We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Beautiful place, the effort from the staff is amazing and the food is great. If your lucky enough to meet Barry (owner) he is a great host who provides great company while enjoying the beautiful wine on offer. Will be back soon

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    294
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
502
87
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northeast scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Loved this hotel. Clean,welcoming and comfortable. Very convenient for city centre shopping with discount at nearby carpark. Breakfast was excellent. Bed very comfy, nice little touches also with home bakes tea and proper coffee. Excellent shower. Room not large but adequate and nicely decorated. Only minus very little storage for clothes. Even on a short break i like to unpack. I look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hotel is on a floor from a building next door to the train station, great fro train travellers.
They have a discount card on the closest parking lot, 2 blocks from the hotel.

There are elevators to the hotel floor, good for people carrying big luggage, however the room mught be small for big luggage as well.
The rooms are suits.

The breakfast was great and they have free cupcakes and cookies on the halls.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Will definitely be staying here again next time I'm in Glasgow. The room was clean, the bed was really comfortable, plus a very convenient location, literally a minutes walk from Glasgow central station. Good breakfast selection, not just croissants... but hot bacon & scrambled eggs too! They did not have a hair dryer in the room but the friendly staff at reception got one for us straight away. Oh, and I loved the complimentary cupcakes in mini cake stands in the rooms too, I thought that was a really nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskikiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Summary: lovely rooms, staff and breakfast incredibly close to Central station.
I selected this hotel from Trip Advisor for our annual shopping trip to Glasgow. It is attached to Glasgow Central station , the whole hotel is on the 6th floor and our room overlooked the glazed roof which was very pretty at night and not the sort of grubby roof you might expect. The entrance to the hotel is the least impressive part through a coded door out of hours perhaps to keep vagrants out. The building is occupied by rail companies. The 6 th floor is very different, smart modern and clean. The only public room is small and used for breakfast.
The breakfast is superb, cereals, fruit, yogurt and a small selection of hot food. The scrambled egg was the best I have ever tasted, the bacon and sausage were very tasty. The staff are very committed and friendly.
Well done trip advisor because I would not have found it any other way.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and for staying with us at Grasshoppers! We enjoyed your company when you were here and you seemed to have a successful shopping trip! I can mention that we hope be able to freshen up the downstairs lobby in the not too distant future. Lower ceiling, some nice lighting and photos of the hotel as you approach the lifts are in our plan. You mention The Kitchen as our only public area but I hope you had been shown our sitting room which overlooks the station roof where guests can relax. We look forward to your next visit!

Sean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here on Friday night. From the moment we entered staff were really helpful and friendly. Love the fact that you get fresh coffee for your room and there are always cupcakes and biscuits around to help yourself to. The room was very comfy and the shower was amazing. All very clean. The breakfast (especially the scrambled eggs) was fantastic. Loved the location so handy for everywhere and a bonus that they have a deal with an overnight car park nearby. Cannot fault the grasshopper, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smathers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked 6 rooms for my friends hen weekend. From the moment I phoned to book the room, to when we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Some of the rooms weren't ready for the 2pm check in, which wasn't ideal, but they allowed us to hang up our clothes in those rooms and they were cleaned while we were out at a class.

Beds were comfortable, showers were fantastic, and the little touches such as cupcakes and smarties were lovely. We were on the Union street side and weren't bothered by the noise. The room sizes do vary, and we were in a smaller twin, but it was still perfect for our needs. The hairdryer provided when we asked for it was incredible, wish I'd taken a note of the make so I could buy one! Breakfast was delicious, and the price was more than reasonable, far better than other hotels in the vicinity. Planning on going back for a girly shopping weekend.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger room, mention this when booking as the sizes do vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing