We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult To Do Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and we loved every single minute of it. It’s rare a hotel comes along that ticks so many boxes in so many elegant ways.

But first things first: booking this hotel was easy. It does offer a comprehensive website with online booking as you would expect from a downtown property. They did however require full upfront payment. I can’t remember though if that was due to the more affordable price I got in exchange.

Location about this hotel is one of the many strong selling points. It is actually located inside of Glasgow Central Station. Acessing the hotel is a little – let’s call it unconventional: one has to access some sort of office entry of the central station building and then take the lift to the top floor. Strange but not bothersome in any way.

Check-in quick and friendly, we were offered coffee and complimentary cupcakes, one of the signature treats this hotel offers to its guests with changing flavours. Love the idea! Even though it was fairly early in the moning; our rooms were ready.

The hotel is fully situated on the top floor under the roof Glasgow Central station which adds so much charm and atmosphere. However, on the contraty to many design hotels set in a historic setting; the hotel does a great job in marrying the building with modern urban chic. While there is a little Scandinavian flavour to it (or should we call it IKEA) – it works great!

The room are absolutely amazing! Fairly big for a downtown property and much bigger than most hotels in Scotland, they are very tastefully decorated and appointed. Again: achieving a great balance between contemporary urban chic and giving credit to the historic building. It is however clearly visible the hotel is built into a building that was not intended to be a hotel as the bathrooms were added in later on into the room. They actually are a sort of wooden box inside the room, but nothing like what you get in a certain French budget hotel chain with those cruise ship like pre-fabricated plastic bathrooms! Sleep quality was really good; I had a great night of sleep.

Another speciality about this hotel is that the rooms overlook the glass roof of the central station: this is probably a taste thing. I loved it! But others might complain this not being a very pleasant view… haters will hate.

The hotel does offer some dinner options that feel like “we’ll cook something and you are invited to join us if you want to” – but it’s not a proper restaurant! Just enough to feed those hungry travellers… Nice touch! Breakfast however has a similar feeling: don’t expect a rich buffet, extensive à la carte menu with cooked dishes. Let’s call one of the very few weak points of this property.

Resuming: I fell in love with this hotel! If you are looking for something with loads of charm, personality and coyness at great downtown location: this is a great match! Oh and did I mention it is very reasonably priced? Well… it is!

+Location
+Room and sleep quality
+Design and atmosphere
+Value for money
-Breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had booked this on a cheeky wee Itison. We were off on honeymoon on the Wednesday, flying from Manchester so we had booked a train down from Central on the Tuesday and decided to have a wee night in Glasgow on the Monday.

This wee place is an awesome find! It's about £75 a night per room normally, so it's not cheap, but the location is great (especially since it was chucking it down, and we were lugging suitcases about), it's right at Central Station.

The decor is beautiful and modern and straight from an Ikea magazine (which works in this environment). The bedrooms are all individually styled with Arran Aromatic toiletries and Highland Spring water in the room (both still and sparkling).

The bed was massive and comfy, the plasma telly and free wifi were a boon, and the Kitchen area for breakfast has one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. I especially love the anmal egg cups!

The place has local artwork hanging in the corridor, and the penthouse locations mean whatever your room, you're guarenteed a cracking view!

The only reason it loses a star is because I don't think it's worth the £75-90 per night they would normally charge. I think about £50 a night is just right.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in June. Great location, just next to the station. Rooms nicely decorated, breakfast fantastic, the best scrambled eggs ever!! Lovely staff throughout the hotel. Shortbread and cupcakes to help yourself was a lovely touch. Hotel in the process of being renovated but this had no affect on our stay. Laundry organized by reception staff at a very good price. Very close to shopping and restaurants, would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandurahSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just back from a very pleasant stay. Rooms vey nice and staff excellent. Kitchen could be a little claustrophobic if every one went for breakfast at the same time. Could not fault the food and would highly recommend evening meal. Unfortunately the noise from the street kept me awake most of the time and also prevented us from opening the window for some fresh air. This would not put me off returning, as the food and service more than made up for it!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felixfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were booked in room 603, which just faces the restaurant. This stays open until midnight on a Friday evening, which means you can not sleep until then. Too much noise penetrates the room and keeps you awake. As from 6 o'clock, the noise from the station's announcements is heard as well quiet clearly in the room.
Service is excellent though. You feel very welcome.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I was slightly dubious about staying so close to the station but this really is a hidden gem. The rooms are on the small side but perfectly formed - in terms of style, sleep quality and general appointment. What really sets Grasshoppers apart is those little extras, most notably the freshly ground coffee and homemade shortbread on tap! The service is excellent, better than any higher ranking hotel by a mile. If in doubt, the weekday dinner option is great value for delicious food and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_of_Bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Location
Perfectly centrally located right at the main station, can reach all the nightlife, sight, pubs, dinner locations with a short stroll.

Rooms
Well decorated rooms, modern, simple, functional and pretty details, a small but good bathroom.
Facing the station is quite calm, you hear some of the loudspeaker announcements from the platforms but that's not too loud or disturbing your sleep.

Service&Breakfast
Very friendly staff, a good breakfast in quite a small room resulting in being packed during the main breakfast times, but noone had to wait for a seat or stand.

Overall:
Very good price, centrally located, perfect for a city stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moguntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,230 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,984 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £76 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing