We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
863
323
64
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
323
64
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesunion streetcup cakesglass rooffresh milkcentral stationground coffeecaledonian chambersoffice buildingceiling fanhome made ice creamsky boxarran aromaticssitting roomstation rooflittle touchestop floor
Filter
Updating list...
916 - 921 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is an excellent "boutique hotel" situated right in the heart of things. Don't be put off by the entry into the building and the security reception there. Once on the 6th floor, you will find yourself in a different world.....a modern, bright ambience with very comfortable,spacious rooms. We found the staff friendly, helpful and anxious to please. The breakfasts and evening meals are very good and the 2/3 course dinners and wine are priced very reasonably. The dining area is fairly small, but we always managed to get a table for two easily.
We would highly recommend Grasshoppers to anyone and would certainly return when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

It's hard to think of anything negative to say about Grasshopper's. It's as central as it is possible to be and everything about the place is clean and fresh. Check-in is quick and efficient and everyone is friendly and helpful.

The breakfast room might be a cramped affair, but we discovered that if you sit at the table next to the door you don't feel quite so hemmed in! It only took as five stays to discover that.


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel advertises itself as a "luxury" hotel but unfortunately failed to deliver properly on the basics. It wasn't clean, the shower had hairs in it, the back of the sliding door was quite dirty (seemed like the bathroom was only ever cleaned with the door open), the kettle was very dusty. It was noisy. I didn't find noise from the station a big issue (although there was some noise), mainly the problem was from within the hotel. We could hear the couple in the next room talking, all the noise from people walking and talking in the corridor, and I was woken every time the loud phone in reception rang (starting from 6am)...Also there was no water in the hotel from 6.30pm until after midnight so we couldn't wash or use the toilet. On enquiring we were told the problem was only with hot water, but we had absolutely no water from either tap and the toilet wouldn't flush. Eventually bottled water was provided but we didn't get any apology even when we asked for a discount the next morning (they did give us a small discount but again no apology for the disruption).
Some other niggles - the "large" double was on the smaller side for a double room - no wardrobe, just two hooks on the wall, tiny bathroom which was in a wooden pod in the room (thin sliding wooden door which didn't offer a lot of privacy), the only place to hang your towel is inside the shower. They advertise the place as having custom-made furniture and I feel this is mainly because the rooms are too small to fit non-fitted furniture.
The whole place is *very* nicely designed and furnished, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was tasty but we didn't see any of the added extras like cakes or shortbread that other reviews mention. The smarties in the room were a nice touch but I wish I had booked the Premier Inn at less than half the price (where I stayed last weekend) and bought my own smarties. At least there I got a good night's sleep and was able to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasshoppersglasgow, Owner at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Clearly you did not enjoy your stay. The water board turned off the water without notice to us which was extremely inconvenient for us all. We hate hearing that the room was not properly prepared for your visit and we are embarrassed by this. This rarely happens as you will see from other reviews. We have never had a complaint of noise from other rooms in over 20,000 stays and we will look into this. Our customer service was poor in not recognizing the problems you faced and we should have reacted better and with more generosity. Do call us and we will apologize to you in person and tell you what we have in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

opportunity to stay over as we were attending a party and combined that with my birthday. hubby likes to always find different places for us to stay and this was first class. from the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty, everyone is so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel special.
we opted for the slightly larger room and our view was the rooftop of central station: you would think you'd hear the trains but no, completely silent. the rooms were immaculate and everything you need with nice treats and cakes and refreshments.
bed was very comfy with crisp cotton sheets and towels fluffy. breakfast was delicious, fresh and a homely feel of being in someones kitchen. we didn't stay for dinner but will next time. you will not get ripped off here which makes a great change over the souless, corporate hotels.
staff should be very proud of what they are doing, this is my new favourite and we will definately come back. i hestitated writing this as I wanted to keep it a secret.

Room Tip: recommend upgrade to larger room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The grasshopper hotel was a great place to stay. The 24 hour staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and fresh. There were cookies and cupcakes there to greet us! A lovely breakfast is served each morning with both hot and cold foods. Location is also great..highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbestfriendss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews