We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“We had a great stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I can not reccomend The Grasshoppers any more if you are looking for a place to stay in Glasgow. Due to circumstances we could not go to Glasgow on the booked dates. The Grasshoppers staff was very helpfull and helped to change our dates to a few months later which was really nice considering we had booked with booking.com without a cancellation option. Last weekend we finally went there and everything was above expectation. The hotel is easy to find (a big flag with the name of the hotel above the door) right next to the train station, a perfect location! Inside you take the elevator to the sixth floor where everything is nicely furnished and very, very clean. The staff is really nice and friendly. We arrived early (10:30) but they had a room ready for us. Inside fresh coffee and cupcakes awaited us! (milk on request) The bed was lovely and the shower one of the best. We stayed for three nights and made a lot of use of the free coffee, such a great service! They brought it to our room immediatly! Breakfast was simple but very good. Fresh baked bread and a lot of cerial and fruit. A great start of our day. If I would visit Glasgow again, I would definitely stay here. I highly reccomend the place! Thanks, Grasshoppers!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariasmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    303
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
136
521
92
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

just returned home after a two night stay fantastic hotel ,sean and his team cannot do enough for you during your stay.Room large and spotless,fresh ground coffee,cupcakes and shortbread all complimentary 24/7.Hotel bang in the centre of town.We would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The interiors are designed well in my opinion. The local materials they use combines with the simple decoration. Light fittings are abundant for any purposes. As the hotel is located at the top floor, I saw the glazed roof of central station! AMAZING! Actually there was not much noise when I stayed there. Facilities are fully equipped as long as you require. Breakfast is a bonus, especially the crumble egg and the bread:) Anyway a very good environment

Room Tip: rooms in the west would let you see the glazed roof of Central Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck Xuecheng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is absolutely superb! On arrival this hotel instantly felt like a home from home. Sean and the team were extremely accommodating and from the minute we arrived it almost felt like they already new us. My husband and myself stayed here for 3 nights over New Year. The rooms were absolutely spotless, very spacious and has been decorated very well! The rooms had full sky including movies which i had never had in a hotel before, this was especially good over the festive period. The bed super comfy, excellent for an afternoon nap. Then there is the extras, fresh coffee delivered to the room when required, home made cup cakes and mince pies in the corridors and delivered to the room on request, all delicious. Breakfast was really good, felt very homely with again the staff being very friendly. If all this wasn't enough the location of the hotel could not be better. It is right in the center of town so had plenty of restaurants/bars and 2 minutes walk from the excellent shops. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!! There is nothing negative i can say about this place. Our stay was so good we can't wait to go back. Big thanks to Sean and the team for helping make our new year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel, there is nothing bad to say it seriously is
superb, spotless, comfortable and and the extras .... complimentary FRESH not instant coffee using a caffetiere supplied with a flask of fresh milk and the tube of smarties with bottles of water in your room, also throughout the hotel there is trays of complimentary muffins. This is a fantastic hotel with superb service!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_C187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here over New Year and Sean and his team could not have been more helpful. They call it a 'home away from home' and I would agree wholeheartedly. My friend had booked a twin room for us though an agent and the room prepared ended up being a double. We explained the situation and we were given an extra room - totally unexpected and very much appreciated. The location is very central and the hotel has completely different feel that a standard chain place. Very refreshing indeed and the lovely staff was the icing on the cake. The bed was very comfy, and there was a full range of Sky channels on the widescreen TV in the bedroom. Perfect for taking an hour or two to chill out between shopping and an evening out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SineadBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and lots of lovely added extras... Fresh milk and mince pies delivered to our room, mulled wine on Christmas tap available in the lounge. Bedroom clean and fresh, bed really comfortable (had a nap already!) And location wonderfully central. All good, grasshoppers!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,296 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
705 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,125 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing