurant, named 'The Kitchen' offered up a wonderful 3 course meal which was of top restaurant quality.
Anyone wishing to stay in a hotel that cares about its guests and strives to give a personal experience then you must visit Grasshoppers!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

...really good. Definitely our hotel of choice from now on when visiting Glasgow. Nice feel about it, staff couldn't be more helpful - thank you! Breakfast was great, location was perfect and the price too - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get the station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

this is a nice friendly boutique hotel. rooms are good, not luxurious. Staff are great. the best thing is that on the two days i was there, there was home made cake around both afternoons. and really nice it was too!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,379 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
888 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing