We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sequim, Washington
2 reviews
“This is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Friendly staff, clean, quiet, tasteful & contemporary design, generous breakfast. What's not to like? The location is handy to Merchant Glasgow and Central Station. My room overlooking the train shed glass roof had an unusual view for a hotel, but no street noise so it was quiet. The bathroom sparkled. I'd stay here again when in Glasgow. You should too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    294
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
502
87
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel twice now. It is the best find ever - its literally a minutes walk from Glasgow Central. Ignore the outside impression and wait until you get to the top floor of the building where the hotel is situated. The staff are better than any other hotel i've stayed in and the service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. There is filter coffee, fresh milk and the most excellent cupcakes available 24/7. The food whilst there was very good and again the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very good with Sky TV, free WiFi and lots of plug sockets etc. The rooms plus corridors have original art and photographs of great interest. The owner Barry is extremely friendly and sees looking after the guests as being kind and a good host, as opposed to a pure business transaction. The managers Joanna and her husband are brilliant hosts and very welcoming, they have fabulous knowledge of the area. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone whether it be a social or business visit the Glasgow Central.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stopped here on a Friday night as we were in glasgow for a concert. Not sure what we were expecting but on arrival we were greeted really friendly and shown to our room, which was lovely and very well decorated, we then received filter coffee, a flask of fresh cold milk and cup cakes for our room!! Despite being very centrally located we did not hear much noise from the outside and slept really well. Breakfast was also very good with a 'help yourself buffet' including cereal, cheese, fruits, yoghurts, breads and a hot plate with sausages, bacon etc!! All in all we will certainly return and would recommend the hotel to friends.

Thanks for a lovely stay
Amanda and Mike

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIPCHEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Excellent modern, clean, efficient ensuite rooms with everything you would need....staff exteemely charming, helpful, keen to please....great idea of self-service breakfast.....ideal location for Glasgow ....ask for hotel to send you an e-mail with the keycode to open the street level front door.........ask for room away from noise of Central Station, if you are a light sleeper......we would stay again any time.....overall good value for central Glasgow

Room Tip: Ask for room away from noise from Central Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomerang_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

A calm and welcoming atmosphere, with a fresh style that's just a bit different. Brilliantly convenient if you're travelling by train through Central station. Not obvious at street level, as it's on the top floor of a building housing mainly railway offices. My room overlooked Central's glass roof, and there was surprisingly little noise coming up from the station. There was a little noise intrusion from a neighbouring room (the type of person who lets doors slam). Pleasant breakfast, great value arrangement with Carluccio's in place of hotel's own evening meal service, very friendly helpful staff. TV a bit complicated to operate, but great shower and a very comfortable bed. As long as the price remains good value, it'll be my first choice for central Glasgow.

Room Tip: Arrive by train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duisdeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Hi we had booked another hotel but cancelled it and booked into this hotel. Lovely hotel more relaxed than chain hotels, staff friendly and nice personal touches like fresh coffee and homemade shortbread brought to your room, wish I had seen the other cakes that were left our for people to eat ! Room is modern with great bed, powerful shower. Breakfast was fab lovely fresh bread and plenty of choices. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couple372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Look a bit closer and the general fabric of the hotel corridors is shabby and down at heel. I found the room rather gloomy and depressing. However, it was clean and the bed very comfortable.Another bonus is the large flat screen TV with SKY + . Reasonable value for money for an overnight stay in a city centre hotel but I think I'd rather pay a bit more for something a bit smarter. Can't understand the 'Excellent' reviews it gets. I'd rate it 'Average' at best.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcfrhgdsrgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for taking time to post a review. I'm disappointed at your overall experience. I can tell you that the building has just had the roof replaced and during the work some leaks caused damage to some corridor walls. For Insurance reasons we could not carry out repairs right away but we are now in a position to plan the repainting of all of the corridors of the hotel.

Sean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing